We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #7 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pure Luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed here for a week and can't recommend it highly enough.

Central location - easy to get to all the major landmarks or just to go a wander round the shops.

Rooms were large and luxurious and staff were very helpful and friendly. Room service was great (I'm not really one for room service, but when in Rome...). Highly recommend the Philly cheese steak.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Vice B,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel while visiting Philadelphia for the week. I am very glad that you and your fiancé were able to take advantage of our great downtown location and all it has to offer from major landmarks to little boutiques. I’m also very pleased that you enjoyed our Philly cheese steak while indulging in our room service menu during your stay. We look forward to welcoming both you and your fiancé back again for another luxury stay.

Sincerely,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,035
    532
    107
    54
    31
See reviews for
263
669
130
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Large comfortable room, nicely appointed; large bath; separate shower and tub. Excellent location to best part of city. Walk to historic sights and shopping. Accommodating staff. Ample breakfast buffet and free parking. All in all a good value.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear rhale53,

Thank you for your excellent review of Sofitel Philadelphia! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed both our great location and luxury amenities that we offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to enjoy our comfortable rooms and well known Sunday breakfast buffet.

Sincerely,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

To be honest, I am already a Sofitel fan. But the location in Philadelphia is really quite nice. Being a Philly girl, I was always curious how they turned the stock exchange into a hotel, and I was pleasantly surprised. Our room was really quite big, plenty of space to spread out. The bed, with the down comforter and feather bed, was, well, like sleeping on a dream. Only downside of the room, the HVAC, couldn't make it cold enough to thoroughly enjoy the feathers!

The location of the hotel is key. it's a block or so from Rittenhouse and great restaurants, clubs are all within walking distance. The staff were super nice and accommodating. I booked the room through sniqueaway for a girls weekend with friends, so the price was really fair. And, I would imagine for the size of room, a better value than some of the more trendy, boutique hotels in town also offered on the site. Well done Sofitel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear leslievansant,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your girls weekend. I am delighted that we created a great stay when visiting your hometown and that you were able to find out how our conversion from Stock Exchange to Sofitel turned out. We are very proud to be located in not only a great area, but also in the historic Stock Exchange building. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again soon for many more girls weekends.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Dear Friends,

Every once in a while, and thanks mostly to the company that I work to, I have the pleasure to stay at the Philadelphia Sofitel. Every time I do, it feels like the first time.
The staff and everyone there, are always very professional, providing the best service you can get! The rooms are very confortable, along with a very artistic design and decoration, and the selected radio station next to your bed, will help you relax, either after another busy day working or simply relaxing! In the morning, do have breakfast in the hotel! The best one I've had in years!
Location couldn't be better and the "5-star" staff will do everything they can to help you finding your way around!
I'm defintely going back to Sofitel, both with work and also, sometime soon, to enjoy a few days in Philadelphia! A very pleasant stay is certainly garanteed!
Friends, enjoy the city and enjoy the Philadelphia Sofitel! I'm sure you'll agree with me!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Rodrigo C,

Thank you for being such a loyal guest and for your excellent review of Sofitel Philadelphia! I am absolutely delighted that we are able to create such memorable experiences for each stay with us. Our biggest goal is to provide the best service possible to our guests and it is a pleasure to be compared to a “5-star” hotel. We look forward to continuing to welcome you to Sofitel Philadelphia for many more trips in the future.

Warm Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Landed here on a client's recommendation and found the staff consistently professional and warm, the room very comfortable and the food excellent. Rates were high theroughout the city on my stay date. I'd enjoy going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Been to this hotel numerous times, always in January, where it can be cold, wet, icey and also snowing.. Central to numerous shops, restaurants and other attractions, with great service and facilities to match.. rooms are very well equipped, gym and wireless internet too all rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Lovely high quality hotel. Large rooms very comfy beds and great coffee machines inroom.
Excellent bar in the lobby area, particularly lovely on arrival in the evening as everywhere is candlelit in reception.
Great place to stay in Philly good choice of bars and restaurants close by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, ACCOR, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.