We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“jwie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersGold level
Charleston, West Virginia, USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“jwie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Enjoyed the stay. Check in was efficient and polite. All staff encounters were Service was terrific as always. Room was clean. Only had breakfast but it was just right, so was my wife's. Will stay again when I have a chance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear jwiesend,

Thank you for your great review! I am delighted that our ambassadors were able to provide great service to you and your wife that made your stay memorable. We look forward to welcoming you both back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,203
    599
    122
    58
    34
See reviews for
293
765
145
495
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at this property for the first time.

First impressions where excellent, the staff all very friendly and approachable and the lobby has a very contemporary feel if a little on the small and crowded side and lacking seating.

I was very impressed with the bedroom. Very spacious for a standard double with probably the most comfortable bed Iv experienced in a Sofitel or similar brand. The TV had plenty of channels and the bathroom was also enormous with a separate shower facility beside the bath. My only real gripe with the room however was the lack of power sockets near the bed. The only one I could find was behind the headboard of the bed and to use it meant nearly shaving a layer of skin off your hand (eh, lawsuit Mr Sofitel lol) unless you can manage to pull the bed out.

I ordered wings from room service and found them very generous however the price was crazy.

The gym was very well appointed however it was tightly packed in there. With just 2 other people using the facilities I found we where falling over one another.

The location is also fantastic at this hotel with good quality shops and restaurants all within a casual walk from the lobby.

All in all I very much enjoyed this hotel and look forward to returning!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Irishstandards,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Philadelphia for your most recent business trip! I am delighted that our ambassadors were able to make your stay memorable and that you found our rooms comfortable, especially our unique So-Beds. We appreciate you feedback on the location of our sockets as your comments assist us in continuing to make improvements to our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the very near future.

Warm Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Sofitel Philadelphia is in a good location - easy walk to shopping in Walnut St and 15 minutes to museums or Liberty Bell. Rooms are a good size with large bathroom and free bottled water which was a nice extra. Gym has good facilities and is easily accessed and breakfast in Chez Collette was tasty, served quickly and good value in this type of hotel. I found the front desk staff a little stand offish but the restaurant staff were friendly. Good rate and overall a good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear GregK2A,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that our location was convenient for you and that you enjoyed our facilities and amenities. I am also very glad to hear that you enjoyed breakfast in Chez Colette and hope that you will have the opportunity to try our great menu in Liberte in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the future.

Sincerely,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Great room, comfortable bed, great nights sleep! Enjoyed my breakfast at the resturant and the staff was very hospitible. Thxs for the service and care that was taken to provide a comfortable stay. Valet was very nice as well. Thxs!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear bhorchar,

Thank you for your great review! I am delighted that you had such a pleasant stay and that our unique So-Bed provided you with a great night sleep. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again soon.

Kind Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, USA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel staff was very friendly and hospitable. My girlfriend and I were in town for a weekend getaway, and I took the opportunity to surprise her with a proposal. The hotel staff was aware of my plan, and they went the extra mile to help make our weekend memorable. The location was excellent and it was within walking distance to museums, restaurants, and my favorite coffee shop, La Colombe. We would definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear CoffeeGuy_13,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Philadelphia for such a special occasion! I am so very delighted that our staff was able to assist you with your proposal. We are thrilled to be a part of such a big moment. We look forward to welcoming you and your fiancé back again soon and would love the opportunity to hold your wedding at our hotel. Please feel free to ask for our Wedding Planner, Lisa Strickland, who would be very happy to show you our great event space.

Warmest Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD, USA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed in the Sofitel Philadelphia for one night on business. The location is excellent. Service staff was efficient, friendly and unobtrusive. Check-in was a breeze. Having to card-in for any floor in the elevator was annoying, but I'm sure they had a good reason from a security perspective.

The room itself was in very good shape. Smart modern with a European feel, furnishings were in good shape. Wifi connectivity was speedy and easy to configure. The cable package was not good; all channels appeared to be standard def stretched to 16:9 aspect ratio. Bed was comfortable, though the pillows were not, as I recall.

The bathroom was very clean and in generally good shape. Checking behind the door (a hallmark of thorough cleaning) revealed: nothing! All clean. The shower area had a caulking issue or two, but nothing major.

All in all, a great hotel and a simple, excellent stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear BobinBaltimore,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your recent trip to Philadelphia. I am delighted that you had a convenient stay and that our ambassadors were able to serve you efficiently without being obtrusive. We know that this is often times very important to our business travelers and we pride ourselves at knowing what type of service each guest is looking for. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.