We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The entire Sofitel staff was tremendously helpful and courtesous - from the valets, to the front desk to the concierge William, who was quite accommodating. Everyone went over and above what you might expect in terms of service. Even during the wedding we were attending there, a group had gathered just outside the reception - and one of the wait staff brought chairs out for everyone so we could sit.

Sofitel is in a great central location, although it's a bit challenging to drive up to the hotel because the parking pad in front is quite tight, but the valets have it down to a science and keep things moving. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear MAM716,

Thank you for the great review of your stay! I am delighted that our ambassadors were able to make your experience memorable. It is important for us to ensure that we do our all to make a special occasion like a wedding absolutely perfect. This doesn’t just include the bridal party, but all of the guests attending. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the future for more memorable experiences.

Warm Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,365
    659
    134
    62
    36
See reviews for
328
839
154
575
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, PA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Sofitel is our hotel of choice in Philadelphia. Our most recent stay was just as great as always, which is notable because the property was full and we therefore could not be upgraded to a junior suite. However, the room that we were given was comfortable and elegant in the Sofitel's understated way.

At check-in, we had a short wait in line. While waiting, the concierge approached us and asked if he could make any arrangements for us. I replied that we needed transportation to a nearby event, and inquired about a hotel car. He explained that this is only available weekdays during business hours, but provided us with a $20 promotional credit for Uber. We used this and were thrilled with the service. In addition, the ride cost $15, so we have a $5 credit for our next Uber ride.

The only small disappointment was the breakfast buffet. I look forward to breakfast at Chez Collette each time we visit, but on this trip the buffet was not fully stocked, especially the usually excellent cheese platter. The selections were also more limited than in the past. When I returned to the buffet, I saw that the cheese and fruit had been replenished, but by then, I was no longer hungry. In the future, I will be sure to wait, or to ask for my favorites, or to simply order from the menu.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear cmlco,

Thank you for being such a loyal guest of Sofitel Philadelphia! We are always delighted to welcome back regulars and for the opportunity to become their home away from home. I am very glad to hear that our ambassadors were able to make your stay memorable even during one of our busy weekends. We thank you for your understanding during this busy period and will certainly share your comments with our Food and Beverage team to assist us in continuing to enhance our service. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more great stays in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Everything top notch. quick check in and out.
We were in town for the weekend with a group of friends and enjoyed the bar and ambiance. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spotless.
I have stayed here before and would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear EricMe_2013I,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your recent weekend trip to Philadelphia! I am delighted that you and your friends enjoyed our ambiance in Liberté. We believe it’s a great winter time bar with our fireplace and cozy feel. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back again soon.

Sincerely,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend. What a superb hotel. Centrally situated within easy walk of lots of shops, fantastic decor, delicious breakfast best of all the staff. Every department is helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear WTPsr,

Thank you for your great review! I am glad to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us over the weekend. I am delighted that our ambassadors were helpful and created such a positive experience for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia.

Sincerely,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed here for a week and I must say that this place is excellent not only due to the quality of room, but also a very nice, courteous and helpful staff. The food served was good, the room is nice and warm. The Turn down service was good however they should think to keep a Chocolate along with water bottle in the evening. There are lots of places like City hall, Market street for shopping, nice places to eat around this place. Overall I really enjoyed the stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear alkarpe,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Philadelphia! I am very glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of some of the great restaurants and shopping that are around us during your trip. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again soon.

Warm Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel is centrally located. The rooms are fairly nice and the reception staff was very pleasant. We had a problem, however, with room service. We were in town for a road race and called down to the front desk a full day before to inquire about timing (even re: the timing of particular dishes) and service to make sure we wouldn't have any problem getting a very early breakfast before the race. To be clear, we didn't have any expectation that we could get a meal that early and we were willing to consider alternatives outside of hotel room service. We were assured, however, the hotel would serve us. We even asked if we should put our order in early/the night before, but were told simply to call at the opening time. We did so, and were told the food should be ready in 15-20 mins. Thirty mins later it still had not arrived, jeopardizing our pre-race preparation and itinerary. We called down nearly forty mins after placing the order and were told the food was on its way. The person who delivered it suggested our order never would have been ready 20 mins after opening for morning service (b/c the oatmeal would take longer to cook), directly contradicting what we had been told the day before and at the time we ordered. The food was not very good either. All in all, the failure to deliver on what was communicated to us is a serious mark against the hotel. This was a simple breakfast. If you have more serious business or special event needs, how can you know that what you're told will come to fruition?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear cjigga,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed our downtown location and rooms. We value your comments as they assist us in continually making improvements to our hotel. We are accustomed to always providing luxury service for all guest needs and will certainly share your comments with our team to make necessary improvements to our communication. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Philadelphia for a more positive experience and to provide you with the luxury service we are known for.

Sincere Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Amex, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.