We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel - Philly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #7 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

1,803 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,060
    547
    109
    55
    32
See reviews for
272
693
134
423
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Maybe the best hotel I have stayed in for the price. Service is excellent and professional. Rooms are clean and well presented. The bed is perhaps the most comfortable I have ever slept in. I will be trying to recreate it at home. Facilities are ok and location is perfect for walking around Philly.

Room Tip: The 14th floor rooms can get a bit of noise from roof noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear sdtw,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your recent trip to Philadelphia! I am very glad to hear that we were able to provide you with a perfect experience during your stay. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our unique So-Beds enough to want to recreate them in your own home. They are very popular and we have them available for purchase. Please feel free to reach out to any of our ambassadors and we would be happy to provide you with any information on them.

Warm Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

These people had the audacity to blame me for not having our suite ready on time. Very unprofessional; stay away from this place. Lobby was very cramped and small. No driveway and the valet was very unhelpful with parking our car.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear nickmct13,

Thank you for your feedback. All of our ambassadors are known for great service and we will certainly share your review with our team to ensure that we are continually improving our service. We would love an opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again to provide you with the much better experience that we are customarily known for.

Sincere regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I look forward to my annual business trip stay in the Sofitel. A group of about 200 of us are well taken care of for the better part of a week with very comfortable and quiet guest rooms, plenty of well equipped meeting rooms, terrific food, and terrific service. This is the nicest of my business stays. Although I know to expect to have to use my room key card every time I use the elevator, I still find the practice annoying.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Mike O,

Thank you for your great review! I am delighted to hear that we have the opportunity to serve you and your colleagues yearly and that we are able to make your business trip so enjoyable each time. We look forward to welcoming you and your group back again next year to continue to provide you with the terrific service you are accustomed to.

Sincerely,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Really friendly people warm up a hotel, and this is the case at the Sofitel. This was my first time at a Sofitel property and didn't know what to expect. Very nice room/amenities, comfy bed, quiet, but what makes a property stand out is really friendly people. The "bonjour" was a bit affected, but the good cheer behind it felt warm and real. The food at our business meeting was really good (thanks for bringing me more chocolate croissants!) We had to keep working till midnight and the evening staff was very kind and accommodating. Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear choconancy,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us during your meeting. I am delighted to hear that our ambassadors were able to make a difference during your stay and really created a memorable experience for you. We are very lucky to have a great team that genuinely cares about make each guest’s stay special. We look forward to welcoming you back again for many more great stays with us.

Warm Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I don't know where Sofitel comes from but I have seen them in my world travels for years now and have had some great experiences here, ay. This particular trip in the NE part of USA was paid for as a gift and luckily, I don't know the prices nor do I care. I typically find cheaper places outside the city but what a trip and what a nice place, with a very nice check in. I'm simple, and this place is flashy but I didn't feel uncomfy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear RevvinRichie,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel while staying in Philadelphia! I am delighted to hear that you are such a loyal guest and that we have been able to provide you with some great experiences. We are from France which is why we have a bit of French character in each Sofitel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;