We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #8 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersGold level
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Fantastic hotel, very clean and modern hotel in the centre of philadelphia, staff really nice and nothing is too much trouble for them, breakfast great and in the ideal location, for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear paulanewyorkNewYork,

Thank you for your great review! I am delighted to hear that our ambassadors were able to go above and beyond to really make your stay memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the future for both business and pleasure.

Warm Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,203
    599
    122
    58
    34
See reviews for
293
765
145
495
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Decatur, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A very nice hotel. We upgrade to a suite and even though we were only there for a night it was well worth it. We loved the fact that we could rent movies that were still in theaters for less than price of 2 theater tickets. The location is so nice, right in the middle of everything we want to be close to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear rma136,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Philadelphia! I am very glad to hear that you took the opportunity to upgrade to one of our suites and to enjoy our movie selection. We are delighted to have been everything you were looking for and are eager to have you stay with us again in the future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very attentive staff, great security, clean, classy place. Will be back. Everything was very close to us. We felt safe at all times as we were two females traveling. Our room was spacious and a good price. Keurig coffee in room was a bonus as well as slippers and robes. Great shower.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear hotsally,

Thank you for your great review of our hotel! I am very glad that you felt safe during your stay with us in our downtown location. Our guests’ safety is important to us which is why we have key activated elevators to access each floor along with our security team’s regular walk throughs of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincere Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, England
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Having made our way through heavy traffic, our arrival at the Sofitel came as a relief. On a busy block in the centre of the city, it's a great location for a weekend, right there and just a step away from everything. However, peaceful it is not. Like many city centre hotels, there is a lot of coming and going, the lobby is fairly tight and there's a popular bar to one side which was a lively place each evening of our stay. We seemed to spend a while waiting for elevators and when they arrived, they were busy and made frequent stops.

Our junior suite was a little tired. Decor is pretty dark and beige/brown and the furnishings very similar to those in the Sofitel New York. Though the bed was super-comfortable and well up to usual Sofitel standards, the overall impression of our accommodation was that it needs freshening up.

Our bathroom was large and had our preferred walk in shower (rather than an over-bath arrangement) but the grout was grubby and it wasn't a good idea to look too closely in the corners or in the dark places around the loo. Plenty of space, for sure, but not somewhere I wanted to linger.

On our fourth morning we managed to find the concierge, tucked away in an office beyond reception. When she'd finished her lengthy phone conversation, she acknowledged our presence but actually, wasn't of great help. However, finding her had the added bonus of finding the small coffee alcove in that area too..somewhere where we could have enjoyed an early morning refreshment had we but known it was there!

All of this counts towards the three star rating, which is perhaps a llittle hard, but bearing in mind the other Sofitels we have enojyed over the last few months, the Philadelphia property suffers in comparison. Using the same standards on which to base the rating, then clearly a fourth star isn't really deserved. However, the location is very good indeed and a comfortable and well made bed goes a long way to making up for the shortcomings, IMHO.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear elegantraveller,

Thank you very much for your great feedback and for being such a loyal guest of Sofitel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed several aspects of your stay at Sofitel Philadelphia such as our great location and unique So-Beds which we have always been known for.

We are continually making updates to our hotel to keep our services and amenities at a high level and are currently in the process of making several upgrades to our rooms. I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the near future to enjoy them.

Sincere Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel lived up to the Sofitel reputation. It is in a great location - in the heart of Philadelphia. The rooms were very spacious, clean and well maintained. The bathroom was a great size, and made our stay very comfortable.

We arrived from NYC, and had been staying at a hotel with much smaller rooms and facilities. It was a fresh breath of air to be in this hotel. The staff were very helpful, and the hotel had many places to relax and have a drink.

If you want to be in a good part of Phili, within walking distance to many things central, I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Jane F,

Thank you for your great review! I am delighted to hear that our spacious rooms and bathrooms really made a difference in the comfort of your stay and that our location provided everything you were looking for within walking distance. Our ambassadors look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading PA
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Had one night at this hotel this past weekend 1/5/13. Very Very Very clean. Cleanliness is important especially in City Hotels. This one is excellent. Room large sized, bathroom was large sized, nice hot shower. Located in a great area of the city, lots of places to walk to on Samson street, only a minute or so away. Tip- The valet parking is a bit more than I expected, $40 for one night- take your car about 1/2 block past the hotel to the parking garage, parking there is about $14 per day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear JPVenezia,

Thank you for your great review! I am very pleased that our center city hotel provided you with a confortable and convenient stay and that you enjoyed our larger than average rooms and bathrooms. We look forward to having you back for another excellent overall stay with us.

Merci,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.