We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in a Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #6 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in a Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in August 2012 to visit our daughter. We found the hotel extremely clean and the staff very attentive and watchful. Everyone we dealt with was polite and efficient. The room was well maintained and well kept. The "free" low speed wi-fi worked much faster than advertised. If you are driving, don't even think about not using the valet parking service. The valets brought the car around exactly as they said they would and parking in this central part of town is nearly impossible on the street. We plan to certainly stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you and your wife had such a great stay with us while visiting your daughter. We are very pleased that our staff was able to make your stay memorable and that our complimentary internet was convenient for you. We are also glad that our valet services made using your vehicle much easier than using street parking in such a busy downtown location. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the near future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,426
    695
    143
    62
    37
See reviews for
354
874
156
613
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neversink, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at the Sofitel to attend a large conference. By time the reservations were made, many of the recommended lodging was sold out. We searched and came across the Sofitel. I have never stayed at a Sofitel, but with the positive reviews, decided we would give it a try. And we are thoroughly glad that we did. The property is clean and nicely decorated. The rooms are likewise clean and the bedding was the best I have ever slept on. The property was convenient to the conference location and offered easy walking access to many stores and restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel if staying in Philly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had such a convenient and pleasant stay while staying with us during your conference. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our rooms and unique So-Beds. We are also very glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of our great downtown location and all it has to offer during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have stayed at Sofitel a couple of times and they have been great. Service is wonderful and the hotel is located right in center city in the Rittenhouse area (17th St. between Chestnut and Walnut where there is lots of shopping and restaurants - overall a nice area). There's a restaurant and lounge in the lobby which always seems to be well populated, and the elevators are keycard activated so it's all pretty safe. The rooms are spacious with WONDERFUL beds and the bathrooms are clean and upscale. Definitely a nice, comfortable stay in center city Philly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you have had such great stays with us and that our staff is always able to provide memorable service during your visits. We are very pleased that you enjoy our lounge/restaurant, Liberte and our great Rittenhouse Square location with all it has to offer. Our guests’ safety is important to us and we are glad that our keycard activated elevators provide you with that security. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia to continue enjoying our spacious rooms and bathrooms and unique So-Beds that have made a positive impression during your past stays.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I found the room to be clean and welcoming. the bathroom was clean and spacious. Staff were pleasant and informed. Valet parking was convenient. The location is perfect. The hotel is situated in a district of Philly which boasts top restaurants, shopping and a night life. I planned my stay in advance with a non-refundable reservation. It is a risk, but the price was worth the gamble. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had such a great stay with us and that our staff was able to make your trip memorable. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our spacious rooms, great, downtown location, and convenient valet parking. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the near future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was my first time at this hotel, even though I've been to Philadelphia tons of times. I will definitely stay at the Sofitel again - super clean, incredibly outgoing and friendly staff, great breakfast, quiet, and just a really nice place all around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had such an outstanding stay with us and that you enjoyed our breakfast in Chez Colette. We are very pleased that our staff was able to make your stay memorable and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the near future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed at the Sofitel Philadelphia and opted for the 'prestige suite'. The staff at the hotel were great and the elegant common area facilities were what is expected from a Sofitel property. However, I was dismayed at the condition of the suite - particularly the unchecked wood rot on the door moulding adjacent to the shower stall. This appeared to have been developing over a period of weeks/months that a routine QC review should have caught. Otherwise, the furniture was due for replacement as it had obvious wear and usage. Since it was only a 2-night stay, I didn't feel a need to bring it up but still found it odd that a hotel advertising itself with phrases including 'French elegance', 4-stars and 'sophistication' could not locate a black hole in one of its walls and make the requisite repairs. Nonetheless, the location is top notch and the hotel is a solid, mid-tier option in Center City for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. Excellence is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to constantly improve our hotel and to provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. We are looking forward to upcoming room upgrades which are due in the very near future. We will also review your comments with our Housekeeping and Engineering teams. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our elegant common area facilities, accommodating staff, and great downtown location. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the near future to enjoy our new room upgrades that are soon to be completed.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Orbitz, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.