We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay Longer and Save 20%!
Ranked #8 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This hotel earns my vote for having my favorite bed and pillows, it is usually difficult for me to fall asleep, but I was quite comfortable here. The room was a quality, the only issue I found was that there was only one spare outlet that I could get to in my room. With two cell phones and a laptop with me, this was a bit annoying.

The room and bathroom were large, stylish. The staff were friendly.

I didn't have my pet with me, but they seem to be very inviting to dogs. Dogs even get their own page in the room service menu! Seared filet and assorted canine cookies - tres chic!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had such a pleasant stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our unique So-Bed and were able to get a good night’s rest. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed our large rooms and bathrooms and that our friendly staff was able to make your stay memorable. We understand that our outlets may be difficult to locate and will certainly discuss possibly re-arranging the room layout to make them more visible. Each standard room has three accessible outlets: one under the desk, one at the base of the floor lamp, and one behind the bed. However, you are correct, they are rather hidden. We will certainly review your comments with our engineering team for our future upgrades to find a way to make them more visible and accessible. We appreciate your comments as they assist us with continually making improvements to our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the future and hopefully with your pet as well.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    963
    504
    104
    50
    31
See reviews for
243
618
127
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

As far as major chain hotels tend to go in the USA the Sofitel was a very good experience.

Stylish lobby. Very friendly welcome and efficient check in. Given plenty of information about the services available.

The rooms were great. Super comfy bed, large bathroom with separate bath and a wonderful coffee machine with espresso like pods.

Buffet breakfast was fantastic. Usual fare with omlette/egg station. Top notch and attentive service from staff there. Only unusual thing was that while the restaurant opens for a la carte from 630am the buffet does not start until 8am. Although im not sure if this is just a Sunday morning thing (the day I dined there).

The gym was a bit of a let down. While it had plenty of equipement it is literally just a large room. No bathroom/changing facilities/sauna/steam.

The location of the hotel can't be beat either. So many restaurants and action around.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had such an excellent stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our stylish lobby, friendly, efficient staff, large rooms, unique So-Beds, large marble bathrooms with separate shower and tub, Keurig coffee makers, our breakfast in Chez Colette, and our great downtown location. We do offer a breakfast buffet only on Sunday morning in Chez Colette. All other days we offer our a la carte menu. We do understand that you were expecting more from our gym and will certainly take your comments into account to see if we are able to make any improvements in the future. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention as our guest comments assist us in making improvement to our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I tend to rate a hotel on its bed, shower and servce. This hotel exceeds my expectations on all of those levels. I enjoyed my second visit at this hotel recently and was not disappointed. The bed has down pillows, down comforter and down mattress topper. That combination is like sleeping on a cloud! The room features a Keurig, and one great feature is that they provide two regular k-cups and one decaf as well as a tea. I find most hotels only provide a single serving of regular, and I am usually left wanting more. There is a separate shower and tub in the bathroom, and the hotel provides Philosophy products. One nice touch that is a must in bathrooms is a makeup mirror. The Sofitel features one, and the only way it could have exceeded my expectations was to make it lighted.

The bar is a nice place to sit and enjoy a drink with friends or co-workers, and I have found that the drinks are not as overpriced as at some hotels. The service there was wonderful this trip, as our waitress was attentive and very friendly.

The hotel has valet parking, and the only negative there is that it's a tight squeeze when pulling into the driveway, as there are generally cars awaiting their drivers. You also need to plan ahead to call for your car, but that wasn't really an inconveniece for me as I knew when I would need mine.

All in all, a very comfortable stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted to be one of your favorite hotels and that we exceeded your expectations with our unique, So-Bed, shower, and service. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Keurig coffee maker, bathroom amenities, and our lounge, Liberte. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the near future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for several days and I really had a pleasant stay. Very good location, the room and bedding are just great.... A real pleasant time. Absolutely no complaints. The staff is attentive, the breakfast was plentiful and good. The gym is a real gym.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had such a perfect stay with us and enjoyed our great downtown location, unique So-Beds, attentive staff, breakfast, and gym. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Sofitel Philadelphia has everything for a business visit. Excellent location; very well designed and comfortably appointed rooms; good faciliities - especially IT; pleasant and professional staff in all roles.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had such an excellent stay with us during your business trip. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our downtown location, comfortable rooms, facilities, and our professional staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the near future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a most enjoyable experience at the Sofitel. Everything was wonderful. Beautiful rooms, great location. The staff was top notch. A special thank you to the concierges, Marcy and William. They were both very personable and helpful when we were trying to rent a car and with dinner reservations. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had such a great stay with us and enjoyed our rooms, downtown location, and service. We are very pleased that our team was able to make your stay memorable and assist you with your rental car and dinner reservations. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We've only stayed at the Chicago Sofitel before this one in Philadelphia. We were not disappointed. The reception person was so professional and congenial. The suite was, for the price, a great value and well designed with the bathroom accessible from the living room as well as the bedroom. The bed was very comfortable with good, high end sheets. And, best of all, they are pet friendly and, Rittenhouse Square is just two blocks away if you want to find some grass for Fido. The central location was ideal for walking to the museums and restaurants.

Room Tip: the junior suite is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had such a comfortable, great stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our large suites, large marble bathrooms, unique So-Beds, and amenities. We are also glad to hear that you were able to bring your dog with you and were able to enjoy our great Rittenhouse Square location. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.