We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort at a Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Kansas City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Comfort at a Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We've only stayed at the Chicago Sofitel before this one in Philadelphia. We were not disappointed. The reception person was so professional and congenial. The suite was, for the price, a great value and well designed with the bathroom accessible from the living room as well as the bedroom. The bed was very comfortable with good, high end sheets. And, best of all, they are pet friendly and, Rittenhouse Square is just two blocks away if you want to find some grass for Fido. The central location was ideal for walking to the museums and restaurants.

Room Tip: the junior suite is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had such a comfortable, great stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our large suites, large marble bathrooms, unique So-Beds, and amenities. We are also glad to hear that you were able to bring your dog with you and were able to enjoy our great Rittenhouse Square location. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,361
    657
    134
    62
    36
See reviews for
328
838
154
571
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Rooms are very comfortable and really nice design. Hotel is very well located and staff is extremely nice and helpful. Since my plans changed mid way through my planned stay, the front desk crew was very flexible with reservations and dealt really well with modifications to my reservations. Couldnt have been better!

Room Tip: suites are very confortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that our team was able to assist you with your reservation modifications easily and efficiently. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Wanted to thank Alex at the front desk for excellent guest service. I had been traveling for 5 weeks in Nepal before flying to Philadelphia for a wedding. I was weary, and needed some extra help. He did everything possible.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that our front desk team was able to make your stay memorable and assist you with everything you need after your long trip in Nepal. We are always eager to assist guests in any way possible to make their stay more comfortable and to cater to any needs they may have. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We (my husband, myself, and our twin infants and two year old) all stayed at the Philadelphia Sofitel last weekend, immediately after Hurricane Sandy displaced us from Long Island. We arrived late (10:30pm) on Friday night, cold, exhausted from living a week without power in the near freezing temperatures and relieved that we had enough fuel to allow our trip to Philadelphia. We were greeted warmly and all of our bags (about 10 bags filled with clothing food and baby formula) were taken in for us. The front desk staff (especially Nick) were so kind, quickly checked us in, entertained our two year old and although they gave us a lovely and quite large standard "luxury" room equipped with two cribs for our infants, Nick indicated that he would try and move us into a suite by the next day. We had our first comfortable and warm sleep and shower in a week and then without prompting or asking, Nick called us the following day and offered us a suite. We were delighted and it gave us plenty of space for the kids and our stuff! We had a lovely time escaping the Long Island Sandy mess and the Sofitel's delightful staff, wonderful prices and terrific accommodations were perfection. I know Philly well (I grew up there and was married at another luxury hotel in center city), but I must say that I had no idea what a gem the Sofitel was! Kudos to the hotel management and wonderful staff - thank you for raising our spirits and making our stay so enjoyable!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that we had the opportunity to do all we could to help you and your family while seeking refuge from the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy. This was indeed a horrible event and we are glad that we were able to assist many guests who were in a similar experience. We are very pleased that our large luxury room was comfortable and that we have the opportunity to move you to a Suite to make your family’s stay even more comfortable. We feel fortunate that Philadelphia was not hit badly as New York was and that we are close enough to assist those who needed assistance. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Sofitel Philadelphia, hopefully under better circumstances.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

For someone who travels frequently, to actually enjoy another overnight trip means something extraordinary. The Sofitel provides one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in (next to my own). Large, well appointed bath & shower, L'Ocittane products, and great customer service round out a perfect stay. The food (and especially the coffee) in the restaurant are delish, and the service there is superb as well. Just watch the curb when you pull in front of the hotel - I did a number on my wheel. :(

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had such a fabulous and comfortable stay with superior service while staying with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our unique So-Bed, large bath and separate shower, L’Occitane products, and ouf food and coffee in Liberte and Chez Colette. We regret that you had difficulty while pulling up to the hotel with your car and hope that our valet was able to assist you as best they could. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Sofitel for 2 weeks on business and enjoyed it completely. Rooms were sleek and modern and the bathroom was marble with both a shower and bath. The bed was on the soft side, but I found it terrific, as I did the huge TV. There are Keurig coffee makers in the rooms (plus complimentary bottled water) and also coffee/tea/fruit in the lobby early.

The gym was respectable for a hotel gym and had a mix of cardio, weight machines and dumbells. One of the few drawbacks was the elevator : one needs to swipe one's key card to get to your floor, but they often malfunctioned. Of course, it's a good security measure but could be annoying. Since I did not pay for the room, I cannot judge if it was a good value.

The Rittenhouse square area was wonderful! Loved the park (farmer's market on Saturdays) and all the shops nearby. Marathon was a reliable favorite restaurant and Trader Joe's is walking distance. Another tip: the Palomar Hotel across the street had a happy hour from 10-11pm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had such a great stay with us during your long, two week business trip. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our room décor, large marble bathroom with separate shower and bath, unique So-Bed, large TV, Keurig coffee maker, complimentary coffee, tea, and fruit in the morning, and our GYM. We are also always glad to hear when guests have the opportunity to take advantage of our great Rittenhouse Square location and all it has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the future and also to hopefully try our happy hour specials from 5-8pm.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was attending a conference at another hotel, but chose to stay at the Sofitel because the TripAdvisor reviews were better. I wasn't steered wrong. The entire hotel was spotless and the room was beautiful. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the food at the restaurant was delicious. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. I would suggest taking the package they offer which includes the parking and breakfast. It's a much better deal than paying for each separately.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had such a great stay with us while in Philadelphia for your conference. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our rooms, unique So-Beds, French inspired fair, and that our staff was able to make your stay memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back To Sofitel Philadelphia again in the future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Amex, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.