We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel to your Saves list
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #7 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Sussex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Quiet and Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

This was my first stay at the Sofitel Philadelphia, having previously stayed in two other business hotels on previous visits to the city. Welcoming and friendly staff, who can't do enough for you and are completely genuine in their warmth. Reception staff lovely. Marcia on Concierge - most helpful kind concierge in living memory. Room (junior suite) spacious and comfy. There is a reception area with wardrobe and dressing table, large bathroom (separate walk in shower, and bath with detachable shower head), walled-off w.c. in bathroom. Small "lounge" area with comfy sofa/chair, and then finally the bedroom - all "rooms" within the suite have modern European style frosted glass doors, which can stay open unobtrusively. Very suitable for couples and/or travelling with a partner on business trip. Super expresso type coffee maker. Bed EXTREMELY comfortable - gorgeous, in fact. The main thing for me, is that it is extremely quiet, despite ths hotel being centrally located. You do not hear a thing apart from plumbing/water pipe noises(!) no door slamming, no noise of excited children running up and down the corridors (there is modern style carpeting everywhere), no room service staff clattering huge trolleys or security staff talking loudly into walkie-talkies etc etc - all of which, you will probably realise by now, I have experienced in other large, mainstream business type hotels - particularly in the U.S.!!!
This hotel is in a great location, just near Walnut Street - very central for pretty much everywhere. Definitely a nod by their staff towards their French origins (part of the Accor group, I think) - they answer the phone with a cheery "Bonjour" ; not sure if the French extends to any more than that, but it's a nice touch!
I would absolutely recommend this hotel, particularly to anyone who values peace and quiet and a fantastically cosy bed!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,367
    660
    135
    62
    36
See reviews for
328
841
154
577
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The visit started well. The doorman was affable, the valet was polite, and the desk staff helpful. The bellhop who brought up our bags even offered to fill up the ice bucket.

It was downhill from there. I pulled back the curtain and found that paint on the window sill was peeling. The furniture was “tired” as another reviewer said. It looked as if it had come from a scratch and dent sale.

The second day, the maid forgot to replenish the coffee. I called the desk and some was brought quickly and the desk double-checked to see whether it had been done.

Returning to the hotel on the second evening, it was apparent that the carpet had not been vacuumed (crumbs under the coffee table). One of the hand towels was ragged on the edges (haven’t seen anything like that in a hotel for years). The arm chairs and the coffee table were dusty. The coffee table top was frosted glass held above a metal frame by small metal cylinders (two of which were missing). The frosting on the glass had been damaged in several places so the table top looked dirty all the time.

The lobby is large but much of it is partitioned off for a bar and restaurant. The seating for hotel guests or people waiting to meet guests has been reduced to exactly three arm chairs. Not nearly enough to accommodate the people milling around.

The hotel is not up to the standard of the Sofitel in NewYork City. I would try a different hotel when returning to Philadelphia.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. Excellence is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to constantly improve our hotel and to provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. We are looking forward to upcoming room upgrades which are due in the very near future. We appreciate your comments as they address an important aspect of our hotel that is soon to be updated. We are pleased that you received great service from our staff and felt welcomed to our hotel. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the future. Please don’t hesitate to contact us with any further concerns or requests and we will be delighted to serve you in any way we can.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have family in Philly and have been staying at the Sofitel in Philadelphia for at least 9 years. It used to be a great hotel but over the past 2 years it has gone downhill. The bathrooms need to be renovated. The shower in my Junior Suite looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a year. It smelled of mildew and what appeared to be the soap dish was just corroded with scum. Where the shower meets the floor on the outside of the shower was moldy and the floors in general need to be replaced. The wallpaper over the tub was peeling. The sofa in the living room is the same sofa that's been there since I started staying at this hotel in 2003! Sofitel has redone their lobby and bar at least twice since I've staying there probably because they do a lot of business with weddings and the bar. Chez Collette, the hotel restaurant, has been open and closed several times. I've stayed at the Palomar across the street and although the rooms are smaller at least they are updated and appear clean. I love the Sofitel but I probably won't go back unless they give me a deal or renovate the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. Excellence is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to constantly improve our hotel and to provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. We are looking forward to upcoming room upgrades which are due in the very near future. We appreciate your comments as they address an important aspect of our hotel that is soon to be updated. We will also be sure to share your comments with our Housekeeping department to ensure that we make the necessary changes in our cleaning procedures. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the future. Please don’t hesitate to contact us with any further concerns or requests and we will be delighted to serve you in any way we can.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Sofitel Philadelphia is located in a perfect position, staff are helpful and knowledgeable of the city.

There are 2 option for WiFi one is free and the other $13 for a faster connection, I was able to use skype and facetime with the free option, so there is no need to upgrade to the faster connection.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Hotel is situated really ideal, close to small mall and shopping centers. Everything is in walking distance. And there is a Starbucks close by :-) The rooms are clean, quiet and the bathroom is spacious. The lobby really makes a great impression. The staff make every effort to support your needs. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

1. Beautiful, calm, well appointed lobby. It was wonderful to walk into an amazing space from the hustle and bustle of the Philadelphia streets. 2. check in was smooth, easy, pleasant and quick. 3. room was gorgeous! we stayed (my, husband and 2 kids ages 10 and 12) in a king suite with a sofa bed. staff was thoughtful enough to have the sofa bed turned down since we had a late check in. NICE! every detail in the room was lovely. 4. BEST BED we ever slept in - EVER! it was perfection. I had absolutely NO aches or pains / it was superb. 5. ordered room service: food was yummy and the staff was super pleasant. can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: rooms facing the street have a terrific view of the Philadelphia skyline. Be sure you request this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I say not worth the price even though we got a great room rate for a Saturday night. My wife and I stayed here as a night out celebrating a birthday and decided to stay in the city instead of driving home. The staff were not very friendly, they were very "European" (it is a French chain i believe). The room was ok, the decor was nice but but plain, the bathroom was the one bright spot. The shower was nice and big with a large shower head and beautiful glass enclosure. The bathtub was large and my wife enjoyed the bath. The bed was not comfortable at all, plus they had no cover on the duvet which caused us to pause from the beginning. The sheets were non existent just a bottom and the room was hot! Checking my CC the next day there were 3 different charges that i had no idea what they were. Calling and getting someone challenging only to be told they would fall off, which they did. Since we got a great price I didn't feel that bad but if we had paid the regular price i would have left after 2 hours of checking in.

Room Tip: Much better places to stay in Philadelphia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. Excellence is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our hotel and to provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. We will most certainly share your review with our Front Office team to assist us in enhancing our service. We are glad that you enjoyed our large marble bathrooms with our large showers and separate bathtubs. We do our best to provide a bed that our guests find comfortable and understand that not all guests have the same bed type preference. Even though our European style turndown is preferred by some guests, we are always willing to make a change to include a top sheet at request. If you have any further comments please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will be happy to discuss your concerns with you. Our guests’ concerns are very important to us and we look forward to addressing them.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Amex, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.