We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in the center of Philly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Two Nights in the City
Ranked #38 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in the center of Philly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed here on our wedding night. Because we had our wedding at the hotel, we received a complimentary suite for one night. The suite was luxurious, and everyone at the hotel was extremely friendly. I have nothing bad to say about the Ritz.

The lobby is beautiful and the bar serves up fun drinks.

Parking is expensive, but you can find parking lots right behind the hotel for a lot cheaper.

The location is also great for exploring the Rittenhouse Sq area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    255
    141
    73
    38
See reviews for
145
272
49
269
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bryn mawr, pa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

Stayed for just 1 night while on business. Valet service was expedient and friendly. Upon check-in was told that I would have a high-floored room with a shower, no bath. I requested another room with a bath and in the space of about 5 keystrokes I was placed in a lovely, spacious room with a tub and a shower.
Everyone I dealt with was incredibly friendly AND helpful. Big room, nice bed, plenty of pillow options. Bed was a touch too soft for my aching bones, I like a little firmness, but that is a minor point.
All in all, a terrific night, wished I could have stayed a little longer.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

I'll make it brief, the room was dirty and surprisingly dusty. I called the desk and spoke to the Office Manager. She tried to comp my room for me. I only wanted a clean room. A housekeeping manager ,,Mr. Dixon, arrived and I asked to have the room serviced. He waited until I was in the fitness center and had the room completed. When I returned the room was completed. Mr. Dixon followed up with a return visit with a few Diet Cokes. That was a nice touch. I was a little confused about the Front Desk. They seemed rushed and had no time for me. Not rude just bothered. Kudos to the rapid response of the housekeeping manager. The room service was good, not great. I'll stay at The Four Seasons or The Sofitel next trip to the city of Brotherly Love!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

I am not used to stay at hotels of so high rank, so my impression might have been biased. I've never had such a experience as in Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia. Everybody called me by name, and often, they even added my title. All staff was friendly and profesional. At first I was a little self-conscious about asking about additional fees, and the price of optional services, but I was always answered clearly and in a non-judgemental way.

The room was very comfortable and always pristinely clean and arranged. The beds were very comfortable. My colleague and I had a hard time with the dry air on the first night, but a call to front desk was all we had to do before a high-quality humidifier was brought to us.

The six elevators are a hidden comfort. People seldom think of the number of elevators as an item of comfort in a hotel --- I have noticed we had never waited for more than 5 seconds for an elevator at Ritz-Carlton.

Internet is charged extra, but you can renew your complimentary lobby internet every 24 hours, and it will work also in the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

I stayed at this location for a work conference, and have nothing but good things to say about the hotel and staff. We arrived early and the room we had asked for was not ready. The front desk clerk apologized and upgraded us to a nice corner room overlooking the historic city hall. Every staff member we met and spoke to were friendly and helpful. The location in the city center was close to many restaurants and historical sites. The museum area was about a mile away and we walked it with ease.

The room was clean and comfortable, and the hotel provides turn down service each night. There is a charge for Internet ($9.99 for a 24 hour period) and worked very well. The gym was a little small, but the do offer the use of an off site workout area if needed. The floor we were on (11th) did pick up a little street noise, but wasn't too bad.

I would recommend this hotel when in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

Everything was fantastic - room, staff (there was a lot of them), ambience, decor.. can't say enough about how great this hotel was. two comments - 1) price for breakfast was a lot ($75 for two which was essentially a sausage muffin, coffee and OJ each) and 2) a few wrong turns and blocks away and you're not in a good part of town.
I realize this is the RITZ and the breakfast cost was to be expected.. but you are only a few blocks away from the famous "Market" so I would suggest eating there instead - much more economical and way tastier.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

The Ritz Carlton is a fine hotel centrally located next to the City Hall complex. The hotel lobby was originally a bank and is located within an enormous marble rotunda surrounded by magnificent pillars. A bar with overhead large screen TVs is located along the far wall and the center of the lobby has been converted into a lounge. The 10Arts by Eric Ripert dining venue is located in s screened area adjacent to the lobby. The hotel common areas are most impressive and abuzz with activity.

Service is the hotel’s hallmark. The staff is competent and very pleasant. Check-in is concluded with a complimentary glass of champagne. The concierge was particularly helpful and resourceful in securing our last-minute dinner reservation on a night when the center city was particularly full of tourists and activity.

The rooms are located in an adjacent tower. We were upgraded to a mini-suite located on a corner of the building. It was tastefully appointed and outfitted with quality furnishings. The bathroom and a short hallway separated the bedroom and sitting area. Both rooms were outfitted with large flat panel TVs. The tiled bathroom, while quite compact, had a separate walk-in shower and bath tub. The linens were of good quality.

Breakfast service at 10Arts was exemplary and the food preparation first-rate. The only cautionary note for this hotel is a high floor should be requested. Our room was located on the tenth floor and we experienced a considerable amount of street noise throughout the night.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#2 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 600 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,447 reviews
City Center West
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#15 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 2,332 reviews
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Address: 10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk in the footsteps of America’s forefathers and become a part of history. Stay in one of America’s most venerable cities at one of the finest hotels in downtown Philadelphia and absorb the character of landmark buildings as you spend your day exploring Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other cultural treasures. Making its mark in a spectacular historic building, the luxury Philadelphia hotel’s location offers easy access to fine dining, upscale shopping, and Philadelphia’s business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Ritz Carlton
Ritz Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.