We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit Daily + More
Ranked #34 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Cream Ridge, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

The welcome was great and then it went down hill. The rooms are small. For a luxury brand the rooms reminded me of a out dated Sheraton. The common areas are wonderful and grand. But we were disappointed with the rest of the stay. Next time it's the Hyatt for us.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia B, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Loockout,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. If your time permits, I would love to have an opportunity to discuss your stay in more detail. I can be reached at 215-523-8242. T'hanks in advance and I look forward to speaking with you.
Olivia Brown, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    216
    112
    61
    31
See reviews for
115
220
46
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Where to start. The TV that didn't work - during the Super Bowl! And the back that fell off of it in the middle of the night. Room service - without the silverware. Surcharges for the extra surcharges. I could go on but why bother? I fare better at the Hampton.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia B, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Zouave2K
I wanted to thank you for sharing your experience and valuable feedback with us. Please accept my personal apologies. I truly would welcome the opportunity to personally speak with you further about your experience as it is only through feedback such as your own that we are able to improve upon our service commitment to our guests. If you would be so kind as to give me a call it would be my sincere pleasure to speak with you. I can be reached at 215-523-8242.
Have a great day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I love staying at the ritz in Philly. The staff is great and always ready to assist. The building was an old bank and therefore has the charm and ambiance of the old world. The rooms are very comfortable but does vary in size a bit depending on the direction you face. I preferred the top floors but beware of the bell tower across the street that chimes on the hour. Thankfully the chimes stop after 9pm so getting a good nights rest is possible. The concierge floor was great offering quite a bit of tasty delights. My only criticism is that of the water temperature and flow in the bathroom. It takes a few seconds for you to get hot water from the tap and as a result the water tends to be cold. Otherwise a great stay and I will most definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the main hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Disappointing. For the price and reputation, our room was so mediocre. This was a girls weekend and the double beds and single chair did not lend itself to a comfortable haven to hang out. I expected luxury and what I got was rather tasteless decor and blah surroundings. When I requested a different room, the response was less then accommodating. They eventually moved us to a suite which was slightly better with an admittedly phenomenal view of of City Hall. No honor bar, no sweet amenities upon turn down. Why all the fuss? The common area is spectacular, the bar and lounge a gorgeous place to hang out and imbibe. Location in Center City is ideal also. This is the last time I will book an upgrade hotel, I will stick to the boutique hotels with their style and character and unique amenities.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia B, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Michele L
Thank you for spending your girls weekend with us and taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay. I hope to have an opportunity to speak with you if your time permits. Please contact me at 215-523-8242 and it will be my pleasure to discuss your recent stay in more detail. I am thrilled that we were able to upgrade you to one of our lovely suite with a fantastic view of William Penn on top of City Hall. The view is priceless. In regards to our honor bars, we now offer a more personalized approach to delivering on our guest preferences. Our honor bars are stocked on request to allow us to deliver your favorite items and not just a generic list. I would also like to thank you for commenting on our spectacular our lounge and lobby area and recognizing that it is a great hang out spot. Have a great day and I look forward to speaking with you.
Olivia Brown, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

When it comes to rooms, appointments, amenities and service this is really just another large, good-quality chain hotel, with nothing that justifies the prices, nor lifts it to the level of the Ritz reputation. It does, however, have two attributes that are outstanding.

First is the location. Since it is just across the street, the hotel cannot be any closer to center city without becoming City Hall itself, and with that comes all the convenience of a superb location. It is situated in the center of the burgeoning Philadelphia dining scene and almost all of the historic landmarks are within walking distance. Furthermore, it is located above a major subway interchange.

Second is the lobby and lounge area. This is probably one of the most stunning interiors in the U.S. What a place to enjoy a cocktail; a definite must see!!! So, stop in for a drink but stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia B, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear IBSTours,
I have exciting news to share! We are currently in the begining phases of planning our upcoming rooms renovation. It is going to be incredible! Thank you for sharing how much you love spending time in our vibrant 10 Arts Lounge and being so close to steps of City Hall. Our historic building is definitely one of a kind. Did you know that this was once a bank? The building that our hotel is located in was the Girard Corn Exchange in 1951, Girard Bank in 1970, Mellon Bank in 1984. Our Rotunda building was designed by McKim, Mead, & White and was constructed between 1904 and 1908...."wow" what history lies in these walls. I would also like to share that 10 Arts Lounge now has live music running from Jan 4th to May 24th on Saturday evenings ( 6pm to 9pm) and Sunday morning ( 10;30 to to 2pm) for brunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The staff was pleasant but not too efficient. When we checked in we had no clue how to find the elevator and get to our room but we were left to carry our heavy bags around the cavernous lobby area looking for someone who could give us directions. Inexcusable for these prices! The lobby, an architectural marvel, was ruined by the continued boom of loud rock music that went right to our sternums and stressed us out! The food at the 10 Arts is unremarkable. I ordered a salad that came swimming in dressing and over-salted. The brunch is hardly worth the $35. The food sits out for hours resulting in warm yogurt and wilted fruit. The wait staff needs training. It was a sad and disappointing stay!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia B, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Jeanne-Marie O

Thank You for taking the time to provide me with such valuable feedback. As you can image with a brand such as ours your feedback is extremely important in continuing to drive our strong service culture. If you are available, I would love the opportunity to speak with directly. I may be reached at 215--523-8242.
Olivia Brown, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Perfect get-away! beautiful and clean. Spectacular lobby area... room was beautiful. top corner room! Excellent room service. Very courteous staff. Only issue was no tv remote and took a few calls to receive, but that was minor in relation to our entire experience. :)

Room Tip: Corner room, high floor! LOTSa windows! Quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Address: 10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk in the footsteps of America’s forefathers and become a part of history. Stay in one of America’s most venerable cities at one of the finest hotels in downtown Philadelphia and absorb the character of landmark buildings as you spend your day exploring Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other cultural treasures. Making its mark in a spectacular historic building, the luxury Philadelphia hotel’s location offers easy access to fine dining, upscale shopping, and Philadelphia’s business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Ritz Carlton
Ritz Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.