We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The RITZ- truly an elegant and extravagant experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit Daily + More
Ranked #33 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“The RITZ- truly an elegant and extravagant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I LOVE this hotel. Any time I come to Philadelphia I stay at the Ritz Carlton. It's breathtaking when you walk in to the lobby and the service is just as amazing too. Everyone there is friendly, helpful, and nice. The rooms are big with super comfortable beds and every time I've stayed there the view has been great. They sometimes even welcome you with a glass of champagne right off the bat! I almost always just stay in the regular room there but last week I splurged and got the suite- I was so glad I did! The views were incredible and outer room large with plenty of nice clean furniture! I can't wait to come back.

Here are my favorite things about the hotel:

-Great location- right by city hall. Easy walking to most of Philadelphia.
-Amazing views - since you're next to city hall, request a room with a view of it.
-Beautiful bathroom- separate tub, shower, and toilet area. Beautiful granite counters and marble.
-Great toiletries
-Super helpful staff
-Complimentary bottles of water
-Very clean and new feeling.
-Consistently good. My family and I have been coming here many times since I went to college over 5 years ago in Philadelphia and no one has ever had a major complaint.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    216
    112
    61
    31
See reviews for
116
222
46
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlestown, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and I arrived at the Ritz after a long drive to Philly from Boston; we were welcomed at the curb immediately and ushered to the registration desk. While completing the registration, a young woman offered us glasses of champagne - this was a fabulous start to the weekend!

Every person on the Ritz staff was friendly, attentive and solicitous. Bill Richardson not only gives a great shoeshine, he is a great ambassador for the hotel, greeting and engaging everyone who enters the side door to the hotel. Bartenders, doormen, concierges - they all went out of their way to make our stay special.

By the way, the room rates were very attractive, especially given the location, amenities and high quality accommodations; I highly recommend that travelers consider the Ritz when in Philadelphia!

Room Tip: I recommend higher floors - very quiet and great views of the city an the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was my first visit to Philadelphia and very interesting. Hotel was convenient to Independence Hall, Kimmel Center and numerous restaurants. Hotel staff was very attentive to our needs. This is an old city and the hotel suits its surroundings. Long elevator waits.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Expensive and you have to pay for wifi. Service only exist out of 4 doormen. We weren with the 2 pf us, but still 1 bottle of water, 1 bathrope etc.etc
Location is good, near by all interesting points of Philly.
Doormen were friendly

Room Tip: Forget this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCKVILLE
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel would have earned a five, if it were just for the location. I found that this Ritz Carlton did not meet expectations of a five star hotel. no slippers. no turn down service in the evening. these things were disappointments, but not being able to use the bathroom sink was unacceptable. the water was either burning hot or cold, nothing medium warm. The engineer deemed it fine. It was a very unpleasant experience and I would look elsewhere when visiting the great city of Philadelphia in the future.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else, where they provide service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The lobby is very interesting a good place to grab a drink. The service in the hotel was great, typical Ritz-Carlton service. The room we had just seemed a little bit worn and could stand for an update. Not terrible but I would not be in a hurry to return, would probably try a new hotel that was a bit newer or had remodeled.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I spent two nights at the Ritz Carlton for a business trip. Rooms are nice, clean with good amenities. The location is close to shopping and an easy walk to restaurants and site seeing. The weekend evenings can be very busy with weddings. I would consider staying here for a weekend getaway. The cab ride cost from the airport to the hotel was around $30.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Address: 10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk in the footsteps of America’s forefathers and become a part of history. Stay in one of America’s most venerable cities at one of the finest hotels in downtown Philadelphia and absorb the character of landmark buildings as you spend your day exploring Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other cultural treasures. Making its mark in a spectacular historic building, the luxury Philadelphia hotel’s location offers easy access to fine dining, upscale shopping, and Philadelphia’s business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Marriott, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Ritz Carlton
Ritz Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.