We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly staff and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit Daily + More
Ranked #35 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Morristown, NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great friendly staff and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Attended the JAG Gala supporting Brain Tumor research on March 23, 2013. The Ritz Carlton Philadelphia not only is a stunning venue to host such an event but they did a great job. The staff was friendly, the rooms were beautiful, the hotel lobby was breathtaking, the food was delicious. Kiki at the front desk even tended to my fashion emergency when she sewed my dress strap back on.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    193
    99
    59
    30
See reviews for
104
199
41
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was my eighth or ninth visit to this property. Each time I visit this property I am hoping to find an experience more similar to other Ritz-Carlton properties I have visited. Unfortunately, this property just isn't quite the same as the others.

The associates at this hotel couldn't be nicer. They are always accessible, more than willing to accommodate anything you need and go out of their way to do everything they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Customer service gets a 5 - hands down.

The Club Level - which is one of the reasons we continually choose this hotel - is very nice. Compared to other Ritz-Carlton properties it is not as expansive, but the service is exceptional.

The rooms - are okay - but nothing spectacular. What's nice is that each room is different as it is an historic building that was converted to a hotel. The beds are your typical Ritz-Carlton bed which are very comfortable and nicely appointed with luxurious sheets and pillows. The bathrooms are - also okay - but once again nothing spectacular. The hotel is using new amenities which are very nice. The showers are less than wonderful with inexpensive shower heads that barely put out a spray. Something we've found in each room we've experienced. All in all the rooms need an upgrade with appointments that guests who are staying in a hotel such as this would expect.

The location of the hotel is spectacular. You can walk to everything you need to get to whether it be the shops on Walnut Street or the convention center.

All in all, it's a nice hotel. We keep returning and hopefully one day it will be all that we and other reviewers on here hope it will be.

Room Tip: A high floor with a view of City Hall adds a nice element to your visit. I would recommend away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I usually stay here annually and have found my service is much better than last year. Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff is markedly improved It is a Ritz after all. It should be a superior experience. This property is improving for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

There are not enough good things to say about this hotel. It will be remembered as one of our favorite hotels of all time.
The location is phenomenal. You are right in the center of the city though so you will hear street noise.
The staff is amazingly helpful as always with a Ritz.
The champagne at check-in and the little toy basket for kids to pick from make this place stand out.
The rooms are small but comfortable.
The lobby and bar are gorgeous but of course quite pricey.
If you're looking for a glamorous night in a prime location, this is it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown,PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We love the Ritz and had heard great reviews on this one in particular. So maybe we had higher expectations for this Ritz Carlton Philadelphia location.

We booked club level for the weekend. Arrival was great - the staff was super friendly and helpful.

Our room was on the 24th floor right next to the bank of 6 elevators - it was reasonable quiet - however one evening we were awoken several times by noise in the lobby. The room itself was spacious - but felt lacked intriguing decor - nor was the bed as comfortable as other properties we have visited. There was no coffee/tea machine in the room - there was no mini bar and the main telephone did not work. Since the hotel was at 100% there were no other rooms to move into. The bathroom itself was very nice.

Having visited the club level every time we check into the Ritz - we were excited for the goodies offered with this level of service. The club room itself is spectacular. But I feel this is what you are paying for. The food itself was so so - nothing to write home about. This was a huge downer for this location. We would have expected more - especially since Philadelphia is such a "foodie" town. I would have thought the chefs would have done a little more to impress for the price.

The gym was very small and when we went to work out - it was packed...with no view and older equipment.

Had a 50 minute massage which was great. Enjoyed this part of the stay!

Overall the architecture of the main building is amazing and should be checked out no matter what - even for a cocktail in the lobby. Would I book here again - I don't know...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Centrally located and surrounded by a lot of restaurant options, this hotel is very beautiful. The sumptuous architecture of this old historic building is really amazing and the lobby is simply astonishing.
The staff is very professional and smiles are always on their face.
Our guest room was nicely decorated with luxury linens, a lovely bathroom all done in marble, with a separate toilet/shower area (no tub in our room), fridge and coffee/tea facilities. The room was smaller than expected and the double beds were really SMALL. We had booked a suite for our family of 4 and we felt a lack of comfort.
Internet was another downfall as it hardly worked from my suite, even though we had paid for it. The free wifi only worked well in the lobby. (thanks for refunding our money)
We felt very uncomfortable when arriving in the hotel, after a tiring shopping day, with lots of bags, and there was an Oscar red carpet scene in the lobby in front of us. We didn't know it, but there was a dress-to-impress party in the lobby, including a fashion presentation by Saks Fifth Avenue and the guests were watching The Academy Awards broadcast projected on big screens. It is a big event in Philly and we didn't know anything about it.
All in all, at least I could take advantage of the gym room, it was very nice.

Room Tip: Mind the size of the room/bed if you'll book a room for more than 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here recently in what seemed to be an upgraded room. The room was very large and had a nice bathroom with tub and separate shower. The staff was warm, friendly and accommodating. Definitely visit the bar while there!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Address: 10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk in the footsteps of America’s forefathers and become a part of history. Stay in one of America’s most venerable cities at one of the finest hotels in downtown Philadelphia and absorb the character of landmark buildings as you spend your day exploring Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other cultural treasures. Making its mark in a spectacular historic building, the luxury Philadelphia hotel’s location offers easy access to fine dining, upscale shopping, and Philadelphia’s business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Ritz Carlton
Ritz Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.