We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit Daily + More
Ranked #34 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here recently in what seemed to be an upgraded room. The room was very large and had a nice bathroom with tub and separate shower. The staff was warm, friendly and accommodating. Definitely visit the bar while there!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    190
    98
    59
    30
See reviews for
103
197
41
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colts neck, nj
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

It's a ritz carlton so service is the priority.

People engage you, open doors, walk you to where you need to go. Typical ritz Carlton.

The location is great . Walk outside and go to the right and lots of restaurants to choose from.

Extremely satisfied will stay again. A better experience than the four seasons in my opinion.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a business meeting at the hotel and stayed overnight. The entry is beautiful with the high ceilings and columns of the glorious classic city commercial bank it used to be with a lounge at the center. The music, vibe and lighting is a bit more suited for a W Hotel than a Ritz. The service was very helpful all around, not quite the perfection of the Ritz of old, but very good by any standard. The rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable. (The fact they charge for wifi Internet remains an annoying relic as all Ritz do). The service of the meeting room where we met for the day was exceptional. The workout room was small, poorly outfitted with cheap equipment, the one surprising negative of the hotel.
Overall a very nice stay and a great location.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stay at the Ritz several times a year. We arrived on Friday and greeting by staff was 1st class! Oliver at the front desk was very Proffessional and personable! Our room however was by the elevator and very loud. Although the front desk was kind enough to offer alternate room, we declined. The mini bar in all rooms is no longer available a minor let down. This still is one of better hotels we visit. We stay at Ritz Carlton's around the world and this hotel meets all expectations!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite away from an elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I have been traveling on business to Philadelphia quite a bit and have stayed at many of the hotels in the area, this property BY FAR surpasses the others, as I would expect with a Ritz-Carlton property.

The service was fantastic, from the valet to the room service, with everyone pleasantly greeting me as I moved through the property. I was double upgraded to a Superior room, along with an early check in. I was on a high floor, so most of the road noise was mute.

The lobby bar was beautiful and was very enjoyable to have a drink. There was a great duo that was playing live music, which added a great touch.

I can promise you that I will be staying here from here every time that I am in town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed 1 night for business so didn't get to spend a lot of time on the property. Seems everyone got champagne on arrival except me? Arrived late to superb service from bell hops, doormen and front desk.
Price of $309 per night seems excessive. I used a corporate rate so at $215 it was a good deal. Lounge was busy and seemed very cool but I was too tired so settled for room service which was nothing special but arrived fast and warm.
Room was beautiful and bathroom was luxurious. View from high floors is great so ask for high floors. I will echo the concern of another review with regards to noise. You can hear everything from hall way and rooms around you. I was woken up at 6am because the person next door got in the shower.
Fitness center is VERY nice - big with lots of equipment.
I want to stress the service again: Everyone truly aimed to please and it made for a nice stay.

Room Tip: High floor and corner to cut down on noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel is really beautiful inside and has a large open air restaurant/bar when you 1st walk in off the busy street. The location is also very good.

I stayed here for one night on business and found almost everything to be very good. Check in was fast, the staff were personable and everything went smoothly. The rooms are a nice size, up-to-date and the bed was incredibly comfortable.

My only reason for a 3 and not a 4 rating was the thin walls. I heard every conversation in the hall like it was in the room. I tried using the airconditioner fan to drown it out but that didn't work. When I was falling asleep, I heard the person in the next room snoring very loudly as if they were in the room. There was little noise buffer. Eventually I gave up and asked to be switched to another room that was quieter.

Maybe this was just the room I was initially in, but for a Ritz Carlton, I would expect a little better sound proofing. Other than that, it was a good stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Address: 10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk in the footsteps of America’s forefathers and become a part of history. Stay in one of America’s most venerable cities at one of the finest hotels in downtown Philadelphia and absorb the character of landmark buildings as you spend your day exploring Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other cultural treasures. Making its mark in a spectacular historic building, the luxury Philadelphia hotel’s location offers easy access to fine dining, upscale shopping, and Philadelphia’s business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Ritz Carlton
Ritz Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.