We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, Service is hit or miss” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Two Nights in the City
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
NYC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice property, Service is hit or miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Overall this is a good property. The lobby is beautiful, and the room was small, but nice. The bathroom was nice and big with a soaking tub, so that was nice. The restaurant was a good meal for dinner and we had breakfast there both days we stayed. Breakfast was good with a wide selection. Almost all the staff we interacted with was excellent. The only exception is that the front desk staff failed in a few ways:

1.) Before our stay, I noted that several others on TripAdvisor indicated that at check-in, they were offered complimentary drinks of champagne or other beverages, which I thought was a nice touch. When we arrived, we noticed this ourselves as everyone checking in before us was extended that offer of a complimentary drink. However, this offer was not made for us once we actually got to the front desk. For me, it wasn't about the drink as I didn't really care about getting a glass of champagne - it was more the principle in the front desk staff offering a complimentary service to everyone else but us.

2.) When we were checking in, the front desk staff person extended and guaranteed us a late check-out of 4:00 pm. However, on the day of check-out, the key to our room stopped working around 12:00 pm. Essentially, the late check-out had not been processed and we were locked out of our room for about 10-15 minutes. Ordinarily, this would just be a minor nuisance, but with two things in mind:
A.) This is the Ritz-Carlton, and being a brand that prides itself on excellence in service, such issues such are not supposed to be overlooked.
B.) My wife is 8 months pregnant and desperately needed to get off her feet after walking around outside. Waiting around for an additional 10-15 minutes did not bode well for her or her comfort.

Overall, this property is good. It's not great and will not blow you away. It's a very standard property, but I would honestly look to stay elsewhere the next time I'm in Philly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    231
    127
    64
    35
See reviews for
127
249
46
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Im not what you would call a big fan of Philidelphia. So being able to return to this superb hotel each night while I was there was a life saver.

Located in a historic building which I believe used to be a large bank in the old days. The design, decor and improvements they have made to this building are very impressive. Nice rooms, great service. The property is located in the center of the city and excellent access to all downtown areas. Overlooks city hall, very convenient to nice restaurants. In-house bar very cosy and classy feel. Private access to the subway......if you dare. Haha.

Will return here IF I'm forced to return to this shabby city. :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I had the privilege of staying at two hotels last week - one was the Ritz and the other was the Four Seasons in Philadelphia. Both are great hotels - although the Four Seasons needs room updating. The folks at the Ritz were terrific - upgraded my room (which obviously always taints my view!) - especially Oliver at the front desk. They accommodated a large group that we had and I never felt that they were out of step. There was a can-do attitude and a sense of fun that other hotels wish they could emulate. Thanks guys for a great time - a stayed a night on business but felt like I was on vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

It could not have been better. From the doormen who swiftly open the door to whisk you in from the February wind, to the stunning, majestic lobby, to the gracious offer of champagne at check-in, to the immaculate rooms with marble bathroom fit for royalty...yes, the Ritz is all that and more. Every single person smiles and wants to know how they can assist you. It's service at its finest.

The rooms are a bit small, but nicely appointed with luxury sheets and comfortable beds. We were in 2502 and our views of City Hall were stunning...almost felt like you could reach out and touch it.

The Club Level is old-school. This is how concierge level should be run at every hotel . Nice breakfast in the am with a hot entree as well as fresh fruit, breads, pastries, hard boiled eggs, smoked salmon, freshly squeezed juice, coffee/tea etc...lunch is lovely sandwiches, salads, dessert offerings. Evening hors d'oeuvres included such treats as excellent spicy tuna sushi, mini tacos and some excellent cheese offerings. Dessert presentation had all sorts of treats. The champagne and wine flow freely and are included in the cost of the club level upgrade. The room on the 30th floor is a beautiful, dark wood club with views of Philadelphia on all sides. The ladies who run the club are just lovely. They are more than happy to assist.

The bar and restaurant downstairs (10 Arts) is great as well. If you get a late night craving, the mini Philly pretzels with the dipping sauces are not to be missed.

There is a spa, but we did not indulge this time.

The only bad thing? Checking out! I'll be back without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on Club Level. Checked in early without issue. Champagne offered on arrival to the reception desk is a lovely touch. Room was not large but nicely appointed with a gorgeous bathroom and a killer view of City Hall (#2502.)

Club level lounge on the 30th floor requires key access and is well worth the extra money. Plenty of food, snacks and drinks (alcohol and non.) Evening hors d'oeuvres are especially nice ( great spicy tuna sushi.) Breakfast in the am also quite good. Service is wonderful... The ladies who oversee the Club do an exemplary job...gracious without being pretentious. The room where the Club Level lounge is housed just oozes old-school Philadelphia with stellar views of the city.

The service at this Ritz is just great. You don't lift a finger and everyone I came into contact with was so friendly.

Beds are quite comfortable. Location is awesome. The main lobby and restaurant (10 Arts) are also great. Really, for a one- night stay on a blustery February evening in Philadelphia, I saw no reason to leave the comfort and refinement of the Ritz. I'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

The workers are great and so nice and friendly from check in to breakfast the next day to the bag checkers. Everyone was awesome . Room was clean . It could use a little updating but it's still so nice!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Downtown next to city hall . Subway is concur you located user city hall. Within walking distance of Ruth chris and McCormick and Schmits . Also two blocks from love park. In winter they have a German festival with lots if vendors . Be sure to check out the horse and carriage ride. Althought because if the cold it was very short lived . The city hall is currently under reconstruction . We had a corner room junior suite . One room for he bedroom and another for a sittig room . It had a tv and frig. Bedroom ha two windows with views if broad st, city hall and the basilica dome that is above the lobby . On entry doormen open your door and during check in they offer you champagne .

Over all it was a wonderful experience . We stayed Saturday and Sunday night .
Car service is $108 to the airport - cab is roughly $35.

We attended the eagles (nfl) game which is south if the city on broad st. , which can be accessed by subway . Total round trip is about $3 per person.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Address: 10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk in the footsteps of America’s forefathers and become a part of history. Stay in one of America’s most venerable cities at one of the finest hotels in downtown Philadelphia and absorb the character of landmark buildings as you spend your day exploring Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other cultural treasures. Making its mark in a spectacular historic building, the luxury Philadelphia hotel’s location offers easy access to fine dining, upscale shopping, and Philadelphia’s business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Ritz Carlton
Ritz Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.