We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room--Great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit Daily + More
Ranked #34 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Small room--Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Ritz-Carlton to attend a conference being held in the hotel. It was a good experience overall. The front desk staff was outstanding and helpful--even when I made the reservation. The concierge was great. The bell service was good, but a little aggressive in insisting on bringing bags to room, which we really didn't need, and at first refused. Maid service good. Impressive lobby with an interesting history. The room was extremely small, especially given the price, but the bathroom was lovely. We had a wonderful view of City Hall, which I had asked for. (Maybe the rooms on that side of the building are small?) Had breakfast only one morning in the dining room--can't stand paying high hotel prices for simple food.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor with City Hall view. Nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    247
    176
    84
    56
    28
See reviews for
92
181
37
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

A wonderful, modern renovation. Classy and trendy. I loved the lobby lounge and vibe set forth. Service was terrific; friendly and efficient. Prime location, steps to everything.

Looking forward to a revisit soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here for my birthday weekend this past summer and had a wonderful time. This was the second year in a row that my friends and I came here to celebrate my birthday and we were not disappointed at all. The front desk even greeted us with glasses of champagne at checkin as they knew it was my birthday which I thought was a really nice gesture. I assume that it also has to do with me being a Ritz Carlton Reward Club Member and that I always add access to the business lounge whether traveling for business or pleasure. I highly suggest doing this as well - it is worth the extra money, yet the perks of having access to food, drinks and quiet all day long is priceless in my opinion. The 10 Arts Lounge makes some wonderful cocktails as well as the Bistro which has delicious food. The hotel is also centrally located and I cannot stress how helpful the staff was. Definitely one of my favorite hotels in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The stately Girard Trust Bank has become a hotel with rooms overlooking William Penn's statue atop City Hall (great view!). The former banking floor is now a great bar in the rotunda. And the staff couldn't be more pleasant and helpful. A great place to stay in Center City.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband & I took our two kids for a weekend in Philadelphia December 21, 2012. My husband organized the entire weekend with the help of James, the concierge. James was incredibly professional and such a great help in planning out a weekend for an 11 year old and a 15 year old. Restaurant recommendations were superb. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and centrally located.There is tons of shopping and great restaurant selection. If you go please take your kids on the Philadelphia trolley tour it was so worth it! If you are lucky you will get Bill. Everyone from the bellman to the check in clerk were so professional and so friendly to our children. They made them feel very special. You get champagne at check in which is nice and the kids get a bottle of water. The room was very comfortable for the four of us. They put us in a room with double beds which had ample room for a roll away bed which they brought up and set up for us. The beds were very comfortable. Bathroom was spacious. We had access to the concierge floor which our children loved. The people who work that floor are so friendly and really do make you feel as though you were guests in their home. I was super impressed with the fact that the woman who worked the floor one morning knew how I took my coffee just by looking at my cup. I never wanted to leave. We arrived in our room the first night to a plate full of cookies and a chocolate liberty bell! Great way to end the weekend. Thank you Ritz Carlton....we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you get a room with two beds ask for one of the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We just got back from a wonderful weekend at the RC Philly. We stayed here last year and this year decided to upgrade to the club. We had a superior room on the corner of the building on the 29th floor and we could not have asked for more.

The club is well worth the extra cost if you can. The ladies in the club are the best and do a great job of making sure that every need is taken care of. The food is great, we did not come across anything that we did not enjoy.

The views are amazing. There is a bit of street noise, even that high up, but it IS in center city.

We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get as high as possible and ask for a corner room, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here for a night en route to another destination. I have stayed at a few RCs over the years, and this was did not disappoint. The staff are really great, and a credit to this hotel. True the rooms are a little dated, but they are clean, very spacious and everyone works.

All in all a decent hotel for the money and would stay again.

Room Tip: Chose a high floor for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Ritz Carlton
Ritz Philadelphia
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia
Ritz Carlton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Ritz-Carlton
Philadelphia Ritz
Address: 10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk in the footsteps of America’s forefathers and become a part of history. Stay in one of America’s most venerable cities at one of the finest hotels in downtown Philadelphia and absorb the character of landmark buildings as you spend your day exploring Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other cultural treasures. Making its mark in a spectacular historic building, the luxury Philadelphia hotel’s location offers easy access to fine dining, upscale shopping, and Philadelphia’s business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.