We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restoration!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit Daily + More
Ranked #35 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Lovely restoration!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

A wonderful, modern renovation. Classy and trendy. I loved the lobby lounge and vibe set forth. Service was terrific; friendly and efficient. Prime location, steps to everything.

Looking forward to a revisit soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    195
    102
    60
    31
See reviews for
109
201
41
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here for my birthday weekend this past summer and had a wonderful time. This was the second year in a row that my friends and I came here to celebrate my birthday and we were not disappointed at all. The front desk even greeted us with glasses of champagne at checkin as they knew it was my birthday which I thought was a really nice gesture. I assume that it also has to do with me being a Ritz Carlton Reward Club Member and that I always add access to the business lounge whether traveling for business or pleasure. I highly suggest doing this as well - it is worth the extra money, yet the perks of having access to food, drinks and quiet all day long is priceless in my opinion. The 10 Arts Lounge makes some wonderful cocktails as well as the Bistro which has delicious food. The hotel is also centrally located and I cannot stress how helpful the staff was. Definitely one of my favorite hotels in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The stately Girard Trust Bank has become a hotel with rooms overlooking William Penn's statue atop City Hall (great view!). The former banking floor is now a great bar in the rotunda. And the staff couldn't be more pleasant and helpful. A great place to stay in Center City.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband & I took our two kids for a weekend in Philadelphia December 21, 2012. My husband organized the entire weekend with the help of James, the concierge. James was incredibly professional and such a great help in planning out a weekend for an 11 year old and a 15 year old. Restaurant recommendations were superb. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and centrally located.There is tons of shopping and great restaurant selection. If you go please take your kids on the Philadelphia trolley tour it was so worth it! If you are lucky you will get Bill. Everyone from the bellman to the check in clerk were so professional and so friendly to our children. They made them feel very special. You get champagne at check in which is nice and the kids get a bottle of water. The room was very comfortable for the four of us. They put us in a room with double beds which had ample room for a roll away bed which they brought up and set up for us. The beds were very comfortable. Bathroom was spacious. We had access to the concierge floor which our children loved. The people who work that floor are so friendly and really do make you feel as though you were guests in their home. I was super impressed with the fact that the woman who worked the floor one morning knew how I took my coffee just by looking at my cup. I never wanted to leave. We arrived in our room the first night to a plate full of cookies and a chocolate liberty bell! Great way to end the weekend. Thank you Ritz Carlton....we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: If you get a room with two beds ask for one of the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We just got back from a wonderful weekend at the RC Philly. We stayed here last year and this year decided to upgrade to the club. We had a superior room on the corner of the building on the 29th floor and we could not have asked for more.

The club is well worth the extra cost if you can. The ladies in the club are the best and do a great job of making sure that every need is taken care of. The food is great, we did not come across anything that we did not enjoy.

The views are amazing. There is a bit of street noise, even that high up, but it IS in center city.

We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get as high as possible and ask for a corner room, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here for a night en route to another destination. I have stayed at a few RCs over the years, and this was did not disappoint. The staff are really great, and a credit to this hotel. True the rooms are a little dated, but they are clean, very spacious and everyone works.

All in all a decent hotel for the money and would stay again.

Room Tip: Chose a high floor for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The magnificent lobby of this Philly Ritz belies the less-than-opulent state of its mostly humble guest rooms. The lobby, which features tons of imported marble holding up an enormous glass dome many stories high, is really impressive. But the rooms ... not so much. Our basic king-bed guest room, though clean, was pretty small. The adjoining bathroom (with a large glass-enclosed shower, a separate tub, and a separate closet for the toilet) was enormous, although it didn't stop us from feeling a bit disappointed when we walked into our plainly decorated, diminutive guest room.

The service at this Ritz, as it usually is at Ritz properties, was superb. But I would rather enjoy free Wi-Fi (the hook-up was about $10 for 24 hours), and somewhat reasonably priced meals than encounter a small army holding open the hotel's doors and showering me with greetings every time I come or go from the property.

We stayed over Christmas, so we were forced to order food from the Ritz restaurant because mostly everything nearby was closed. On the room-service menu, a grapefruit costs $6, plus tax, plus service charge. So it ends up being like an $8 grapefruit. Really? I know this is the Ritz, but a grapefruit is a grapefruit. The same grapefruit costs $4 if you walk down to the on-site restaurant and order it there, where a no-frills breakfast for two will probably run you 50 bucks. Parking is also $50 a night.

Ultimately, this place wasn't worth the price once we added up costs for the myriad meals and surcharges tacked onto our bill.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the City Hall clock tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Address: 10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk in the footsteps of America’s forefathers and become a part of history. Stay in one of America’s most venerable cities at one of the finest hotels in downtown Philadelphia and absorb the character of landmark buildings as you spend your day exploring Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other cultural treasures. Making its mark in a spectacular historic building, the luxury Philadelphia hotel’s location offers easy access to fine dining, upscale shopping, and Philadelphia’s business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Ritz Carlton
Ritz Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.