We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Two Nights in the City
Ranked #36 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing staff, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed here for a night en route to another destination. I have stayed at a few RCs over the years, and this was did not disappoint. The staff are really great, and a credit to this hotel. True the rooms are a little dated, but they are clean, very spacious and everyone works.

All in all a decent hotel for the money and would stay again.

Room Tip: Chose a high floor for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    241
    136
    68
    36
See reviews for
133
261
47
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The magnificent lobby of this Philly Ritz belies the less-than-opulent state of its mostly humble guest rooms. The lobby, which features tons of imported marble holding up an enormous glass dome many stories high, is really impressive. But the rooms ... not so much. Our basic king-bed guest room, though clean, was pretty small. The adjoining bathroom (with a large glass-enclosed shower, a separate tub, and a separate closet for the toilet) was enormous, although it didn't stop us from feeling a bit disappointed when we walked into our plainly decorated, diminutive guest room.

The service at this Ritz, as it usually is at Ritz properties, was superb. But I would rather enjoy free Wi-Fi (the hook-up was about $10 for 24 hours), and somewhat reasonably priced meals than encounter a small army holding open the hotel's doors and showering me with greetings every time I come or go from the property.

We stayed over Christmas, so we were forced to order food from the Ritz restaurant because mostly everything nearby was closed. On the room-service menu, a grapefruit costs $6, plus tax, plus service charge. So it ends up being like an $8 grapefruit. Really? I know this is the Ritz, but a grapefruit is a grapefruit. The same grapefruit costs $4 if you walk down to the on-site restaurant and order it there, where a no-frills breakfast for two will probably run you 50 bucks. Parking is also $50 a night.

Ultimately, this place wasn't worth the price once we added up costs for the myriad meals and surcharges tacked onto our bill.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the City Hall clock tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had the pleasure of spending a night at the Ritz Philly in late December 2012 and both the hotel and service was extraordinary. The lobby was beautifully decorated for the holidays and the bar in the lobby looked like a great place to grab a drink and laughs. I didn’t get a chance to hit the fitness facility but heard it was great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem PA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Ritz-Carlton to celebrate New Year's Eve, and had an excellent experience. We were slightly apprehensive about the quality of the property, given that some of the reviews here note that the property's slightly "outdated." While it's true that it would have been nice to have an alarm clock/MP3 player instead of the archaic alarm clock/CD player we found, otherwise we found the room to be nicely appointed, spacious, and clean. The service, at every level, was impeccable, from the front desk's willingness to accommodate our request for a quiet room on a high floor, to the complementary Pellegrino water, bottled waters, and artisanal chocolate bars we found waiting for us on the desk, to the room service staff's friendly and prompt service. The only other element of the room I found to be lacking were the amenities in the bathroom--having previously stayed at the Ritz-Carlton in Battery Park, I was looking forward to Bulgari shampoos and soaps and so was a bit let down to find standard, no-name products in the bathroom (admittedly, this is a minor quibble!). We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again next time we're in the city!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our Chestnut-facing corner room on the 23rd floor very much--finally, a quiet room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed before Christmas with my wife and 2 young kids. We were just in town for a day to visit the city and everything going on for Christmas. The hotel was decorated very nice and everyone was in great spirit. They help unload the car and carry everything to the room for us very professionally. We were greated with small toys for the children. The lobby/bar was beautiful and everyone seemed to be having a great time. Room service was fast and excellent. The location was great as we were able to walk a block to Macy's to see the lights and then another block to the Christmas village at love park. The kids were spent so we weren't able to walk the couple blocks to Comcast building but was really close as well. Overall great stay, kids loved it and would def recommend this hotel for a family looking to visit the city, especially for Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The staff here made our engagement super special. After a day spent on a scavenger hunt, I knew a proposal was coming, but it was still wonderful to have it at the Ritz from a beautiful suite overlooking City Hall.
When the staff heard my fiance was proposing, they upgraded the room and provided us with champagne and free breakfast at the excellent restaurant.
Couldn't ask for more.
For visitors to Philly, this is a great location near the arts and not too far from shopping, Rittenhouse or even Old City.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Welcoming was great, check in very friendly and efficient, rooms little dated - specially the carpet needed deep clean. Otherwise room was clean and quiet. We loved the lobby bar - setting is amazing. Everybody was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Address: 10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#26 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#30 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#39 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk in the footsteps of America’s forefathers and become a part of history. Stay in one of America’s most venerable cities at one of the finest hotels in downtown Philadelphia and absorb the character of landmark buildings as you spend your day exploring Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other cultural treasures. Making its mark in a spectacular historic building, the luxury Philadelphia hotel’s location offers easy access to fine dining, upscale shopping, and Philadelphia’s business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Ritz Carlton
Ritz Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.