We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and phenomenal location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit Daily + More
Ranked #34 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
philadelphia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great hotel and phenomenal location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had the pleasure of spending a night at the Ritz Philly in late December 2012 and both the hotel and service was extraordinary. The lobby was beautifully decorated for the holidays and the bar in the lobby looked like a great place to grab a drink and laughs. I didn’t get a chance to hit the fitness facility but heard it was great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    176
    84
    56
    28
See reviews for
92
181
37
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Ritz-Carlton to celebrate New Year's Eve, and had an excellent experience. We were slightly apprehensive about the quality of the property, given that some of the reviews here note that the property's slightly "outdated." While it's true that it would have been nice to have an alarm clock/MP3 player instead of the archaic alarm clock/CD player we found, otherwise we found the room to be nicely appointed, spacious, and clean. The service, at every level, was impeccable, from the front desk's willingness to accommodate our request for a quiet room on a high floor, to the complementary Pellegrino water, bottled waters, and artisanal chocolate bars we found waiting for us on the desk, to the room service staff's friendly and prompt service. The only other element of the room I found to be lacking were the amenities in the bathroom--having previously stayed at the Ritz-Carlton in Battery Park, I was looking forward to Bulgari shampoos and soaps and so was a bit let down to find standard, no-name products in the bathroom (admittedly, this is a minor quibble!). We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again next time we're in the city!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our Chestnut-facing corner room on the 23rd floor very much--finally, a quiet room in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed before Christmas with my wife and 2 young kids. We were just in town for a day to visit the city and everything going on for Christmas. The hotel was decorated very nice and everyone was in great spirit. They help unload the car and carry everything to the room for us very professionally. We were greated with small toys for the children. The lobby/bar was beautiful and everyone seemed to be having a great time. Room service was fast and excellent. The location was great as we were able to walk a block to Macy's to see the lights and then another block to the Christmas village at love park. The kids were spent so we weren't able to walk the couple blocks to Comcast building but was really close as well. Overall great stay, kids loved it and would def recommend this hotel for a family looking to visit the city, especially for Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The staff here made our engagement super special. After a day spent on a scavenger hunt, I knew a proposal was coming, but it was still wonderful to have it at the Ritz from a beautiful suite overlooking City Hall.
When the staff heard my fiance was proposing, they upgraded the room and provided us with champagne and free breakfast at the excellent restaurant.
Couldn't ask for more.
For visitors to Philly, this is a great location near the arts and not too far from shopping, Rittenhouse or even Old City.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Welcoming was great, check in very friendly and efficient, rooms little dated - specially the carpet needed deep clean. Otherwise room was clean and quiet. We loved the lobby bar - setting is amazing. Everybody was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We spent one night in PHL visiting friends and the Ritz had a deal that was too good to ignore. I like to feel as though I am "away" even if I'm only a short trip from home and for a one night stay. The Ritz accomplished this and more.

The location is fantastic, the view of the gorgeous City Hall is amazing, every staff member was friendly and went above and beyond, champagne on arrival, chocolates and Pellegrino for turn- down, a comfortable bed, bottled water for the road, and a delicious breakfast (that we are still talking about a week later).

As people have noted, the rooms are small. The bathroom was in need of repair (light fixture didn't fit, missing towel hook, pipes under the sink weren't "finished")

I love PHL and will plan to stay at the Ritz again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed here one night on my way to NYC and it was a pleasant surprise. Pulling up curbside I was greeted by chestnuts and cider on the 'portch' and upon entering the lobby on a Saturday night the place was quite busy. The lobby is a beautiful space whose primary function is that of their bar operation and for a hotel bar the place was packed. Lots of fancy attire perhaps grabbing a drink before heading to a show/ballet; but it didn't bother me. Front desk is small and intimate and a few steps away the elevators whisk up to the rooms. For a city hotel they're are large and comfy in traditional green, yellow and rust...not very luxurious and the furniture is due for replacement. A small fridge on the floor was the minibar, a bit weird; but as I was here for just a night, didn't matter. The bathroom was nice sized...both a tub and separate shower, all in Ritz marble. Room service provided an excellent burger and fries, big and juicy and the view of the City Hall and main boulevard was nicer than expected. All in all a great stay with nice helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Ritz Carlton
Ritz Philadelphia
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia
Ritz Carlton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Ritz-Carlton
Philadelphia Ritz
Address: 10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk in the footsteps of America’s forefathers and become a part of history. Stay in one of America’s most venerable cities at one of the finest hotels in downtown Philadelphia and absorb the character of landmark buildings as you spend your day exploring Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other cultural treasures. Making its mark in a spectacular historic building, the luxury Philadelphia hotel’s location offers easy access to fine dining, upscale shopping, and Philadelphia’s business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.