We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, Older Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% Weekday Savings
Ranked #36 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Top Contributor
448 reviews 448 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Very Nice, Older Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

The Ritz is an older hotel, but the rooms have been appropriately modernized, and the public areas are quite nice. Service is quite strong, and the location is a good one. The Ritz is near the top of my list for trips to Philadelphia.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    226
    122
    63
    34
See reviews for
124
243
46
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel has a lot of character in the lobby and the service team does a great job trying to make you feel welcome and comfortable. I stayed in room 605 and it was a nice room. It was a split room with the bedroom on one side, the bathroom in the middle and the sitting room on the other side. Overall there was lots of room. The bathroom has a huge picture window that opens up to other office buildings but there is a big electric shade that covers everything well. Look carefully for the switch to operate the shade, it is there. Other than a couple of inconveniences (the end on the Ethernet cable was broken and the iron steam function did not work at all) the say was very good. I was there for a large business meeting so we ate catered food from the kitchen on a regular basis and everything was very good. The staff that served the business meeting meals through catering were very very good.
I love the lobby and lobby bar of this place. Very classy.

Room Tip: Room 605 did not really have a great view. Try to get higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Despite other commentary to the contrary, I have always had wonderful experiences at the Ritz. The rooms vary in size with those facing city hall a bit narrow but absolutely worth it for the stunning view. Even our enormous bathtub looked out on the monument--their bath menu is such a treat, especially for kids. My son had the Benjamin Franklin with cookies and milk and enjoyed himself tremendously. I highly recommend the club level rooms. The food presentations in the private lounge are very creative and delicious. Service is fantastic. As an example, when the valet returned our car to us at departure, there were chilled water bottles in all of the cupholders and a box of amazing baked treats to sustain us on our journey home. Simply the best in Philly!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Lost my reservation, would not honor my rate, made me go on line in the lobby to rebook the room which took 30 min. Finally honored the rate.

10 arts restaurant is terrible. Lamb shank was boiled and rubbery, Mac and cheese was so salty it hurt. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed two nights in the Ritz during the Philadelphia Marathon. It is located in a beautiful historic building and the staff was welcoming. Upon arrival, we asked for a late check out so that my husband could have time to get back to the room and shower after running the Marathon. Unlike other places we have stayed for marathons, the Ritz was extremely accommodating and offered us a check out of 2:00 pm. We were given a room on the 17th floor with a beautiful view of City Hall and the center city. The room was clean and very comfortable but we thought it to be a bit small by today's standards and in need of an update. It could have also used two chairs in the room rather than one. As you enter the bathroom, it is first necessary to close that door before opening the door to the commode room. We wondered why one of those doors was not removed in order to avoid constantly slamming one door into another. If you are driving, it is not necessary to spend the extra money to park in their parking garage. We saved quite a bit by parking in a garage just around the corner.This is a hotel in the downtown area and so be prepared to hear the city noises of traffic and sirens all night. Overall, the location was perfect for the marathon and we loved being able to walk to everywhere we wanted to go. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

The Ritz is a beautifully historic hotel located in the heart of city center. It's walking distance to shopping, restaurants, historic Philadelphia locations and the convention center. A room facing city hall will give you an amazing close up to the top of the historic building.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We travel a lot and have stayed in hotels including the Peninsula and Four Seasons. This particular Ritz Carlton surpassed them all! We were in Philly for the Marathon this weekend and our stay at the Ritz was simply perfect!. The hotel is beautiful and in a central location - right next to the stunning City Hall building and a nice walk down to the Art Institute. The lobby, rooms, and staff were all superior. The hotel was incredibly welcoming to all the people in town for the run and gave us very nice and thoughtful "nutrition" bags with healthy treats. Nina from the Front Office was also terrific in resolving a very minor issue with a light bulb needing to be changed by following up and sending a nice card to our room. This hotel also, unlike our other experience with running events, bent over to accommodate a later check-out time.
Overall - super outstanding!! Cannot say enough great things about this hotel and the people that work there. Thank you to everyone - including maintenance and cleaning. We will be back!
M Scott

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Address: 10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#30 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk in the footsteps of America’s forefathers and become a part of history. Stay in one of America’s most venerable cities at one of the finest hotels in downtown Philadelphia and absorb the character of landmark buildings as you spend your day exploring Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other cultural treasures. Making its mark in a spectacular historic building, the luxury Philadelphia hotel’s location offers easy access to fine dining, upscale shopping, and Philadelphia’s business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Ritz Carlton
Ritz Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.