We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit Daily + More
Ranked #34 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

The Ritz is a beautifully historic hotel located in the heart of city center. It's walking distance to shopping, restaurants, historic Philadelphia locations and the convention center. A room facing city hall will give you an amazing close up to the top of the historic building.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    190
    97
    59
    30
See reviews for
103
197
40
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We travel a lot and have stayed in hotels including the Peninsula and Four Seasons. This particular Ritz Carlton surpassed them all! We were in Philly for the Marathon this weekend and our stay at the Ritz was simply perfect!. The hotel is beautiful and in a central location - right next to the stunning City Hall building and a nice walk down to the Art Institute. The lobby, rooms, and staff were all superior. The hotel was incredibly welcoming to all the people in town for the run and gave us very nice and thoughtful "nutrition" bags with healthy treats. Nina from the Front Office was also terrific in resolving a very minor issue with a light bulb needing to be changed by following up and sending a nice card to our room. This hotel also, unlike our other experience with running events, bent over to accommodate a later check-out time.
Overall - super outstanding!! Cannot say enough great things about this hotel and the people that work there. Thank you to everyone - including maintenance and cleaning. We will be back!
M Scott

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is in a magnificent building. It is majestic.
The rooms were spacious and spotless. The views were incredible.
It does have a club lounge, but even if you are Platinum, the club lounge is an extra $150/day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Jersey
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

It's consistently a good experience. Rooms are large, comfortable and clean. Front desk staff very friendly and accomodating. And you can't beat the location. Come for New Years Eve and watch the Mummer's parade the next day!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

So, apparently this is what a Ritz is these days. I haven't stayed in one for a while, but was attending a conference based in one so gave it a try. It only served to reinforce my stereotypes. I continue to prefer Four Seasons, Hyatts and boutiques. This is a hotel for people who like frumpiness and appreciate the overly-dramatic, intensive type of service.

For the price (and given the hotel name) the room is shockingly simple. There is a surprisingly small flatscreen TV. I had to move furniture to plug in my phone near the bed. Actually, good luck finding any power outlet that's not on the desk. The clock radio takes CDs (!) (there is no cord to plug in an iDevice). To its credit, the bed is very comfortable.

Internet service was ok. It stopped working a couple times, but quickly came back. Speeds are what you'd expect (poor).

The bathrooms were nice, but they didn't provide any amenities outside the usual. Also, the products were generic in plastic tubes. I expected more (eg, bliss/kiehls at competitors).

It has the usual over-priced breakfast; however, the order was delivered incorrectly (which they promptly and apologetically remedied). The bill was also wrong - the hotel added valet parking when I didn't have a car. The $8 bottled ice tea for sale on the bedside is a nice touch (well, $10 when you add taxes/fees)...

The service is great - staff was very helpful with a few specific requests. However, personally (guessing this is generational), I can't stand the over the top style of service they use here. It's stuffy and formal, annoying and uncomfortable. I don't need to wait for you to walk around the counter and bring me somewhere. The handoff from employee to employee. The way they take the door out of your hand to close it for you when leaving a guest room, etc.

Honestly, I don't get why people stay here. It is a poor value. The exterior is amazing, lobbies are nice and staff is friendly. However, the rooms are aged and simply functional and way out of sync with the pricing. With a solid renovation this could be a 4-5 star hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was lucky enough to stay here for 2 nights in October 2012 while in town for a Barbra Streisand concert. There isn't a great choice of 5 Star hotels to choose from in Philly. The Four Seasons and the Ritz Carlton were the two top hotels that stood out to me, and the R.C. offered me the best deal, not to mention they have a Club Level, which the F.S does not. All of the staff who I came across at the hotel (Especially Jenna Meyer) were wonderful to deal with. All very friendly and accommodating. All of the staff who I passed in the hotel were friendly, and always said hello. My room was on the 24th floor (the club lounge is on the 30th floor incidentally). A fantastic king bed. Huge flat screen TV. Nice minibar with lots of drinks and snacks, and a WONDERFUL bathroom with walk-in shower, and separate bathtub. I ordered room service the night I arrived. It arrived within 20 mins... and was delicious. I presume the room service came from the trendy restaurant located inside the hotel. I visited the Club Lounge the day after I arrived (See the pix I posted). The best club lounge I've experienced in a hotel. I went for lunch. Amazing wraps, desserts, drinks, snacks. Turndown service was great. 2 chocolates on the pillow, not just one! The Ritz Carlton will be my first choice whenever I return to Philly. Thanks for a great room.. great service.. great stuff.. and amazing club lounge!

Room Tip: Upgrade your room to a CLUB LEVEL room.... You will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Club level suite very nice. Good size room with excellent bathroom. Some noise from elevator an issue. Great view of William penn atop city hall. Clubbing w lovely paneled executive office of old. Great, attentive staff always ready to help. No champagne upon arrival, but ultra friendly welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Address: 10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk in the footsteps of America’s forefathers and become a part of history. Stay in one of America’s most venerable cities at one of the finest hotels in downtown Philadelphia and absorb the character of landmark buildings as you spend your day exploring Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other cultural treasures. Making its mark in a spectacular historic building, the luxury Philadelphia hotel’s location offers easy access to fine dining, upscale shopping, and Philadelphia’s business district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Ritz Carlton
Ritz Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.