We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Philly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Windsor Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Windsor Suites to your Saves list
The Windsor Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Hotel Windsor) (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed and Breakfast!
Ranked #23 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great location in Philly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed on a Philly overnight package that included 2 nights for $400 with parking.
It was a great deal.

Service: wonderful and attentive staff who greeted us each time we got off the elevator.
Rooms: very nice setup with kitchen, large walk in closets and a vanity. The only issue we had was that we went on a warm weekend and were located on the 15th floor. It was relatively warm in the room so we tried turning on the a/c; however, we were told by the front desk that they don't have a/c and we should open the windows. This bothered us a bit because we were traveling with a toddler and were placed on a high floor.
Business center: very small but equipped with 2 desktops.
There are so many hotels in Philly that we might return only if there was a discount package.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear JAYEYEDEE,
Thank you for staying with us recently. We are happy you found us to be a great deal, and recognized our staff for the attentive service you received.
Unfortunately, during your stay a glitch in our cooling system affected our ability to cool our rooms efficiently. We are happy to let you know that it has now been fixed. We do appreciate your patience, and offer our apologies for the inconvenience.
Thank you again for choosing The Windsor Suites. We hope you'll take advantage of one of our great package deals on our website for your next visit to Philadelphia.
Warm regards,
The Windsor Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    264
    81
    40
    31
See reviews for
162
177
50
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed for two nights with our family of four (two teens). The location was great - easy walking to lots of restaurants and local museums. The room seemed fairly large for a downtown hotel, and had two big closets. The kitchen was helpful to have - so we could eat breakfast in our room - although there is no place to sit to eat really in the room. We used the Visit Philly package to get a package with parking. The hotel is about three blocks from a subway station, so we didn't even use our car.
The staff at the Windsor Suites was very friendly and accommodating, and greeted us every time we came in. We used the fitness room and it was fairly well stocked with good space. We went up to the rooftop pool, which doesn't open until Memorial Day, but the view was great. The AC wasn't on yet, but we were able to open windows to cool the room, and it's nice to have the fresh air. However, there are no screens, so if you had little kids, you probably wouldn't want the windows open.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Beerquist,
Thank you for your great review. We love when our guests are able to enjoy all the amenities and features of our hotel. As you experienced, our kitchens are perfect for families to save money, and our location is convenient to most of the attractions, businesses and shopping. While our windows do offer the option to be opened for fresh air, we wanted to let you know that for safety reasons, there is a limit on how far they can be opened.
We are happy to let you know that we are currently preparing to reopen our rooftop swimming pool anytime now, and we hope you'll enjoy it on your next visit.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on a whim. We were given a room on the 9th floor with a tremendous view of the entire parkway. The location was great for going to all the museums and the restaurants in the area were fabulous. tHE rooms were spacious and clean and I appreciated having the full kitchen. It made the experience with young children much more convenient and pleasant. The staff were very helpful and accomodating. A great experience. I would choose this over the neighboring Embassy Suites.--this is a much quieter experience with elevators that run regularly. --and there is no need to fight crowds for a free breakfast. We threw some breakfast items in with our things and enjoyed a nice morning meal on the balcony.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a balcony. Not all rooms have them. Room 909 was great with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear elgreen68,
A happy guest is our best reward, and comments like yours definitely make our day! Thank you for sharing your experiences at The Windsor Suites with the Tripadvisor community. We are glad that you and your family had a great experience staying with us, and we invite you to come again soon. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Thank you for choosing us!
Kind regards,
The Windsor Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

During my stay at the Windsor Hotel,the staff was really kind and prompt to help whenever there was an issue. I had a small accident at the hotel and Jessica has been really sweet and helpful. Other than that, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the customer experience from the cleaning lady to the valet are great. I recommend this hotel to everyone, it is not a 5 star but the people there are amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear jerrycp,
Thank you for your kind comments about your recent experience here at The Windsor Suites. We are thrilled when the efforts of our staff are recognized by our guests, as it reinforces that we are working hard to offer the best service. We hope that you are recovering from your accident, and you will return to stay with us again.
Thank you for choosing us!
Best regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My girlfriend and I found a great deal through trip advisor to stay in one of the King suites with a balcony over looking the Ben Franklin Parkway. The views were terrific, we were in walking distance of everything she wanted to see, ie the Love Statue, Reading Terminal, and China Town, and the room had all the bells and whistles, we could have stayed there for weeks! My only know was that parking was an extra 29 bucks a day and although you could take it in and out, it would have been much easier to use public transportation.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Mykael L,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are happy that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your stay with us, and found us convenient for exploring the city. Please note that the parking rates offered by the garage are the most competitive amongst hotels in the area. In addition, we offer complimentary in/out and the opportunity to keep your car up until 6pm after your check out, at no added cost. For the best deal, however, you may wish to take advantage of one of our promotions on our website that include free parking. We hope you'll visit again soon.
Thank you for staying with us!
Warm regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very nice suite which could accommodate 5 adults very comfortablely (other hotel in area could not accommodate us, their loss) it was like a nice apartment. Price was reasonable. The staff was very helpful, pleasant, ,and friendly. In walking distance to the Catherdal where my son was getting married, as well as places to see, eat and drink. Being a Philadelphian would definately recommend The Windsor Suites to locals as well as tourist.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hi Patti L,
Thank you for your great review of your recent stay with us. We are happy you found us convenient to the Cathedral (which makes for such beautiful weddings), and that you enjoyed our staff. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope you'll visit again soon.
Warm regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My parents came to visit and my mother is handicapped. We told the front desk what time we would like put room cleaned but came back without it being serviced. So, mistakes happen, but when I called to ask for new linens (I would change the bed) it took them over an hour to bring anything after multiple calls to the (very rude) front desk. The lack of response was shocking especially for the prices you pay to stay here! No customer service found here. Find a different hotel!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Kristen R,
Thank you for staying with us recently, and for your review. We would like to apologize for any challenges you experienced, and assure you that this is not our normal standards, as evidenced by our recent Tripadvisor reviews. We have built a great track record of providing excellent guest service, and would like to maintain that. We have reached out to you separately for additional details of your experience which will help us implement the necessary corrective measures so this does not recur. We hope you will give us an opportunity to resolve this with you.
Again, please accept our apologies, and we look forward to hearing from you.
Regards,
The Windsor Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Windsor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Suites

Address: 1700 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Hotel Windsor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windsor Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Suites is an all suite downtown Philadelphia hotel, offering spacious studio and one bedroom suites. All suites feature fully equipped kitchens, and select units offer balconies overlooking the Benjamin Franklin Parkway. Our seasonal rooftop swimming pool allows you to swim high above the hustle and bustle of the city, and our rooftop deck provides a panoramic view of the Philadelphia skyline.Our location in the middle of the city makes getting around very easy, with iconic Philadelphia landmarks and attractions no more than a few minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Windsor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Execustay Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windsor Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.