We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not $400 a night nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Windsor Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Windsor Suites to your Saves list
The Windsor Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Hotel Windsor) (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 10%!
Ranked #22 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice but not $400 a night nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Very friendly staff. Great location.room sizes awesome. Closet was bigger than some hotel rooms. Dirty towel on the back of the door. Irish pub attached was lousy. Breakfast voucher not a great deal Have to get menu items under 12 bucks and the most expensive was 14 bucks. For $400 bucks a night plus 30 for parking you'd think the 2 bucks wouldn't matter. Foods not that good any way. I'd look around for a better deal next time.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Davica,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. Please accept our apologies that your stay did not go as planned. We do take all comments seriously, and have passed them on to the management of the restaurant as well as our Housekeeping Manager so that this does not recur.
Please note that we are always offering special deals and promotions on our website which are always attractive to deal seakers like yourself, especially on nights when there is high demand in the city.
Thank you again for choosing us. We hope you will give us another opportunity to show you that we know how to get it right.
Warm regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    287
    84
    42
    33
See reviews for
174
193
60
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights during Thanksgiving Weekend. The hotel is located near the Art Museum, Rodin Museum, Franklin Institute and is within walking distance to City Hall, Reading Terminal Market, and some good restaurants. The staff was extremely friendly--this goes for all of the hotel staff and even the parking garage attendants in the attached parking deck. We had a one bedroom suite; the room was very large and had a full kitchen. This hotel would be excellent for multi-night stays. If we were staying in this part of Philly again, we'd stay here. The only down side for some is that this building also serves as an apartment building with the apartments on the upper floors; this didn't provide any problems for us, but you should be aware of that.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Andy5573,
We are always pleased when our guests leave us happy, and it seems that you are one of those guests. Thank you for sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community, and highlighting how suitable we are for multi-night stays. Our spacious studio and one bedroom suites offer great living and work spaces as well as our fully equipped kitchens, and these make for comfortable extended stay options.
Thank you also for recognizing our staff for their service. It's always exciting to share great comments like this with them. We hope you'll return to stay with us again soon. Thank you for choosing us!
Kind regards,
The Windsor Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

spent a lot of time looking for phil hotel found the windsor suites since they had a package deal of breakfast and parking garage located on location, checked in a few hours early and staff was very helpful in getting us checked in quickly. the room was spacious like a studio apartment, location excellent, street noise minimal for a friday night, would recommend highly and may return next year

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Russell d,
We are happy our Eat.Sleep.Park package was exactly what you were looking for on your recent trip, and that we were able to accommodate you with an early check-in. Thank you for selecting The Windsor Suites, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.
Regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I was a speaker at a conference in Philadelphia and was put up in the Windsor Suites. My room wasn't ready when I got there, and the staff was quite helpful getting me situated while I waited, sending a fax for me, etc. There was a Subway sandwich shop right across the street, so I could eat on the cheap, and the room had free wireless. Also free bottled water. I never drink bottled water, but it's a pet peeve to be charged for wireless and water at an expensive hotel.

Couldn't figure out the Kuerig coffeemaker, so they sent someone up at 6:00 in the morning to do it for me!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Kathleen K,
Thank you for choosing The Windsor Suites for your recent business trip to Philadelphia. We are pleased your stay went well, and appreciate you sharing your kind comments. We hope we remain your first choice for future trips to Philadelphia!
Warm regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed 4 nights over Thanksgiving. Staff all friendly and accommodating. Room was spacious and clean, with a full kitchen. Lots of closet space. Bathroom well lit, with tub/shower combo.No problems at all. Very good location to explore anything you'd want to see in the city. Minimal street noise. 2 restaurants in the lobby, on an Irish pub and the other Asian food; we had a good casual meal at the latter

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Meestar,
Thank you for spending your Thanksgiving holidays here with us. We are happy your stay went well, and hope you'll visit us again soon.
Warm regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erial, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have stayed at the Windsor a number of times over the last 4 years. I recommend it for anyone looking to see the city. Perfect location and the friendly, courteous staff make sure you are taken care of while enjoying the accommodations as well as the city.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Travelfromnj,
We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay here at The Windsor Suites. We are certainly thrilled to see your recommendation of us to anyone planning to see the city, and we hope you'll give us an opportunity to serve you again soon.
Thank you!
Best regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My family has been coming to the parade forever but only recently started staying the night before. Choosing Windsor Suites was the best decision we could have made . The renovations are just amazing!! everything is above exceptional in these rooms! The staff was so helpful and helped us with a dinner reservation for 30 people (not an easy feat!) downstairs at Con Murphys. We woke up right on the parade route and the younger ones were able to enjoy from our beautiful balcony when it got too cold. There will never be another choice for us when it comes to staying in Philadelphia. Thank you so much to the entire staff for everything!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a balcony!! the view is exceptional!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear we5go,
Thank you for allowing us to be a part of your Thanksgiving Day traditions. We are happy you chose us, and found us to be perfect for watching the parade. As our balconies overlook the parade route on the Ben Franklin Parkway, those suites are always quickly sold out, so we encourage our guests to confirm their reservations as early as possible.
Thank you also for recognizing our staff who made your stay exceptional. We hope you'll return to stay with us soon.
Warmest regards!
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Windsor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Suites

Address: 1700 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Hotel Windsor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#23 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windsor Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Suites is an all suite hotel in Downtown Philadelphia. We offer spacious studio and one bedroom suites. All suites feature fully equipped kitchens, and select units offer balconies overlooking the Benjamin Franklin Parkway. Our seasonal rooftop swimming pool allows you to swim high above the hustle and bustle of the city, and our rooftop deck provides a panoramic view of the Philadelphia skyline. Our location in the middle of the city makes getting around very easy, with iconic Philadelphia landmarks and attractions no more than a few minutes walk. Make your reservation today by calling us directly and we will be more than happy to assist. At the Windsor Suites, we strive to personalize each and every guests' experience! We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Windsor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Execustay Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windsor Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.