We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy and staff doesn't care!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Windsor Suites

Save Saved
You added The Windsor Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Windsor Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Hotel Windsor) (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free parking!
Ranked #24 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Filthy and staff doesn't care!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights (unfortunately). Upon arrival, I was told that I was upgraded from a studio to a 1 bedroom. I was excited, but that soon passed. As I got to my hotel room door I heard a lot of laughter inside of the room. At first I thought that there was a mistake with the front desk, but then I knocked and two cleaning ladies and a manager walked out. They explained that they had just been "looking over" the room. Well, if that is quality control, send those women back to training school!

There was hair all over the bathroom floor, and the sheets had not been changed from the guests before me. There was no mattress pad cover (really?!) just a paper thin sheet separating me from the countless other guests before me. Yuck!

I tried reporting the problem to the front desk, but that was only mildly helpful and they were angry about it. Things got better when I asked them to help me with the temp in my rom. There is a nice (new!) temperature control in the room. But hey, the joke's on you! You can't control the room temp because there is a single heating/cooling pipe in the hotel and they turned off both for the spring season. The temp in the hallway was nice - so the management suggested either opening the window or the door. Really? What a joke.

Do yourself a favor and don't stay here. And certainly wash everything you own if you do stay. I was itching for days after staying there! Yuck, yuck, yuck! Never again. Never.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Kristina,

Thank you for submitting your feedback about your recent stay with us. Unfortunately the air conditioning system was down for a short time earlier this week as it was undergoing required maintenance. We are happy to report that the problem has been fixed and that the rooms are now cool and comfortable on this warm Spring day.

However, your feedback in regards to our Housekeeping team and the status of your suite do concern us. I sincerely apologize for the cleanliness of your room as it did not meet your expectations or ours. We will be sure to immediately address these issues with our staff to ensure that this does not happen in the future.

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for choosing The Windsor Suites as your home away from home in Philadelphia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    236
    76
    38
    29
See reviews for
142
143
42
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We'd stayed here in 2010, and this was our first choice when we decided to come back to Philly. The location suits us being able to walk everywhere comfortably to the historic district - and transport for a baseball game. The rooms are clean, spacious with very comfortable beds - we slept very well each of the 3 nights. The kitchen and facilities were great, as was the business center to print off tickets. The staff service was excellent - very friendly, understanding and attentive. All round the decision to come back after 3 years was well worth it - the experience met our expectations/memories. The only difference we remember was the rooms were larger around the front facade (rather than the rear), but that didn't disappoint our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front facade for a little more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I was treated to an upgrade suite.... Separate bedroom... With a very comfortable living room and well-stocked kitchenette in terms of necessary dishes, appliances, etcetera.

While the attached "pub" restaurant was very disappointing in terms of food quality, this is a property I'd definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Front Office Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear WanderersfromWellesly,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your accomodations, and are gald that we were able to provide you with an upgrade to one of our spacious suites. We are just finishing a compete renovation of all of our rooms and will soon begin on all of our public spaces in the hotel. It is an exciting time here at The Windsor and we look forward to wecoming you back in the future. Im sorry to hear you were not satisfied with our partners in the restaurant at Con Murphys. They are currently also undergoing some changes, having just brought in a new head chef and also working on the front of house service. I am confident that they have all the ingredients to take the Pub and Restaurant to the next level and am sure that if you should return to Philadelphia they will not disappoint.

Sincerely,

The Windsor Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed at the Windsor Suites end of March. Very convenient location, right on Ben Franklin Parkway. Check in was very good. This is more a residence than a hotel. Rooms were basic - looks like the floors were on the dirty side; picked up dirt on socks. Room was very warm. A/C must have been off. Was able to crack open window but that helped just a bit and then started getting food smells from nearby restaurants. Very quiet. Not too expensive but you have to pay room taxes and occupancy taxes and parking. Convenient to restaurants, Museum of Art, Rodin, etc. We walked from Amtrak; about 1.4 miles. Reception looked right at the elevators; got the impression they watched carefully as people come and go which may be a good thing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Front Office Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear JoeMary01,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Philadelphia. We are glad that you enjoyed the location and were able to enjoy some of the great attractions Philadelphia has to offer. I am sorry that the room was not cleaned properly upon your arrival. We take great pride in providing our guests with a positive experience, and regret that in this case we fell short. Your feedback has been adressed by our management team and a complete review of our inspection procedures is underway to insure that this short fall does not occur again in the future. You may have noticed during your stay that we are currently undergoing a complete renovation of our property. We are finishing the interior of the rooms now, and are about to start a complete renovation of all of our public spaces. We are very excited with the changes and are pleased to see that the property is being updated with new features and fixtures that will help to improve our guests' overall experience. We hope that you will try us again in the future and are confident that you will enjoy the changes that are in store.

Sincerely,

The Windsor Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The Windsor was a great value for our two night stay. We were in town celebrating my son's 16th birthday. He and his friend stayed in the living room on pullout sofa, and the adults enjoyed the privacy of the bedroom. Kitchen area allowed us to use our snacks and items from cooler during our stay. The balcony overlooked JFK and the Capitol building. Cleanliness and service were average. We did not receive housekeeping at all, and the kitchen caninets, light switches, and bathroom mirror were dirty. Trash on balcony in can and baby shoe in pull out couch. I would stay again due to price, location, and suite size.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Front Office Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Anjay2,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you were able to enjoy your sons 16th birthday celebration here at The Windsor! One of our prime attractions of the hotel is our oversized suites and we are happy to hear that you were able to accomodate all of your guests comfortably. I am sorry to hear that the cleanliness of your room was not as memorable. We are undergoing a complete renovation of all of our rooms and with the changes to the rooms layout and features we have had to relook at our inspection procedures. It is not acceptable to us that all of our rooms are not properly clean and inspected prior to our guests occupying them. We are taking stringent steps to put in place a thorough inspection process to insure that these areas are not missed in the future. We are confident that we have addressed the root causes in these lapses and that moving forward the maintainance of these rooms will be as impressive as the rooms themselves. We hope that you will stay with us again and that we can show you what the Windsor Suites really has to offer.
Happy belated birthday to your son from all of us at the Windsor.

Sincerely,

The Windsor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Several stays under my belt. Excellent service, great price, excellent suites. It's an older building but they keep it luxuriously modern with a traditional decor, it is more like a temporary residence than a modern hotel, very comfortable, great location,the staff is awesome.

Room Tip: As for breakfast, cook your own or go to Con Murphy's downstairs. Better breakfast than any chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Front Office Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Streamkat,

We are delighted that you have chosen to stay with us on multiple occasions now. It is nice to know that the efforts we are placing on taking care of our guests are not without merit. We take great pride in not being just another hotel in Philadelphia, but rather a home away from home, somewhere where you can feel welcome and comfortable whilst being conveniently located to everything the city has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Thank you for your feedback and please do not hesitate to let us know anywhere we might improve, with out guests like you we would not be able to do what we do, so thank you from all of us here at The Windsor!

Sincerely,

The Windsor Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for 1 night for a girls night/bachelorette and the double bed suite was Perfect!!! Huge living room with desk and a beautiful kitchenette which was so nice for when we made our appetizers!
The beds were so comfy and the bedroom was nice and spacious as well! If you're staying for more than one night, pack all you want! There were 3 huge closets!!!


The only "downfalls" were
1) the windows on the inside of our room were dirty
2) the shower drain was slow, was like taking a shower and bath at the same time
3) we asked for a couple extra blankets and the staff was very friendly and prompt in getting us 2 blankets....but when I received them they were just balled together, 1 was actually a comforter which was nice but I was honestly expecting the blankets to be folded when presented, not all wrapped up in a ball. Was kind of surprised about that.

Over all we all had a fabulous time! Great room, atmosphere, VERY convenient location, and friendly staff.
I have already recommended this hotel property, and I would definitely return in the future!!!

Thank you for everything!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Windsor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Suites

Address: 1700 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Hotel Windsor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windsor Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Suites is an all suite downtown Philadelphia hotel, offering spacious studio and one bedroom suites. All suites feature fully equipped kitchens, and select units offer balconies overlooking the Benjamin Franklin Parkway. Our seasonal rooftop swimming pool allows you to swim high above the hustle and bustle of the city, and our rooftop deck provides a panoramic view of the Philadelphia skyline.Our location in the middle of the city makes getting around very easy, with iconic Philadelphia landmarks and attractions no more than a few minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Windsor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Execustay Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windsor Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.