We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean, comfortable and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Windsor Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Windsor Suites to your Saves list
The Windsor Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Hotel Windsor) (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed and Breakfast!
Ranked #23 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good location, clean, comfortable and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We'd stayed here in 2010, and this was our first choice when we decided to come back to Philly. The location suits us being able to walk everywhere comfortably to the historic district - and transport for a baseball game. The rooms are clean, spacious with very comfortable beds - we slept very well each of the 3 nights. The kitchen and facilities were great, as was the business center to print off tickets. The staff service was excellent - very friendly, understanding and attentive. All round the decision to come back after 3 years was well worth it - the experience met our expectations/memories. The only difference we remember was the rooms were larger around the front facade (rather than the rear), but that didn't disappoint our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front facade for a little more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    264
    81
    40
    31
See reviews for
162
176
50
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I was treated to an upgrade suite.... Separate bedroom... With a very comfortable living room and well-stocked kitchenette in terms of necessary dishes, appliances, etcetera.

While the attached "pub" restaurant was very disappointing in terms of food quality, this is a property I'd definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Front Office Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear WanderersfromWellesly,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your accomodations, and are gald that we were able to provide you with an upgrade to one of our spacious suites. We are just finishing a compete renovation of all of our rooms and will soon begin on all of our public spaces in the hotel. It is an exciting time here at The Windsor and we look forward to wecoming you back in the future. Im sorry to hear you were not satisfied with our partners in the restaurant at Con Murphys. They are currently also undergoing some changes, having just brought in a new head chef and also working on the front of house service. I am confident that they have all the ingredients to take the Pub and Restaurant to the next level and am sure that if you should return to Philadelphia they will not disappoint.

Sincerely,

The Windsor Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed at the Windsor Suites end of March. Very convenient location, right on Ben Franklin Parkway. Check in was very good. This is more a residence than a hotel. Rooms were basic - looks like the floors were on the dirty side; picked up dirt on socks. Room was very warm. A/C must have been off. Was able to crack open window but that helped just a bit and then started getting food smells from nearby restaurants. Very quiet. Not too expensive but you have to pay room taxes and occupancy taxes and parking. Convenient to restaurants, Museum of Art, Rodin, etc. We walked from Amtrak; about 1.4 miles. Reception looked right at the elevators; got the impression they watched carefully as people come and go which may be a good thing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Front Office Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear JoeMary01,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Philadelphia. We are glad that you enjoyed the location and were able to enjoy some of the great attractions Philadelphia has to offer. I am sorry that the room was not cleaned properly upon your arrival. We take great pride in providing our guests with a positive experience, and regret that in this case we fell short. Your feedback has been adressed by our management team and a complete review of our inspection procedures is underway to insure that this short fall does not occur again in the future. You may have noticed during your stay that we are currently undergoing a complete renovation of our property. We are finishing the interior of the rooms now, and are about to start a complete renovation of all of our public spaces. We are very excited with the changes and are pleased to see that the property is being updated with new features and fixtures that will help to improve our guests' overall experience. We hope that you will try us again in the future and are confident that you will enjoy the changes that are in store.

Sincerely,

The Windsor Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The Windsor was a great value for our two night stay. We were in town celebrating my son's 16th birthday. He and his friend stayed in the living room on pullout sofa, and the adults enjoyed the privacy of the bedroom. Kitchen area allowed us to use our snacks and items from cooler during our stay. The balcony overlooked JFK and the Capitol building. Cleanliness and service were average. We did not receive housekeeping at all, and the kitchen caninets, light switches, and bathroom mirror were dirty. Trash on balcony in can and baby shoe in pull out couch. I would stay again due to price, location, and suite size.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Front Office Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Anjay2,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you were able to enjoy your sons 16th birthday celebration here at The Windsor! One of our prime attractions of the hotel is our oversized suites and we are happy to hear that you were able to accomodate all of your guests comfortably. I am sorry to hear that the cleanliness of your room was not as memorable. We are undergoing a complete renovation of all of our rooms and with the changes to the rooms layout and features we have had to relook at our inspection procedures. It is not acceptable to us that all of our rooms are not properly clean and inspected prior to our guests occupying them. We are taking stringent steps to put in place a thorough inspection process to insure that these areas are not missed in the future. We are confident that we have addressed the root causes in these lapses and that moving forward the maintainance of these rooms will be as impressive as the rooms themselves. We hope that you will stay with us again and that we can show you what the Windsor Suites really has to offer.
Happy belated birthday to your son from all of us at the Windsor.

Sincerely,

The Windsor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Several stays under my belt. Excellent service, great price, excellent suites. It's an older building but they keep it luxuriously modern with a traditional decor, it is more like a temporary residence than a modern hotel, very comfortable, great location,the staff is awesome.

Room Tip: As for breakfast, cook your own or go to Con Murphy's downstairs. Better breakfast than any chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Front Office Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Streamkat,

We are delighted that you have chosen to stay with us on multiple occasions now. It is nice to know that the efforts we are placing on taking care of our guests are not without merit. We take great pride in not being just another hotel in Philadelphia, but rather a home away from home, somewhere where you can feel welcome and comfortable whilst being conveniently located to everything the city has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Thank you for your feedback and please do not hesitate to let us know anywhere we might improve, with out guests like you we would not be able to do what we do, so thank you from all of us here at The Windsor!

Sincerely,

The Windsor Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed for 1 night for a girls night/bachelorette and the double bed suite was Perfect!!! Huge living room with desk and a beautiful kitchenette which was so nice for when we made our appetizers!
The beds were so comfy and the bedroom was nice and spacious as well! If you're staying for more than one night, pack all you want! There were 3 huge closets!!!


The only "downfalls" were
1) the windows on the inside of our room were dirty
2) the shower drain was slow, was like taking a shower and bath at the same time
3) we asked for a couple extra blankets and the staff was very friendly and prompt in getting us 2 blankets....but when I received them they were just balled together, 1 was actually a comforter which was nice but I was honestly expecting the blankets to be folded when presented, not all wrapped up in a ball. Was kind of surprised about that.

Over all we all had a fabulous time! Great room, atmosphere, VERY convenient location, and friendly staff.
I have already recommended this hotel property, and I would definitely return in the future!!!

Thank you for everything!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Two stars during spring/fall, probably four stars during the rest of the year.

Very clean, and the kitchen was nice, so that front was ok. The service staff was friendly and helpful.

However, if you are traveling during seasonal changes, be advised the heating and air system is either hot or cold throughout the building. I'm here in April, and the heat was on when I arrived which drove the temps up to be 79 degrees in the room. You can crack the windows which helps some, but my last two nights here have been miserable with warm temps and no air movement in the room (even with the windows open). You will be walking around a lot, so you come in with your core temperature a little elevated and it doesn't dissipate very quickly when your room is 78 degrees

Wifi is slow and spotty, and you can get 4G if you are standing by the windows but not generally in the room. My phone seemed to drain battery more quickly than usual too.

So, I would stay here in definitive summer or winter, but never in fall or spring unless I called ahead to see when their big AC cut over dates were. Or if you want to imagine what it was like when our founding fathers scribed the declaration of independence/constitution. But they weren't paying the nightly rate we are.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Front Office Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Robert H,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Philadelphia. I am sorry to hear about your negative experience with regard to the A/C system at the hotel. We understand the frustration you experienced and apologize for not satisfying all of your needs. We are actively exploring different options to help us improve our current system and to better inform our guests on how to optimize the thermostats to avoid unwanted peaks in the room temperature. We are confident that as we move forward the procedures implented to manage our heating and cooling system will help to avert any unpleasant changes in temperature due to the changing seasons. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to hopefully having an opportunity to have you as our guest again in the future.

Sincerely,

The Windsor Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Windsor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Suites

Address: 1700 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Hotel Windsor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windsor Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Suites is an all suite downtown Philadelphia hotel, offering spacious studio and one bedroom suites. All suites feature fully equipped kitchens, and select units offer balconies overlooking the Benjamin Franklin Parkway. Our seasonal rooftop swimming pool allows you to swim high above the hustle and bustle of the city, and our rooftop deck provides a panoramic view of the Philadelphia skyline.Our location in the middle of the city makes getting around very easy, with iconic Philadelphia landmarks and attractions no more than a few minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Windsor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Execustay Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windsor Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.