We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Visit? Disappointing. Still Worth a Look, Though.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Windsor Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Windsor Suites to your Saves list
The Windsor Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Hotel Windsor) (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed and Breakfast!
Ranked #23 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“This Visit? Disappointing. Still Worth a Look, Though.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I've stayed at the Windsor a bunch of times while in Philadelphia and I REALLY like it.

There are really large rooms with full kitchens, which makes it perfect for families traveling on a budget. I regularly run up to the markets in the ComCast Center or to the Whole Foods that is about 6 blocks away to stock up on food that I then eat back in the room, saving us from having to eat out all the time.

It's also just a few short blocks away from neat sites like the Reading Terminal Market and the old Capital building -- making it a good spot for tourists, too.

This visit was disappointing to me, though.

The bathtub in my room wasn't draining well -- like 65 minutes or more just to get one tub's worth of water to drain -- and we found a cockroach in the bathroom.

Also, the front desk staff that is on duty at night don't have the ability to negotiate reduced rates when those kinds of things happen and the hotel is sold out. That meant I was forced to wait around in the morning of our departure until the manager showed up so I could talk to him about an adjustment because of the inconvenience.

When I finally got to talk to a manager, he was understanding and apologetic and he provided me with a discount for both nights of my stay that I thought was fair.

But I missed a part of my morning meeting simply because there was no one on site that could make the adjustment until he got there.

So the polish has been rubbed off the Windsor a bit for me. I love the location. I love the size of the room. I thought the rate was fair. The full kitchen saves me money. There's free wifi.

But there were problems this time -- and while the solutions were easy, no one was there to help when I needed it.

Room Tip: They are renovating their rooms from the ground up -- so ask for a room on a lower floor and you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Wferriter,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We do appreciate your loyalty and sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. They have been addressed with the departments involved. We are also reviewing with our staff our procedures for achieving guest satisfaction, and we are confident that the problem you encountered will not recur.
We look forward to your next visit, so that we can remind you of the reasons you have been our repeat guest. Thank you again for choosing The Windsor Suites.
Best regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    267
    81
    40
    32
See reviews for
163
178
52
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Traveled to Philly over the holidays with my family, including my 4 year old son. The hotel staff is incredible: friendly, super-helpful and very organized. We were able to drop off our luggage early and park the car with no hassles, so we could enjoy a day of wandering around. Speaking of that...the hotel is in a prime location! Just a few blocks away from City Hall, the Reading Terminal Market, and a nice, comfortable walk to the Old City and/or the PMA. The hotel was clean and comfortable, priced VERY nicely, and the restaurant downstairs worked well for us after a couple of tiring days. The kitchen served us well also, saving a bit of $$ and time.

The valet parking is a bit pricey but in retrospect and knowing how difficult it is to park in this city, It was well worth it. I'd stay here again - in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Gerald r,
We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and for posting your comments. As you experienced, our location is convenient to all the popular sites and our amenities perfect for your stay with your family. We look forward to your next visit.
Thank you, and best regards.
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Downtown hotels in cities can be very pricey and this one was not. we stayed there because our daughter was performing at the Philadelphia Art Museum and she was also staying in this hotel. But we found it to be the perfect place for the weekend. The kitchen was the best part as we were able to have our morning coffee and breakfast in the room. The nearby Whole Foods supplied the ingredients for breakfast, and that was helpful. Bed was comfortable, towels were thick and absorbent, iron and ironing board available, and it was two blocks from the train we took from the airport. Easy entry to the city--soo accessible. The only problem was the thin walls (so we heard the TV next door late at night) and the noise of construction in the building on the day we departed, but otherwise, we were pleased. The bar on the first floor served good wines for about $4 a glass. Not luxurious, but a hotel where you were comfortable walling around on the carpet barefoot--not often found in a hotel at this price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Super-intrepid,
Thank you for your thorough review of your stay here at The Windsor Suites. We are happy when our guests leave happy, and it seems that you were pleased with your accommodations. We are often told that our fully equipped kitchens are a money saver for guests who do not mind preparing their own breakfast, especially since we have so many stores like Whole Foods nearby for the ingredients. We are glad you found this to be true.
We thank you for choosing us, and we hope you will consider us again on your next visit to Philadelphia.
Best regards!
The Windsor Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

After we exited the Suburban Station (corner of JFK and 17th Street) of SEPTA from the airport we walked down 17th street. After two blocks we came upon Windsor Suites at the corner of Ben Franklin Parkway and 17th st. Very convenient!!
Check in was fast, friendly and helpful.
Our room on the 8th floor facing the Parkway was large with two double beds, two closets--one a large walk in) a galley kitchen with a stove, sink and microwave and many cooking and eating utensils. The redecoration was done with very good taste as evidenced by the choice of wall paper design and color. The old style wooden furniture showed their age with many scuff marks and dings but to me at least those added to the charm of the room. The bathroom was a winner too as the tiles are in very good taste as well as the porcelain and chrome fixtures. Well done. The towels were large, thick and very absorbent. At first I thought they were the legendary Turkish towels but they were made in Pakistan. Well done!!
On Monday morning we heard the sounds of hammer drills and jackhammers start at around 9:00 am. They sounded as if they were right in our room. Turns out they were two doors down where the whole room and its furniture were being replaced. Good thing we checked out soon after.
Bottom line: this is not a fancy, schmansy venue but will meet your needs if you need to be in the central part of the city. There is a cafe/bar serving Thai fusion dishes and another bar/bistro right across in the entrance vestibule. So no need to even step outside for sustenance.
And the location cannot be beat at this price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up-it may be away from the redecoration noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Tatliturk,
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for sharing your comments. Our location and it's convenience seemed to have worked well for you. I wanted to take the opportunity to let you know that we are in the process of replacing our furniture for newer, more modern pieces that I am confident you will enjoy on your next visit.
Thank you again for choosing The Windsor Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great room, great location, great service, great Irish Pub downstairs. Also really good gym. Would recommend. Laundry for guests very useful. Didn't use (or see) the spa or breakfast so unable to comment there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear GLD646,
Thank you for choosing The Windsor Suites. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope you'll return again soon.
Best regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penna
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The room we stayed in was small, but remodeled nicely. The building felt safe and was in a great section of the city. My only complaint was the valet parking. There were serious issues in communication between the parking garage valets and front desk; and they were not friendly valets. Aside from their rudeness, our stay was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room to avoid a view of the garbage covered roof; the back of the building balconie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Jen,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We’ve shared your comments with our team so we can continue to work on providing exceptional service. Please accept our apologies that all did not go as planned on your visit. We hope you will consider us again.
Thank you, and best regards,
The Windsor Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I will never return back to this hotel!!!!! Granted, the accommodations were fair, at best. However, the service was dismal. Imagine being woken up prior to check-out, by a hostess who chooses to bang on your door, rather than knock like a normal human being. How about being charged for parking three times for one vehicle, and then once you happen to speak to a "manager", you are told to that you are still liable, even though there is video footage that proves otherwise. This place is the epitome of unprofessionalism, deplorable service, and unwarranted haughtiness. I am still seething mad as I am writing this review. Please, take my advice; NEVER STAY HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Madi3101,
Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences that occurred with your parking. When there are three vehicles attached to one guest room, it can be a bit confusing, and in this case it took a bit more time than usual for our staff to ascertain ownership from the room mates, and to assign billing. Again, please accept our apologies. Thank you for your review, and for staying with us.
Best regards,
Tha Windsor Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Windsor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Suites

Address: 1700 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Hotel Windsor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windsor Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Suites is an all suite downtown Philadelphia hotel, offering spacious studio and one bedroom suites. All suites feature fully equipped kitchens, and select units offer balconies overlooking the Benjamin Franklin Parkway. Our seasonal rooftop swimming pool allows you to swim high above the hustle and bustle of the city, and our rooftop deck provides a panoramic view of the Philadelphia skyline.Our location in the middle of the city makes getting around very easy, with iconic Philadelphia landmarks and attractions no more than a few minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Windsor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Execustay Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Windsor Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.