We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexander Inn
Save
You added Alexander Inn to your Saves list
301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed at The Alexander Inn for five nights from 14 May- 20 May. Great location as has been said in the other reviews also very friendly staff. We had a room on the top floor at the end of the corridor (room 708) it was quite a large room and very quiet. The room was clean and well maintained plus the bed was very comfortable. The complimentary continental breakfast gives you a good start to the day of sightseeing in this beautiful city. Well done all at the Alexander Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    317
    64
    23
    23
See reviews for
158
427
124
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

A good location with a short walk to the trolley system and excellent service. The accommodations were clean and the front desk assistance was most welcome. The breakfast offering was sufficient to last the a.m. of touring with fruit and snacks available most times throughout the day. Most importantly, the price was right for the location with an abundance of fine eating establishments within walking distance. The wifi was good and did take the opportunity to use the in-house computer center.

Room Tip: Request a room with bay windows and located on the upper floors away from adjoining HVAC systems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I stayed here for a few days while on business. The location is great (very central), the staff friendly, and there are many places to eat in the neighborhood. For a comfortable stay in central yet quiet location, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed here from May 20 - 23, 2014 and had such a wonderful time! Centrally located, we were an 8 minute walk from the Kimmel Center, wonderful restaurants, and all sorts of fun things to do. The rooms were very clean, the Inn itself, full of old world charm. John, the Innkeeper was especially accommodating and sweet, handing out umbrellas when it started to rain, he even called after we checked out to let us know that we left a pair of sunglasses behind! If there was anything I'd add - it would be 2 small things: coffee maker in the room, and towel racks to hang the wet towels. Those are small and inconsequential items, and didn't put a damper on our stay. I highly recommend the Alexander Inn and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

If you're the type that likes big chain hotels, the lovely Alexander Inn, which is a "boutique hotel," might not be to your liking, but I can't imagine why. I've stayed at some of those chain hotels in the area when the Alexander has been fully booked (which happens easily, so book early!), and in comparison, there's no reason to go to a chain when a hotel as nice as the Alexander is available.

It's located in Philly's gay neighborhood, but it's clientele seemed mixed, if not predominantly straight, on the two occasions I've stayed there. More importantly, it's walking distance from almost everything you want to see and do in central Philly. We received free parking in a public indoor garage two blocks away. And they even provide you with some personalized business cards with your name and the Inn's address!

The rooms I've had have been clean and bright though not huge; the bathrooms equally good. The decorations and furnishings may be a bit dated, but don't look worn. If modern and sleek are important to you, this aspect may disappoint you. Flat-screen TVs; easy-to-use safes, large closet spaces. The shower has a tub that may not be large enough to take a bath, but they may have such tubs in other rooms. Ask.

A lovely complimentary "continental" breakfast includes plenty of fresh fruit, hard-boiled eggs, cereals, breads, etc., constantly replenished by the efficient staff.

All of the people who work there that I've encountered couldn't be more helpful and friendly.

In sum, the Alexander Inn is my first choice when visiting Philadelphia.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This hotel is a renovated inn in a quiet, residential area. It is an easy walking distance to the center of the city and also the historical area. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The towels are large and soft. The only negative was the hard, lumpy pillows. The personnel are very friendly and helpful, going above and beyond to be accommodating. They provide a nice continental breakfast. I only wish they provided coffee during the day and evening. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter. Do not choose a room next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

great location, in the center of the city, very quiet ,close to bus line 23 and 7min walk from metro station. There are many bars, restaurants, shopping centers and historic sights around the hotel within a few min. walk. The staff is very friendly. The rooms are renovated and modern. There is an AC, TV and good free Wi-Fi.Breakfast was nice and sufficient.
There are additional 20 USD taxes per day that are not included in the original price of the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $119. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.