We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexander Inn
Save
You added Alexander Inn to your Saves list
301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Germany
1 review
“Great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

I spent one night in that quite and clean location downtown Philadelphia. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Everything is in walking distance to the hotel. You can leave your car in the garage. Only the complimentary breakfast wasn't as various as expected.

  • Liked — location, staff
  • Disliked — complimentary breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    317
    64
    23
    23
See reviews for
158
428
124
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Va
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

I stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend on my trip to Philly for the PDR (Philadelphia Distance Run). I have to agree with many of the previous reviews which state that the staff was friendly, the hotel was clean and quiet and location was amazing. Parking was also cheap compared to other hotel parking in downtown Philly. This is good because you won’t need a car if you stay at this hotel. We were in walking distance to everything. But our stay was less than perfect.

If you decide to stay at the Alex Inn and you're traveling with someone, make sure you avoid the standard queen-size room. This was by far the smallest hotel room I've ever stayed in. And unless you plan on being really cozy with your roommate, it's definitely not a room built for two. There was literally only a foot of space on either side of the bed and only two feet of space from the foot of the bed to the dresser. There was only one night stand. The window sill had to serve as the other nightstand. The sitting area was a chair in the corner. They tried to create a make-shift sitting area by placing folding table behind the door, but I didn't want to take the effort of dragging the chair over to the folding table, so it never got used.

The complimentary breakfast was OK if you like hard dry bagels, day old pastries, hard boiled eggs and over ripe bananas. Luckily there are great places to eat within walking distance. Also it's nice that they leave some pastries and bagels out during the day for the guests but the flies are out too, so eat with caution.

Finally, the free wireless internet was slower than dial-up, the pillows were lumpy, and the AC kept making this weird noise whenever the fan turned off, which woke me up at night.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel and even stay there on my next visit, but I would spend the extra bucks on a larger room.

  • Liked — Location, Friendly Staff, Price
  • Disliked — Small room, Slow Internet Acess, Complimentary Breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

My friend and I travelled to Philadelphia from Toronto via New York, and we loved this hotel. The staff were extremely friendly, the rooms were great and spacious, and the location could not be better. It is about 5 blocks from the Walnut-Locust subway station, and Broad Street, about a 10 minute walk from the Reading Terminal Market and City Hall, and close to the historic district. We were very impressed with the variety of food offered at the breakfast buffet - boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, several types of bread and bagels, waffles, fruit, and danishes, along with 2 types of juice, coffee, tea and hot chocolate. We were easily able to get everywhere we needed to go, especially to the Phillies baseball games, and to Jim's Steaks, my favourite cheesesteak place in Philadelphia on South Street - I would highly recommend this place if you want an authentic Philly cheesesteak! There was also free internet and a pretty good gym at the hotel, along with vending and ice machines.

Whenever we go back to Philadelphia, we will definitely be staying at the Alexander Inn - great job, guys!!

  • Liked — The staff, and the view from the hotel window of City Hall and Liberty Place
  • Disliked — The pillows were lumpy, and the bathtub was a little small.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

Stayed one night with my best friend while visiting for her birthday. Love the atomosphere and the location. Walking distance to South St. and Philadelphia Magic Gardens, and LOTS of other stuff downtown. Or if you don't like to walk, take a taxi. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and the bed comfy. Breakfast was more than sufficient consisting of cereal, yogurt, danishes, bagels, bread, fruit, coffee, juice, milk, etc.. Couldn't beat the view from our 5th floor window either. Every time I come to Philly, I will stay here!

  • Liked — The location and the atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

The Alexander Inn is a great place to stay when visiting Philly. Very reasonalbly priced and centrally located with every kind of restaurant within walking distance. My room was on the small side but spotlessly clean and looked as if it was newly decorated in the art deco style. A cold breakfast is provided which was very good as well. I recommend this place highly and will not stay anywhere else when in Philly.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

Like many other reviewers here, we chose the Alexander Inn based on reviews here on TripAdvisor. It was a wonderful experience and we hope to return when visiting Philadelphia again. We have two young daughters, ages 10 and 8, and found this interesting hotel to be in a nice neighborhood, and within walking distance to most local attractions. Our room was small (we took the last room available) and the girls slept on air mattresses on the floor, but we loved the charm (the girls especially loved the old switchboard in the hallway) and the uniqueness of the Inn. Chuck's breakfasts are terrific and the entire staff is knowledgeable and friendly. Our room was very clean, parking was affordable and was just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittery, Maine
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

Price is right, $149 for a king-size bed and bay window view of city. Fairly quiet neighborhood with restaurants nearby. Breakfast is buffet, but would have liked a microwave to warm up the sweet rolls. Also would have liked a thermos of hot water to make hot drinks to go with the fruit and sweet rolls that were available at all hours.
Friendly desk. Lots of attention to detail in the lobby, and fresh rose buds on the breakfast tables.
Garage and downtown are a fair walk for older people.
Celebrated our 50th in Philadelphia for 2 nights, and would book the Alexander Inn again.

  • Liked — The small size of the inn.
  • Disliked — window air-conditioning
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $119. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.