We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Friendly Staff, Nice Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Inn

Save Saved
You added Alexander Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alexander Inn
301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Fixed low rates
Ranked #9 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
PDX
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Location, Friendly Staff, Nice Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We spent 3 nights here as part of our family vacation. We arrived in Philadelphia by train and cabbed it to the hotel. The day we arrived was National Coming Out Day so the roadways around the hotel were closing to prepare for the party.
The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from Independence Hall / Liberty Bell and other tourist attractions. We were in town as the Government Shutdown was happening and the front desk staff were super helpful helping us plan alternatives to what we had planned to visit.
Our room was spacious enough for 2 people and well appointed. The bathroom was a decent size, though we did have an issue with the shower drain constantly clogging. We reported it, but it wasn't fixed during out stay.
Breakfast is in a room off the lobby and there is ample selection of bagels, toast and danishes along with cereal and fresh fruit. All is served with tea, juice and coffee. There are not a lot of tables, so it's prudent to be patient or to take your breakfast back to the room with you.
We had a great stay at the Alexander Inn and I would recommend it to other people visiting Philadelphia.

Room Tip: Request a high up room as you will hear some noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    539
    281
    60
    21
    23
See reviews for
142
371
112
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night but had great time. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Their suggestions for drinks or dining were just what we asked for. We would definitely stay here again. The continental breakfast had a lot to offer. Including waffles. As for location you can walk to Independence Hall just remember to get tickets. We didn't and could not get in.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were six women sharing three rooms at the Alexander Inn. The location is ideal in Center City, Philadelphia. Our rooms at the end of the corridor looked onto the street so they were bright. The room was commodious with two double beds, two chests of drawers and two comfortable chairs in the bow window. The bathroom is small but had everything you need. The hanging area outside of the bathroom is ample and there is a small fridge in that space. The breakfast room is very nice with couches and comfortable chairs. The breakfast is ample for a continental. It includes two juices, coffee, decaf and tea. There is a selection of cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit (available all day), a selection of breads, English muffins, toaster waffles, scones, coffee cake. There are also hard boiled eggs.

The decor is attractive with interesting prints on the walls.

But the real attraction of the Alexander Inn is the staff. Everyone was attentive, patient, helpful, and just plain nice. It was a joy to be guests there. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Rooms numbered 01 are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here on an overnight before an international flight. Close to the airport via Septa train, in a great neighborhood, and the people here have great recommendations. Loved seeing the murals on South street. Walked to the Philadelphia history museum and the art museums. Love love love Philadelphia and this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We recently stayed in Philly for a visit. We have stayed in 4 properties, all had their ups and downs, This one was the smallest hotel, was on a nice quiet street, Very, very personable, and eager to help, rooms were a little small and the amenaties were a little less than some of the upscale properties we stayed before. The biggest thing I missed was a coffee maker in the room. I left early enough in the morning that it would have really helped. You would have to look very hard to find a better bargain or deal over this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher has less street noise, and corner rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamanca, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Location, cleanliness, excellent service--The Alexander has it all. I felt comfortable and welcomed upon my arrival and when I departed, was followed out the front door and pointed in the direction I needed to go. Have already recommended the Alexander to others and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

The Alexander Hotel is an older, boutique style hotel in a trendy, lively, old Philadelphia neighborhood. My wife and I spent two nights there in early November. Our stay there was comfortable, although the room and bathroom were very tiny. The breakfast offered was continental style, but good. The best part was the location. If you don't mind walking, it's a short distance from nearly everything we came to Philly for-the Historic area, market street, Reading market, Pats and Gino's, Morimotos (the Iron Chef), etc. Steps away are many fine restaurants, as well as shops and night-life opportunities. We used Trip Advisor's City Guide to plan our trip, and it was great. We recommend this hotel as a good base if you are a tourist in Philly.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $119. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.