We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for our wedding party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexander Inn
Save
You added Alexander Inn to your Saves list
301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for our wedding party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Based on previous TripAdvisor comments and ratings, we booked 11 rooms (22+ guests) at the Alexander Inn last weekend (3 nights) for out-of-town family and friends for a wedding (a cross-border one at that!). Everyone had nothing but praise for the location, the staff, and the accommodations. We really loved the location, especially with the handy bar/restaurant across the street, and the lovely neighbourhood locale. The mattresses and pillows were a bit firm, but not uncomfortably so (i.e. they weren't Four Seasons quality mattresses, but for the price, the rooms were much better value!!). We also enjoyed the complimentary wi-fi and breakfast buffet, which included hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, various rolls, toast and scones - more than we expected. The great room, where breakfast was served, was also a great place for all of us to congregate throughout the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    322
    64
    23
    24
See reviews for
161
438
125
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was my first experience at a "boutique" hotel--I found it quite pleasant, overall. The Front Desk staff were so friendly and so helpful...our room was clean, comfortable and even charming, I suppose with its bay window enhancing the roominess. Because of the gorgeous fall weather, we were able to enjoy the brief walks to nearby restaurants and sites. The Big Theatres are just a couple of blocks away, as well. If you are so inclined to use public transit, subway stations and bus stops are both within easy reach of the hotel. Plan to ride something to the major museums as they are just a bit too far to walk. The breakfasts are continental, but enjoyable. Its definitely country-come-to-town when I get into the middle of an eastern seaboard city, but thankfully I made reservations at the Alexander--the staff helped me find (&, or manage) most anything. Guests were able to park the car a couple of blocks down 12th street from the hotel for their contracted rate of $15 a day. Basically, the car was unnecessary as this hotel is near to just about everything in City Center. I will be a repeat customer--especially when considering the rates are so reasonable compared to other downtown options.

Room Tip: Higher Floors minimize street noise, although later in the evening things get pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in this quaint boutique hotel and loved it. Location is great, trendy neighborhood, able to walk to everywhere. Staff was always helpful. Booked an upgraded room with bay window so it didn't feel small. Pillows weren't the best for us, not fluffy, too firm. Expanded continental breakfast was delicious (try the fruit sweet rolls). We would stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I went to Philadelphia for a few days as a little getaway. We chose The Alexander Inn because it had gotten very good reviews on TripAdvisor. It is a boutique hotel, as they will tell you, which offers a convenient location, friendly service, clean comfortable rooms, and breakfast! We walked to our destinations with no problem and we are not "spring chickens"! We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want a large room, ask for a corner or deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you go there I might not be able to get in to this small, neighborhood inn that houses the most interesting guests, almost all of them repeats! A real winner, so save me room , please. In walkable distance of antique shops and public transportation. Such a nice change from the big, chain hotels.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and light filled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

When you don't know the city, you want somewhere that is close and safe, this was our answer. We walked everywhere, out to see Rocky's statue, all the nations flags along Ben Franklin Blvd, and back over to Independence Hall and Liberty Bell. Staff was wonderful and the place is beautiful. Small rooms, but how often are you in them. Oh, and great wine bar across street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

From check in to check out, the Alexander Inn was wonderful. The personnel were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. Location was great; we could walk to many of the sites we wanted to see, or take a short cab ride. The neighborhood was safe. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We will stay again at the Alexander Inn when we return to Philadelphia.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#23 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $119. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.