We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Philly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander Inn to your Saves list
Alexander Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Fixed Rates
Ranked #11 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Philly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed here twice this Spring and cannot recommend more highly. The rooms are small, but comfortable. The staff is fantastic, the location is great and you get first-class service. Breakfast is a step above the usual offerings. Tria Market next door is a great wine and cheese bar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Statman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Coalinga, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We are on a 7,500 mile road trip and have done 4 others before this. This hotel is pretty much our very favorite of all time! The rooms are very well laid out, the hotel is very close to the historic district, the staff is wonderful, you get discounted parking at a local garage, nice breakfast, comfy beds, hot showers with great pressure, nice toiletries, OK breakfast and served until 10:30 am. The parking is tricky. When I first arrived, I parked a block away and paid a meter until I had checked in. Then I brought the car to the front, turned on my flashers, and unloaded everything, never leaving the car. The kids took the luggage up in trips while I waited by the car. After that, I drove the car to the garage and left it. We've been walking to the sites for three days. As others have noted, this hotel has a great "feel" to it. We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here recently with my daughter and niece on a college tour. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was great - much better than the standard big chain breakfasts. They offer complimentary movies on two channels which was a lot of fun. The staff was very friendly and helpful and gave us wonderful advice and umbrellas. Located in a fun neighborhood with a lot nearby to see. Would absolutely recommend it to anyone visiting Philly!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1234travelersamkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are moderate in size but very clean. Staff were very nice and nothing too much trouble. There was rain and we were offered umbrellas FOC which was nice touch. Breakfast was bread Danish cereal etc and more than ample and the fruit and Danish were left put all day for those who wanted them. Good location and nothing bad to say

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Upon checking in got $76 parking ticket since I didn't park in the "yellow zone" for loading/ unloading. Where I come from in the midwest, yellow is bad, but in Philly they change the
rules and apparently "yellow is good". Meter maid didn't care and actually enjoyed writing ticket!
Philly is not tourist friendly. My recommendation is put your hand on your wallet when visiting Philly. Hotel is within walking distance of the historical center city area. Breakfast is very good with Danish and fruit. Easy walking to good restaurants/bars. Good value for what I paid. Hotel is very good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeD63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Cosy boutique hotel, extremely well-priced. This was my first time to USA, to attend a conference being held at the Marriott. Rooms at the Marriott were more than double the price, the other major hotels were not much better. Pricing aside, Alexander Inn would have trumped them hands down anyway - beautiful interior, surrounded by funky little restaurants and bars, self-serve fruits and pastries available 24 hours, friendly staff. I stayed in a single room, which was cleverly laid out, so I never felt cramped.
One thing though, if your booking is made using your organisation's corporate credit card, you'll need the appropriate delegate from your organisation to sign a Credit Card Authorisation Form to present at check-in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GYML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Hotel is very well placed to visit all the historic sights in the city and also close to a big bus tour stop. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and was available until quite late morning. snacks were available all day. The rooms were not huge but adequate and bed was very comfortable. The hotel had a lovely feel to it and felt very welcome during our stay. There are some very good restaurants close by.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TurkeyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#5 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
City Center West
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $119. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing