We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected a very good place from reviews & found this hotel to be very good indeed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Alexander Inn to your Saves list
Alexander Inn
301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low fixed rates
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Expected a very good place from reviews & found this hotel to be very good indeed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was a first time visit to Philadelphia and I wanted to have a reasonable price (under $150 per night), a good location so that I could walk to where I wanted to go, and most important, that the place be very clean. The Alexander Inn met all those requirements and for me, as a solo traveler, was a great hotel. I landed at the airport and got the SEPTA train ($7) to the Market East stop. Walked about 6 or so blocks south on 12th Street to Spruce Street and the Alexander Inn is just past the SE corner (on your left walking south). I had made reservations by phone (from hotel website) a few months earlier (they emailed me a confirmation letter) and when I got to the desk, the agent was friendly and checked me into the exact room I had reserved. A deluxe queen size room at the end of the hall on the 5th floor. Several windows to see the skyline (windows opened slightly if you wanted), a desk and chair, a dresser, 2 more chairs & a table, night table & queen bed. Nice closet plus plenty of lamps & lights. Small bathroom, but it had all I needed, including a great shower, with good pressure and loads of hot water, plus a small frosted window, that would open slightly. The room and bath were spotless, and I left a note for housekeeping for some extra soap, which was there the next day. Excellent (& free) breakfast layout in a nice room off the small lobby/entrance, with coffee, tea, water, orange & apple juice, hard boiled eggs, pastry, bagels, toast, muffins, cereal, yogurt & apples & bananas (with all the cream cheese, jelly, honey etc.) The staff at front desk is more than helpful on ideas for places to eat, including printouts of restaurants, with phone & address. Morning Glory is a good little breakfast place, south on 12th Street about 3 blocks to Fitzwater & then left to 10th Street (open at 7am weekdays). Also the Midtown Diner on 11th Street and Sansom is clean with great prices and open 24 hours. Kanella's is a good place for dinner, little more expensive & may need reservations (Greek food). My room rate was discounted for AARP for 3 of the 4 nights (not on weekends) and the whole experience at the Alexander was such, that if back in Philadelphia, I would stay there no doubt. Also a couple of notes: WIFI was free & worked fine for me and though the bed was more firm than mine at home, it felt good after a long day of walking the city seeing all the great sights. (If the room had a coffee maker & small refrig. I would rate 5 instead of 4).

Room Tip: End of the hall rooms seem to be a little bigger and the north end may be a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    294
    63
    21
    23
See reviews for
152
390
116
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Good...centrally located, you can walk to all the major galleries/museums in Philadelphia, and to the historic attractions by the river. easy also to walk to the main shopping areas.

generally a pleasant part of town to amble round in..urban gentrified inner city chic type scene

Front desk v helpful, free pcs in basement, free breakfast ( though only cheap nasty sugary yoghurt prcvided)

Rooms well furnished and comfortable

Bad

V noisy at night, due to street noise and poor sound insulation meaning plumbing noises from other rooms are audible

Most rooms face due West, there is no air con and you will come back in spring summer to a sweltering room. No ceiling fans.

No tea/coffee making facilities in rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Vermont
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed, along with for colleagues, at the hotel for a meeting with U of Penn. The location, in a vibrant historic neighborhood with small restaurants, was excellent. The welcome by the desk staff, covering all needed information concisely and pleasantly, typified the thoughtfulness and comfort throughout the hotel...and all for $150 a night including breakfast and taxes. My room was moderate size, quiet though next to the small elevator, very functional with good bed and thoughtfully laid out bath room, including a shower with excellent pressure and plenty of hot water. We walked a hundred feet to a nice wine bar and perhaps 3 blocks to a superb restaurant, Amis.

Room Tip: My room was facing the street, but was still comfortably quiet. Perhaps a room on the off-street sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My hsband & I stayed here for our last night in Philadelphia and only wished we'd been able to stay longer. Everything about this hotel is fantastic, the rooms are beautifully appointed and the tolietries are to die for! The staff are extremely polite and very kind & helpful. The breakfast choice is superb and if you eat too much there is a gym to help you work it all off :-).

It is in a ncie quiet location within easy reach of the shops and sights and there are a few nice bars nearby if you don't want to walk anywhere.

I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone and we will definitely stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellefonte, pa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Other reviews give a great account of why we were happy we stayed here. Were in town for the Flower Show which was an easy walk. Also walked around Antique Row, the Italian Market and down to south street.Lots of food/drink options nearby. Room was not huge.... so what? For two folks it was great. Friendly staff, clean room, all in all a very nice stay

Room Tip: Top floors are probably quieter but it is a quiet neighborhood
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I thought this was one of the cutest boutique type hotels in which I have stayed in a long time. Highly recommend if you need to stay in downtown Philly (lower numbers). Walking distance to Jefferson Hospital, south street and the liberty bell (or more if you like walking)
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay. Had to change room and was put into one at the end of building. Much, much better! Front and rear rooms are very small for couples and have only one double bed. End rooms have 2 doubles and are very spacious.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $119. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.