We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alexander Inn to your Saves list
Alexander Inn
301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Rate
Ranked #9 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good but..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Good...centrally located, you can walk to all the major galleries/museums in Philadelphia, and to the historic attractions by the river. easy also to walk to the main shopping areas.

generally a pleasant part of town to amble round in..urban gentrified inner city chic type scene

Front desk v helpful, free pcs in basement, free breakfast ( though only cheap nasty sugary yoghurt prcvided)

Rooms well furnished and comfortable

Bad

V noisy at night, due to street noise and poor sound insulation meaning plumbing noises from other rooms are audible

Most rooms face due West, there is no air con and you will come back in spring summer to a sweltering room. No ceiling fans.

No tea/coffee making facilities in rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    304
    63
    21
    23
See reviews for
153
404
121
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Vermont
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed, along with for colleagues, at the hotel for a meeting with U of Penn. The location, in a vibrant historic neighborhood with small restaurants, was excellent. The welcome by the desk staff, covering all needed information concisely and pleasantly, typified the thoughtfulness and comfort throughout the hotel...and all for $150 a night including breakfast and taxes. My room was moderate size, quiet though next to the small elevator, very functional with good bed and thoughtfully laid out bath room, including a shower with excellent pressure and plenty of hot water. We walked a hundred feet to a nice wine bar and perhaps 3 blocks to a superb restaurant, Amis.

Room Tip: My room was facing the street, but was still comfortably quiet. Perhaps a room on the off-street sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My hsband & I stayed here for our last night in Philadelphia and only wished we'd been able to stay longer. Everything about this hotel is fantastic, the rooms are beautifully appointed and the tolietries are to die for! The staff are extremely polite and very kind & helpful. The breakfast choice is superb and if you eat too much there is a gym to help you work it all off :-).

It is in a ncie quiet location within easy reach of the shops and sights and there are a few nice bars nearby if you don't want to walk anywhere.

I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone and we will definitely stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellefonte, pa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Other reviews give a great account of why we were happy we stayed here. Were in town for the Flower Show which was an easy walk. Also walked around Antique Row, the Italian Market and down to south street.Lots of food/drink options nearby. Room was not huge.... so what? For two folks it was great. Friendly staff, clean room, all in all a very nice stay

Room Tip: Top floors are probably quieter but it is a quiet neighborhood
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I thought this was one of the cutest boutique type hotels in which I have stayed in a long time. Highly recommend if you need to stay in downtown Philly (lower numbers). Walking distance to Jefferson Hospital, south street and the liberty bell (or more if you like walking)
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay. Had to change room and was put into one at the end of building. Much, much better! Front and rear rooms are very small for couples and have only one double bed. End rooms have 2 doubles and are very spacious.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I spent four days in the middle of April and had a wonderful stay. It was clean and comfortable. We had a room with a bay window - which I recommend - with two (!) chairs for sitting in. It was within walking distance of almost everywhere and near the bus/subway if you got tired of walking. I also liked the fact that the windows opened. I came to feel like home. We loved it and will stay here again when we are in Phildelphia.

By the way, there is no parking, but the garage nearby is very convenient and a good deal for center city parking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $119. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.