We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Philadelphia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexander Inn
Save
You added Alexander Inn to your Saves list
301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Low Fixed Rates
Ranked #9 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A real gem...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

It's about time I reviewed this great place. We've stayed at the Alexander numerous times, sent friends there for years. The location is smack dab in the middle of everything, with great restaurants nearby. You can walk to the Convention Center or to South Street in just a few minutes. The hotel comps your parking--that alone is worth the price! The staff is wonderful, the included breakfast is great, and the rooms always clean and fresh. This is always our go-to place for Philadelphia.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    319
    64
    23
    23
See reviews for
159
431
124
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This small, boutique-type hotel was affordable and had a very central location. It is in an historic building, with many unique architectural details. Our group of 6 friends stayed in 3 rooms, each with one full and one single bed. Our rooms had bay windows, which made them feel more spacious. Because our rooms were next to the elevator, we were afraid that we would be bothered by elevator noises, but that was not the case.
All the staff were very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the food at their restaurant suggestions.
We walked to restaurants, to the Barnes Collection, and to the National Park/Liberty Bell area.
All of us would recommend this hotel to friends, and we would all book there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

A really lovely hotel to arrive to after a long journey from London. It's within walking distance of the city’s main centre such as the Reading Terminal Market (head to DiNic's for the best pork sandwich ever!), Liberty Bell Centre/ historical district, Love Park and much more. Philadelphia is a really great walking city; I and my partner very rarely used any form of public transport.
As far as the hotel goes, it was clean with descent sized rooms, breakfast was very nice- good selection of pastries and cereals, juice etc and overall a very friendly atmosphere with helpful staff.
Highly recommended for couples who are looking for an nice boutique style hotel with a great location and reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAICHUNG
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I chose the Alexander Inn based on many favourable reviews on Trip Advisor and, generally speaking, after a 6 night stay, was not dissapointed.

The location is good, being within easy walking distance of most of the tourist places in Philly, as well as South Street and the Italian "quarter". The hotel calls itself a "boutique hotel", which, in my opinion, stretches the definition of "Boutique" a bit.

The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful & breakfast was adequate, but with limited choices ( No hot food such as sausages, eggs etc.).

My only compliant was with my room. The room itself was small, but comfortable. However, I was given a room at the bottom of a flight of stairs which turned out to be noisy at times. The walls are also thin and on some nights one could hear the activities in the room next door. If I should stay there again, I would request a room at one emnd of the building, away from eleavtors and stairs.

all thing considered, I would return there again.

Room Tip: Stay away from any room close to the stairs and elevators. Upper floors should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Very reasonable rates and everyone working there was incredibly helpful making recommendations for restaurants within walking distances. Their location could not have been better--right there in Center City near most attractions or bus lines! The breakfast with fresh flowers and fruit, boiled eggs, and breads held us during our busy day touring. This is the best deal going in Philly and we will definitely return to this inn!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the street but we had no problem with the street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I found out about this hotel from a New York Times review. The review was absolutely correct about the ideal location of the hotel. Located in a Greenwich Village type neighborhood within short walking distance of the theatre district, varied restaurants, antique dealers, downtown shopping center and major monuments.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have a good view of the night skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyertown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the comments from Trip Advisor reviews. We are so glad we did. Instead of paying ridiculous prices for a night in downtown Philly, this place was so reasonable it was unbelievable. The front desk was so helpful with all our questions we had, and the room was very nice and had a very comfty bed. Wish we could have stayed another night. No question, when we need to stay in Philly again, this will be our go to place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $119. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.