We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location to Wells Fargo Center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Inn

Save Saved
You added Alexander Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alexander Inn
301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low fixed rates
Ranked #9 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location to Wells Fargo Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great value & they even provide breakfast. Beds were very small but we just needed a room for 1 night while staying in Philly for a concert. Front desk clerks were very friendly. Looked like there were lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: We were in Philly to see a concert at Wells Fargo and this hotel was the perfect location. Within w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    552
    286
    62
    21
    23
See reviews for
147
381
114
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed at the Alexander several times over the past 4 years, most recently this past Thurs & Fri. nights. It is always a good experience. We particularly enjoy that it is a small, quaint spot in a great location for walking around Center City. The rates are among the best we've found for such a convenient location. The staff is always friendly and most helpful. The breakfast is more than adequate. Parking is close by and significantly discounted. This will always be my first choice when visiting Philly.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have really enjoyed our four-night stay at Alexander Inn! Great location -- you don't need a car; however, discounted parking for just $15 a day is a 7-minute walk up 12th Street (20 min. loading/unloading zone is across the street from the hotel entrance). You can take your car out of the garage once every 24-hour period, but we didn't bother... visited the Penitentiary before checking in (parked in that area) and took a cab for $10 (incl tip) to the Philadelphia Museum of Art. The rest of the time we walked. Everyone at the inn was very friendly and helpful, and we got excellent recommendations from the concierge, including a sheet with a comprehensive list of great restaurants! Buffet breakfast was available till 10:30 in a very pleasant room and featured various drinks, cereals, breads, waffles (toasters were provided), jams, Philadelphia cheese (of course!), peanut butter, etc. Half-grapefruits were a nice touch! Our room was quite small - only one side table, as there was not enough space on the other side... BUT, it was very cosy and nicely decorated. Minor point: we found the pillows to be unusually hard. Overall, it was a great inn, very economical, and we will most definitely return, as we have not yet finished exploring this friendly city!

Room Tip: Ask about the size of your room, if you care about having two bedside tables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I think 'boutique' is a fair description, since it has that small hotel intimacy and sense of being cared for that lets you know that someone's heart, not just corporate head, is engaged. Borne out by the fact that everyone we interacted with was both personable and friendly, rather than just vacuously 'polite'; well, with the possible exception of the hyper-focused and understandably stressed-out gentleman taking care of our unusually generous and varied 'continental breakfast' (often just a euphemism for coffee and a roll!). But he definitely gets a pass for going above-and-beyond for us sleepyheads! Speaking of which, I really think that silence at breakfast -- or at most a little soothing Celtic music since it was around St Paddy's Day! -- is infinitely preferable to that day's spirit-crushing news being blared at you from 2 TV's, which felt more 'chain motel' than 'Euro-boutique'! But apparently ('cos I asked!) the owner disagrees. Though I'd suggest that they poll their guests on that one since there were clear signs of relief and nods of approval from our fellow sufferers when we -- assuming that the remote was for the guests to use -- briefly turned them both off. And I say 'briefly' since our ever vigilant breakfast manager of course had them up and running again in no time flat (sigh)!

Our room and bathroom were definitely on the small side, but clean and inviting, which is all we really ask when it's just for a night or two. However, while I know that many people like a hard/firm mattress, as both of ours were (ouch), many of us much prefer a plush one, so they'd surely make more travelers happy by splitting the difference, no? Same with the pillows, which were not only hard but also lumpy, which I can't imagine anyone liking! Oh, and for those that prefer fresh air to conditioned air, the windows actually do open, but you first have to undo the clips on both sides of the window that are kinda hidden behind the venetian blinds, so we didn't unfortunately see them until morning after a somewhat airless night. But I certainly don't fault the hotel for that when they, unlike so many places, provide both A/C units AND openable windows to try -- hard as it must be! -- to keep all of us happy.

So, while the rather uncomfortable beds threatened to knock it down from 4 stars to 3 for us, the overall cosiness and well maintained look of the place, along with the top notch staff, and delicious (if aurally abrasive!) breakfast earned it back a star. Especially since our trip to the basement to get ice revealed, not just yer standard coin-operated snacks & sodas, but also emergency toothbrushes, toothpaste, and headache medicine, plus a tiny gym to help us stay in shape and a computer station to help us stay in touch -- now how cute and thoughtful is that!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I enjoyed our night stay at the Alexander. It is a charming corner boutique hotel. The front desk staff was warm and friendly. He offered a great dinner suggestion to satisfy our pub food craving. We stayed in the small queen room. It was certainly small but I found it cozy. Breakfast had a nice selection of pastries, cereal, fruit and bagels to toast. I would certainly stay here again location is suitable to walk around to the sites.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Alexander Inn while we were in Philly for the flower show. The hotel is conveniently located in Center City, and within walking distance to many attractions, including the Convention Center and Reading Market. We had a king-size bed in a smallish but clean and well-appointed room. My minor gripe is the somewhat thin mattress (par for course for most hotels). The front desk staff was very helpful. We were able to park for 20 minutes n front of the hotel to load and unload our car. The discounted parking is about 3 blocks away, in a self-service parking facility. We checked out too early for the free breakfast. We will definitely stay at the inn again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Wonderful little boutique hotel ! Visited several years ago, and wanted to return.
Same excellent and polite service, lovely room with simple elegant furnishings, and a supremely comfortable bed. Great continental breakfast. We will always return
to the Alexander Inn when we go to Philadelphia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $119. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.