We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Staff and Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Inn

Save Saved
You added Alexander Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alexander Inn
301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low fixed rates
Ranked #9 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Awesome Staff and Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Multi-night stay when in town for business. Located in an eclectic neighborhood, just one block from antique row and near the artsy area in town. The service was extremely friendly, whether at check-in, breakfast or check-out. It is tdefinitely he best bang for the buck in town, with prices at comparable hotels often 50% higher. Complimentary breakfast in the Great Room was good, although a hot entree would have been nice as it was bitterly cold in Philadelphia during my visit. The room was small, as advertised, but had a flat screen TV and was quite comfortable. Bathroom was a good size, my only request would be for the bath soap to be slightly thicker. All in all, a great visit - and definitely a great value

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    291
    63
    21
    23
See reviews for
149
388
115
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Me and 2 of my friends stayed at this hotel for a girls' weekend out. We are from central New York and had never been to Philadelphia. From the second that we made the reservation, we were treated very kindly and helpfully by the staff. We had a reservation for 2 nights and when we got there, we fell in love with the hotel. It is a very cute and boutique hotel, and the room that we were in was small, but we didn't need a lot of room, so we didn't care.

When we checked in, and the next afternoon, an excellent employee- Daniel, helped us with directions, dinner and bar recommendations and everything else that we needed. He is an excellent asset to the hotel and was so personable! David- who worked overnight; was also extremely helpful and very friendly as was the rest of the staff.

The only downside was the breakfast- it had some good aspects to it, but there wasn't much. There were some fruits, pastries (as well as bagels and pre-made waffles to put into the toaster), cereal, juice, yogurt, coffee, and hard boiled eggs. We didn't want too much for breakfast, so we weren't too affected by that. The upside is that the beds were comfortable, we were located right near/in Center City; so it was easy to get a taxi, and we were located near a LOT of restaurants and bars.

Overall, it was a great trip, and most of that had to do with our hotel! Great staff, location and very reasonable price. If I ever come to Philadephia again, I will absolutely stay here

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor- that made for an excellent view. Room was small, but very very cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great location in a super safe neighborhood, the Alexander Inn, was just a 6 minute walk from the Reading Terminal Market, about 10 minutes to South Street and offers all the amenities of a more expensive hotel. Our room had two double beds, a mini fridge, small dressing area, wi-fi and was very comfortable. The bed's storage space held and extra blanket and pillow, and the stay came with a great buffet breakfast of danishes, cereal, granola, coffee, fruit, toast bagels, yogurt, grapefruit (my favorite) juice, etc. Simply wonderful! the owners and front desk were always available, friendly and had great advice. Another great personal touch was being provided with personalized name cards mentioning your temporary residence AT THE HOTEL! you know how useful that it when touring around town and then trying to remember your hotel's address! they cover that base with an incredibly thoughtful extra. I loved the place and my daughter and I would have also used their mini gym had we any energy at the end of the day! Perfect price, great location and wonderful vibe!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Outstanding place to stay. Located an easy walking distance to historic attractions, Reading Terminal Market and shopping district. Safe area to walk. The staff were very helpful. The morning breakfast was delicious. I highly recommend this for a couples get away to Philadelphia.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Took my ten year old nephew on his first trip to Philadelphia. We spent 3 nights at the Inn. The location was perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast offerings were good and plentiful. We stayed in the corner room on the 5th floor. Very little noise.

Room Tip: Upper floor corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Nicaragua
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Good price for downtown Philly. Staff is excellent.

Rooms are small and a bit worn, as is the rest of the place.

Breakfast is a waste of time as pretty nuts and bolts and not a good bagel or muffin in the lot.

If I had to I would stay again, but better places for almost as good a price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I've stayed at the Alexander a number of times. always with an excellent experience. This was no exception. The Alexander has a cozy, European feel to it. The staff is exceptionally helpful and friendly. Location is ideal for walking around the historic, commercial and arts areas of downtown Philly, and there are lots of outstanding restaurants nearby. I look forward to a return visit soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $119. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.