We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Alexander Inn to your Saves list
Alexander Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Fixed Rates
Ranked #11 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The staff at this Inn are so nice and incredibly helpful. We enjoyed the continental breakfast complete with hard-boiled eggs! Additionally, fruit and pastries are available during the rest of the day. I thought the room was reasonably priced and the neighborhood was lovely. My only issue was the room was a bit cold (though we were given a space-heater) and for me, the bed was too hard (though my partner felt the bed was just fine-so I guess it is individual preference).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Recently stayed at the property and read the reviews. The hotel and rooms remind you of a European hotel. The rooms are slightly smaller. Internet connection was very good. The bathrooms were clean, with large bath towels, a plus. Both the sink and shower drained well. The shower head can present an issue if you are very tall since it is not adjustable. The mattress was slightly firm as a result of not laying on a box spring, but a wooden bed panel. The one drawback is the room's heating/AC system. The A/C unit is above the door, but it is turned off for the winter, so if you prefer a slightly cooler room, below 70 degrees, you will need to crack the window. The price for the room is the best around. Parking is only $15 for 24 hours, which is much cheaper compared to $25-$48 elsewhere, but you cannot take the car out of the parking garage. They do not have a in and out policy. The parking garage is two blocks away, but you are able to park across the hotel and check in your room and take your bags up before parking the car. Breakfast in the morning is a continental breakfast (pastries, bagels, yougurt, juice and coffee). If not for the heating system situation, I would have given it an excellent rating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Etzella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of days ago for just one night. Room was a little small but that didn't matter, the while place is immaculate, plenty of hot water, the shower head is high enough so tall people don't have to stoop, breakfast was good. Parking was a couple of blocks away but we were walking a lot anyway. This is a really good location. The only negative for me was I didn't like the pillow, it was hard and flat, not fluffy or fluffable.

Helpful?
Thank cwbtg
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southern California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Spent a couple of nights there in December 2012. Room was small in size but excellent in quality. Comfortable bed, clean with a nice shower. Staff were very helpful and gave very good suggestions for dining. Loved the location. A nice big lounge area with one of the best continental breakfasts at a hotel.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank kingsnake52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Alexander Inn is by far one of the greatest hotels I have ever stayed in for an extended amount of time. As soon as I walked in the doors, the atmosphere was relaxing. The decor was lovely, a mix of modern design with an old school feel. The staff was very friendly. They were willing to help in any way, always had a smile and treated every guest as if they were friends. Also, if you need a taxi or information about the area, ask the desk and they will help. At checkout I asked for a taxi, they called and had one there in about two minutes. The continental breakfast was good, bagels, breads, grapefruit, Danishes, cereals, coffee and juice. The area where you eat breakfast is comfortable and relaxing with great seating. The rooms were not that big, but that is because it is a boutique hotel. However the room was comfortable and clean. I stayed in a deluxe single room. This room is great if you are traveling by yourself or want to be close, and dare I say romantic, with your significant other. The hotel is located in center city and is close to a lot of fun places. It is six blocks away from the historical district and four street away from major shopping and dining areas. I will definitely be going back to the Alexander Inn on my next journey to Philly. (to the staff at Alexander Inn, I'm not sure about Charlie's Angels, but Bosley had a great time)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrTDaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here the first week of October. We loved everything about this place. It was clean, very friendly, and reasonable. We were only passing through Philadelphia for a day and a half, but loved the accommodations. It is in a great location to walk to almost anything. We walked around the city and went everywhere on foot. You do have to park your vehicle in a parking structure a little bit from the Inn, but when we got there, we pulled up in the loading area, and checked in then went and moved the car. The staff were very friendly, and helpful with directions. The morning breakfast was great. Lots of choices, and all fresh. We stay at a lot of places, and this breakfast was VERY nice in comparison to other places. Make sure you take in the history of the Inn. Our bed was very comfortable, and the room was small, but very adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Periana, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We chose this place because of its location and were not disappointed. Only downside to that was the hassle of having to park the car some blocks away.

The hotel itself is an old building which has creaky floors etc which all add to the character.

When we checked in we were informed that although some 6 months earlier I had written to them and requested an upper room we were given on on the lowest floor right next to the road junction. We were told it was because they were full. The logic of which escaped me. Found the reception staff efficient with no friendly greeting as customers passed their desk.

The room was fine, bed comfortable, linens ok etc, the bathroom was very small and had a couple of maintenance issues, which on leaving I gave a list to reception so I hope they have been sorted. The main downer on the room was that it was right on the corner by the road junction and as a result was noisy and it had two stree tlamps right outside the window. With only slatted blinds it was impossible to block out the light so it was like sleeping with the lights on! Curtains would be such an improvement.


Breakfast was the customary Pastries etc in a pretty small room so it could get a little crowded. No hot choices.

The hotel is with in the heart of old Philadelphia and we found plenty of places to eat and walked everywhere to take in the attractions. Very much enjoyed the organ recital in Macy's!

All in the Alexander is great for where it is and what we wanted to do.

Room Tip: Try for an upper room to get away from Street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikealpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#5 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
City Center West
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $119. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#