We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Great Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Inn

Save Saved
You added Alexander Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alexander Inn
301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107 (City Center East)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low fixed rates
Ranked #9 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Clean and Great Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Recently stayed at the property and read the reviews. The hotel and rooms remind you of a European hotel. The rooms are slightly smaller. Internet connection was very good. The bathrooms were clean, with large bath towels, a plus. Both the sink and shower drained well. The shower head can present an issue if you are very tall since it is not adjustable. The mattress was slightly firm as a result of not laying on a box spring, but a wooden bed panel. The one drawback is the room's heating/AC system. The A/C unit is above the door, but it is turned off for the winter, so if you prefer a slightly cooler room, below 70 degrees, you will need to crack the window. The price for the room is the best around. Parking is only $15 for 24 hours, which is much cheaper compared to $25-$48 elsewhere, but you cannot take the car out of the parking garage. They do not have a in and out policy. The parking garage is two blocks away, but you are able to park across the hotel and check in your room and take your bags up before parking the car. Breakfast in the morning is a continental breakfast (pastries, bagels, yougurt, juice and coffee). If not for the heating system situation, I would have given it an excellent rating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    552
    286
    62
    21
    23
See reviews for
147
381
114
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of days ago for just one night. Room was a little small but that didn't matter, the while place is immaculate, plenty of hot water, the shower head is high enough so tall people don't have to stoop, breakfast was good. Parking was a couple of blocks away but we were walking a lot anyway. This is a really good location. The only negative for me was I didn't like the pillow, it was hard and flat, not fluffy or fluffable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southern California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Spent a couple of nights there in December 2012. Room was small in size but excellent in quality. Comfortable bed, clean with a nice shower. Staff were very helpful and gave very good suggestions for dining. Loved the location. A nice big lounge area with one of the best continental breakfasts at a hotel.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

The Alexander Inn is by far one of the greatest hotels I have ever stayed in for an extended amount of time. As soon as I walked in the doors, the atmosphere was relaxing. The decor was lovely, a mix of modern design with an old school feel. The staff was very friendly. They were willing to help in any way, always had a smile and treated every guest as if they were friends. Also, if you need a taxi or information about the area, ask the desk and they will help. At checkout I asked for a taxi, they called and had one there in about two minutes. The continental breakfast was good, bagels, breads, grapefruit, Danishes, cereals, coffee and juice. The area where you eat breakfast is comfortable and relaxing with great seating. The rooms were not that big, but that is because it is a boutique hotel. However the room was comfortable and clean. I stayed in a deluxe single room. This room is great if you are traveling by yourself or want to be close, and dare I say romantic, with your significant other. The hotel is located in center city and is close to a lot of fun places. It is six blocks away from the historical district and four street away from major shopping and dining areas. I will definitely be going back to the Alexander Inn on my next journey to Philly. (to the staff at Alexander Inn, I'm not sure about Charlie's Angels, but Bosley had a great time)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here the first week of October. We loved everything about this place. It was clean, very friendly, and reasonable. We were only passing through Philadelphia for a day and a half, but loved the accommodations. It is in a great location to walk to almost anything. We walked around the city and went everywhere on foot. You do have to park your vehicle in a parking structure a little bit from the Inn, but when we got there, we pulled up in the loading area, and checked in then went and moved the car. The staff were very friendly, and helpful with directions. The morning breakfast was great. Lots of choices, and all fresh. We stay at a lot of places, and this breakfast was VERY nice in comparison to other places. Make sure you take in the history of the Inn. Our bed was very comfortable, and the room was small, but very adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Periana, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We chose this place because of its location and were not disappointed. Only downside to that was the hassle of having to park the car some blocks away.

The hotel itself is an old building which has creaky floors etc which all add to the character.

When we checked in we were informed that although some 6 months earlier I had written to them and requested an upper room we were given on on the lowest floor right next to the road junction. We were told it was because they were full. The logic of which escaped me. Found the reception staff efficient with no friendly greeting as customers passed their desk.

The room was fine, bed comfortable, linens ok etc, the bathroom was very small and had a couple of maintenance issues, which on leaving I gave a list to reception so I hope they have been sorted. The main downer on the room was that it was right on the corner by the road junction and as a result was noisy and it had two stree tlamps right outside the window. With only slatted blinds it was impossible to block out the light so it was like sleeping with the lights on! Curtains would be such an improvement.


Breakfast was the customary Pastries etc in a pretty small room so it could get a little crowded. No hot choices.

The hotel is with in the heart of old Philadelphia and we found plenty of places to eat and walked everywhere to take in the attractions. Very much enjoyed the organ recital in Macy's!

All in the Alexander is great for where it is and what we wanted to do.

Room Tip: Try for an upper room to get away from Street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Centrally located in easy walking distance from most of the Philly must see sites. If you're healthy and not afraid of walking, we even trekked to the Art Museum, about a 30 minute walk. Easy access from the Airport train also. Getting a breakfast is a real plus; the choices are definitely an upgrade over what you usually get at the chain motels, with fresh fruit and better than average pastries, but don't expect gourmet or any warm offerings. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, but pretty small, and minimalist in their appearance. I would stay here again, but not if I could land another four star hotel in the area at around the same price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $119. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexander Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.