We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistrot La Minette

Bistrot La Minette
623 S. 6th St., Philadelphia, PA 19147 (Bella Vista / Queen Village)
215-925-8000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistrot La Minette is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #97 of 3,785 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Bella Vista / Queen Village
Cross street: Bainbridge
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Seriously excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

OMG, this is seriously excellent food, from the interesting cocktails (and if you want something else you can have it), appetizers and entrees to inventive desserts. I only wish it were closer to home so I could go more often. OK, a bit better than Parc and Caribou Cafe. The grilled sardines were perfectly seasoned and paired with roasted red pepper, the snails were in marrow butter, much more subtle than garlic. The beef daube was very tender and in a very rich gravy, the rabbit was also tender in white wine sauce. I have never had a better apricot tarte, and never lemon verbena ice cream; the sorbets were white peach, strawberry and cassis, all very intense. Much cheaper than a trip to Paris!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    34
    12
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Bistrot La Minette - brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Every time I have a guest to the city, I've make it a point to dine at Bistrot La Minette. Even amongst all the luxurious Michelin-starred and world renowned venues, I just can't go anywhere else. Any friends that ask for recommendations on where to eat, this is always at the top of the list. I'm in love. Exqusitely prepared escargot, Sole à la Marinière, Mussels.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The Potential to be Great!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Let's start with the good points (and, really, by "good" I mean "great"). The service was fantastic; the room is great; the menu is a foodie's dream; the bar is most generous and imaginative. What disappointed me, though, was the execution of the food. The presentation was flawless, but, while all the ingredients described in the menu seemed to be there, the dishes we ate fell a little flat -- not bad by any stretch of the imagination -- just not as good as they could have been. A foie gras starter, though it was beautiful, was missing something, that little "je ne sais quoi." The Daube Provencal was a generous portion, but the gnocchi were mushy and the beef was, well, okay; but the dish did not cry out to be remembered and ordered again. Dessert was tasty if tiny, but that really did not detract from the dessert experience.

A note for oenophiles: La Minette charges a $20/bottle corkage fee if you bring your own wine. Frankly, given that the restaurant is already relatively expensive, such an unusually high corkage could be the difference between trying the bistro again or not.

Summary: if the food was kicked up just a notch and if the corkage fee was erasable, this could become one of Philly's great restaurants.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Nice French Restaurant, Wonderful Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The hotel recommended the restaurant. The food was very nice and the service was wonderful. Service is very important when you dine alone. The waiter was spot on with his recommendations, including the wine. Most Philly places are BYOB, but not here. When I expressed my disappointment because there was no Sauterne, the waiter offerred me a taste of another dessert wine.

I had the lamb roast which was done perfectly and the omlette salad. It was beautiful. I highly recommend the restaurant for those dinning with friends or those dinning alone.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tres Bien!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

French food in Philly. I had the Sous Chef special with the wine pairing. Everything was perfect. Portions were adequate, wine excellent, service was spot on, and the atmosphere was relaxing. I came with my wife for our anniversary, both of our meals were excellent. The Kir Royale made a great start and it only go better. The waitress was accessible but unobtrusive. We had plenty of time to enjoy our meal without feeling pressured to vacate for another customer. It was a little pricey but worth every penny.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot La Minette also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Bistrot La Minette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistrot La Minette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.