We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting, but small crowded museum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mutter Museum

Mutter Museum
19 South 22nd Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)
215-563-3737
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$49*
and up
The Philadelphia Pass
Ranked #36 of 262 Attractions in Philadelphia
Type: Science Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum, located at the College of Physicians of Philadelphia, showcases medical oddities.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Interesting, but small crowded museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The day we went, a Saturday in January, the small museum was quite crowded. It basically has three rooms, all filled from top to bottom. There are a lot of jars of specimens that are of historical medical interest, but we found them a bit macabre after awhile. They had interesting special exhibits, but overall it was not well curated. It was expensive for what it was -- but it was interesting for an hour or so.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    236
    86
    12
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I hope museum staff read this review”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I have been going here for ten years. It gets more disappointing though, and I would not go back. For the admission they charge and with the healthy amount of people that crowd the cramped rooms, I don't understand why the exhibits continue to deteriorate. No lighting in many displays. Hard to figure out signs. MANY missing signs, so you are left to wonder what you are looking at. Overall very frustrating.

Also, when you walk in, there is an art exhibit in a huge hall with no patrons in it as well as another exhibit next to the gift shop. Can't these areas be used to spread out and modernize the collection? They need a new administrator in there to step up their game. Until then, I would advise against a visit here.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Science + Macabre = Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

As the title of the review suggests, if you're into science and the macabre, this museum is definitely for you. I had never been to a museum like the Mutter before and I'll remember it always. It has one of a kind exhibits including a collection of human skulls, early surgical tools, and a mummified human.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Interesting Displays, Bad Lighting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

One of the other reviewers called this museum "quirky"--a description with which I wholeheartedly agree. I really enjoyed the macabre subject matter (including the effects of disease and injuries to the body), but the lighting was dim or malfunctioning in several of the displays. The place was also packed, which is good for the museum, but bad for people struggling with the lighting issue. I won't go back, but I am glad to have made this a one-time visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is a little museum off the beaten path. We visited here per request of our teenager girl. It is simply fascinating. It is very unique and does require a strong heart and stomach to read through. So it is not a museum for everyone. Come if you are interested on medical type of science.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mutter Museum also viewed

 

Been to Mutter Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mutter Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.