We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #42 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I come to Philadelphia on business 2 or 3 times a year. For the past 15 years, I have always stayed at the Sheraton Society Hill. I like the fact that it is a low rise. It is in the historic section of Philadelphia. There are a large number of very good restaurants within walking distance and funky (tho much less than it used to be) South Street nearby. The rooms are nicely appointed and reasonably spacious. Bathrooms are on the small size. My only criticisms are (1) price; (2) any reservation is immediately non-cancelable (I'm sure they resell the room for cancelled reservations; at least then they should cancel!); and (3) the in house "restaurant" is barely worth having breakfast. Nevertheless, I have always liked my stay and plan on going back every time I'm in Philly.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    236
    87
    31
    12
See reviews for
139
128
27
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We used Starwood points for our stay in Philly, and we're so glad we chose to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill Hotel! It's clean and comfortable with spacious rooms and very comfortable beds. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful with whatever you need. And the location was absolutely perfect for exploring various parts of the city! We will definitely use this hotel again the next time we visit Philly!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Everyone, even the wonderful housekeeping staff was so friendly and courteous to us that we felt like we were special! Nice location for our needs, bright, clean, wonderful upgrade and we were grateful for a late checkout. So glad they were not full on the day we left! We only hope we win the contest of guessing the number of chocolates in the vase!

Room Tip: we were on 4th floor and did not hear a thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I can only give praise to the staff and applauds to the
team! Any objective person would have to say that this team has figured it out! From the functional and practical circle driveway to the heated towels in the fitness facilities. And their concierge Mia is second to none! Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The hotel is very nice, clean and spacious. Our room was clean, our bed extremely comfortable but the bathroom a bit on the small side but still fine. We ate at the hotel restaurant "Taste" for dinner and breakfast. Dinner was very good. A bit pricey but worth it. Breakfast buffet had anything you might want but all of the food was at best lukewarm or some of it was even cold. That was disappointing. This hotel is in a great location for seeing the historical sites in Philadelphia. All in all we would stay at this Hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear dbattag580,
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay. We apologize that your breakfast was not as appetizing as it should have been. We have informed our kitchen staff and engineering to guarantee that we deliver a warm and hearty breakfast to all of our guests. We do thank you for your kind comments regarding our rooms and cleanliness. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My stay was in connection with a professional meeting, the room was very comfortable with all of the amenities I expected. I was especially taken by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff -- from the cleaning crew, to the front desk staff, to the barrista and restaurant staff! The hotel was just the right size, provided all of the services I desired, and was very conveniently located to many interesting sites in Philly -- as well as great restaurants and bars. Within blocks we found a fabulous Indian restaurant, a restaurant-inn that is hundreds of years old, and Philly favorites such as Rotten Ralph's. And it's an easy walk to get to Jim's Steaks, which has about the best Philly cheesesteak sandwiches. We were a bit shut in as winter storms came through during our stay, but we plan to return to Philly and we'll plan on staying at the Sheraton Society Hill!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Since it was our first visit to Philly in a long while, we decided to avoid the "value" chains and go semi-upmarket for the night. From the Web site and comments on this site, we expected elegance and perhaps a little luxury. What we got was a tired little stumpy hotel with very small rooms and bathrooms whose light fixtures took upwards of 10 minutes to turn on. I know we're trying to save energy, but that's a long time to wait when you have to go! The lobby, on the other hand, is beautifully appointed, making the rooms all the more disappointing. All that said, the rooms are clean, the staff and service impeccable. If you stay here, try to get a good rate, and be prepared for small and dark rooms.

Room Tip: Should avoid rooms facing the entrance court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear babettetravels,
We would first like to apologize that we did not deliver a flawless stay. We want to ensure our guests that they receive a wonderful experience. We will share your comments with our staff to guarantee that we continually work on our customer service so that we can enhance our guest’s experience. Thank you and we hope you consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#30 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#45 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is near Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitors Center and Penns Landing. Our Philadelphia hotel has 17 meeting spaces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.