We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel but...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #39 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Rocky Hill, CT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Hotel but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel is beautiful in a great location. It was our anniversary weekend and the front desk staff gave us wine and cheese to celebrate. The night we checked in we got back to our room to find huge roaches! I have never seen them so big. We immediately checked out and the staff did not give us an issues about needing to leave. We were very disappointed to find this in a Sheraton property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Rose I,

We greatly apologize for the inconvenience you experienced while staying with us. If you would like to reach out to christopher.petrucci@sheraton.com to speak further about the situation he would be happy to talk with you. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    214
    76
    29
    9
See reviews for
128
114
24
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

For 8 months I traveled back and fourth between New York and Philly, and this was by far my favorite hotel. The staff was always kind and after a stressful day the last thing you want to deal with is unfriendly hotel staff. This was never the case here. The club lounge is the best of any Sheraton I have been in. The rooms are fairly standard for Sheraton, but they are always clean. I am no longer travelling to Philly, but I know where I will stay if I return.

Room Tip: I recommend getting a room facing south east. Great view of the ships.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear genghissan,

It was a pleasure hosting you during your travels to Philadelphia. Though we are truly upset that your travel plans have moved away from Philadelphia, we are happy to have made your experience here memorable. We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel is located a couple of minutes walk from both Society Hill and Chestnut Street, so perfect location. Upon arrival we asked for, and were given, a free upgrade to a much larger room with a view of the city. The staff were incredibly helpful and bent over backwards to help when my boyfriend fell ill and we had to stay an extra night. The only issue was the parking - valet parking only at the hotel at $45 a night. The staff did recommend an alternative - a parking lot down the road. We took a look and it was a bit dodgy and so we felt we had no choice other than the pay for valet parking. Also, the Sheraton really should be able to offer free WiFi in this day and age! You can use it for free in the business centre which is somewhat decrepit. Overall, a lovely hotel, but I think the Sheraton's approach to paying for extras in outdated and expensive. Can't beat the location or customer service though.

Room Tip: Chance your arm and ask for an upgrade - worked for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear jo r,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your most recent stay with us. We are happy that our staff was able to accommodate you and your boyfriend, during your time of need. We are happy you enjoyed the hotel and the convenient location. We hope you choose to stay with us again, and when you do you should look at our promotion’s page that offers packages that include internet or parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I really liked staying at this hotel! The rooms were clean and comfortable and was in a good location- it was walking distance to the historic area, and there were plenty of restaurants/pubs nearby. I liked it better than center city, to my surprise. Continental breakfast was included (they had drinks, pancakes, bagels, donuts an cereal) as well as snacks during the evening (5pm-830pm, brownies, crackers and cheese, fruits, drinks- this came in convenient since I didn't have to go to the store to get milk for my kid) and they also had free wifi.
They had a heated pool (3 feet to 4.5 feet deep and big enough to do laps) and also a small little wading pool for kids (my 1.5 year old loved it). Gym wasn't bad either (according to my husband). Two things that I didn't like was it got a little loud at night with people coming in and out of rooms (ie not that sound proof- guess that depends on the guests) and that we had to do valet parking. However, it really wasn't too bad because parking spots were difficult to find ($38 for overnight charged to the room plus tip). Also they were pretty fast and it took less than 15 min to get the car. We didn't end up moving it at all but you had the choice to leave and come back as much as you want for the duration of your stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear vhalili78,

We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your most recent stay with us and you were able to experience our Sheraton Club Lounge and take advantage of all the amenities offered there. We apologize about the noise and we will make it an effort to assign you a nice quiet room the next time you decide to stay with us. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while at a conference in September. As most people have mentioned the hotel is odd shape with long hallways etc. The valet parking is expensive, but there is ample day street parking around and lots 2 to 3 blocks away. But if you don't have a car most historic things are an easy walk, as are most of the other sites. This is not the shopping district, but the old city has some nice new restaurants and bars. The wi fi is great, the beds wonderful the housekeeping staff where very friendly. Did not use the concierge so can't say how that was. If you like frozen yogurt head to Happily Ever After on Market Street in Old City. Great flavors! You will not leave disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Traveler CT,

Thank you for the positive review. It is always great to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. Thank you for sharing some useful tips of the area, and yes we enjoy Happily Ever After on Market, and there are so many great restaurants in the area. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I've been staying here on business for five or six weeks now. This is my preferred SPG hotel in Philadelphia.

Pros:
-Very clean and updated. You can tell they did a renovation in the past couple years.
-Very comfortable bed with great pillows. Nice clean crisp sheets.
-Very good water pressure and shower amenities.
-Fantastic internet. Probably the best internet speed I've had in a hotel. No issues with disconnecting or slow load times.
-Great club room with free beer and wine on the weekdays.
-Very nice and professional staff.

Cons:
-Not a ton of restaurants very close to the hotel. Have to walk a couple blocks north.
-No upgrades for SPG Platinums. I've been here for several stays, not one upgrade to a suite when I can see they have availability.

Overall, a very strong hotel. I would recommend.

Room Tip: Stay away from the ice machine/vending area. It can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Ken A

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and we thank you for your loyalty. We apologize that we were not able to upgrade you on your most recent stays. We are limited on the number of suites within the hotel, but we always guarantee the best room available for our Platinum members. We also will be happy to provide a restaurant guide for you the next time you stay with us. There are plenty of delectable restaurants in the immediate area. We look forward to your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I recently had my out of town guests and the bridal party stay at the Sheraton Society Hill during
a holiday weekend. This was a great choice of hotels! Everyone was extremely helpful
with my needs during my this time.
I especially want to mention, Carroll, for all her help and cooperation. She responds immediately during the planning process and went out of her way to make sure that every detail was addressed. She is totally competent in her job. If you book a block of rooms, ask for Carroll Lawson. You won't be disappointed with her or the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Delaine R,

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill for your wedding room block. We are happy we could accommodate all your guests and their needs. We thank you for the lovely review, and we will share it with Carroll. We hope the next time you travel to Philadelphia you choose to stay with us. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is near Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitors Center and Penns Landing. Our Philadelphia hotel has 17 meeting spaces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.