We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location, nice hotel, great staff, crazy parking fees!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant location, nice hotel, great staff, crazy parking fees!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel is located a couple of minutes walk from both Society Hill and Chestnut Street, so perfect location. Upon arrival we asked for, and were given, a free upgrade to a much larger room with a view of the city. The staff were incredibly helpful and bent over backwards to help when my boyfriend fell ill and we had to stay an extra night. The only issue was the parking - valet parking only at the hotel at $45 a night. The staff did recommend an alternative - a parking lot down the road. We took a look and it was a bit dodgy and so we felt we had no choice other than the pay for valet parking. Also, the Sheraton really should be able to offer free WiFi in this day and age! You can use it for free in the business centre which is somewhat decrepit. Overall, a lovely hotel, but I think the Sheraton's approach to paying for extras in outdated and expensive. Can't beat the location or customer service though.

Room Tip: Chance your arm and ask for an upgrade - worked for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear jo r,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your most recent stay with us. We are happy that our staff was able to accommodate you and your boyfriend, during your time of need. We are happy you enjoyed the hotel and the convenient location. We hope you choose to stay with us again, and when you do you should look at our promotion’s page that offers packages that include internet or parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    197
    68
    22
    9
See reviews for
119
101
22
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I really liked staying at this hotel! The rooms were clean and comfortable and was in a good location- it was walking distance to the historic area, and there were plenty of restaurants/pubs nearby. I liked it better than center city, to my surprise. Continental breakfast was included (they had drinks, pancakes, bagels, donuts an cereal) as well as snacks during the evening (5pm-830pm, brownies, crackers and cheese, fruits, drinks- this came in convenient since I didn't have to go to the store to get milk for my kid) and they also had free wifi.
They had a heated pool (3 feet to 4.5 feet deep and big enough to do laps) and also a small little wading pool for kids (my 1.5 year old loved it). Gym wasn't bad either (according to my husband). Two things that I didn't like was it got a little loud at night with people coming in and out of rooms (ie not that sound proof- guess that depends on the guests) and that we had to do valet parking. However, it really wasn't too bad because parking spots were difficult to find ($38 for overnight charged to the room plus tip). Also they were pretty fast and it took less than 15 min to get the car. We didn't end up moving it at all but you had the choice to leave and come back as much as you want for the duration of your stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear vhalili78,

We are happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your most recent stay with us and you were able to experience our Sheraton Club Lounge and take advantage of all the amenities offered there. We apologize about the noise and we will make it an effort to assign you a nice quiet room the next time you decide to stay with us. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while at a conference in September. As most people have mentioned the hotel is odd shape with long hallways etc. The valet parking is expensive, but there is ample day street parking around and lots 2 to 3 blocks away. But if you don't have a car most historic things are an easy walk, as are most of the other sites. This is not the shopping district, but the old city has some nice new restaurants and bars. The wi fi is great, the beds wonderful the housekeeping staff where very friendly. Did not use the concierge so can't say how that was. If you like frozen yogurt head to Happily Ever After on Market Street in Old City. Great flavors! You will not leave disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Traveler CT,

Thank you for the positive review. It is always great to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. Thank you for sharing some useful tips of the area, and yes we enjoy Happily Ever After on Market, and there are so many great restaurants in the area. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I've been staying here on business for five or six weeks now. This is my preferred SPG hotel in Philadelphia.

Pros:
-Very clean and updated. You can tell they did a renovation in the past couple years.
-Very comfortable bed with great pillows. Nice clean crisp sheets.
-Very good water pressure and shower amenities.
-Fantastic internet. Probably the best internet speed I've had in a hotel. No issues with disconnecting or slow load times.
-Great club room with free beer and wine on the weekdays.
-Very nice and professional staff.

Cons:
-Not a ton of restaurants very close to the hotel. Have to walk a couple blocks north.
-No upgrades for SPG Platinums. I've been here for several stays, not one upgrade to a suite when I can see they have availability.

Overall, a very strong hotel. I would recommend.

Room Tip: Stay away from the ice machine/vending area. It can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Ken A

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and we thank you for your loyalty. We apologize that we were not able to upgrade you on your most recent stays. We are limited on the number of suites within the hotel, but we always guarantee the best room available for our Platinum members. We also will be happy to provide a restaurant guide for you the next time you stay with us. There are plenty of delectable restaurants in the immediate area. We look forward to your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I recently had my out of town guests and the bridal party stay at the Sheraton Society Hill during
a holiday weekend. This was a great choice of hotels! Everyone was extremely helpful
with my needs during my this time.
I especially want to mention, Carroll, for all her help and cooperation. She responds immediately during the planning process and went out of her way to make sure that every detail was addressed. She is totally competent in her job. If you book a block of rooms, ask for Carroll Lawson. You won't be disappointed with her or the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Delaine R,

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill for your wedding room block. We are happy we could accommodate all your guests and their needs. We thank you for the lovely review, and we will share it with Carroll. We hope the next time you travel to Philadelphia you choose to stay with us. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantana, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The location was perfect for our business trip. Check in was quick and easy. There is a Starbucks counter in the lobby for a quick cup of coffee, and there is always a bowl of green apples near the door. The bedding is comfortable with all white linens, duvets and lots of pillows.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear roslynpines,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy you enjoyed the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper, which is a number one favorite of all Sheraton guests. We hope you can return in the near future and experience a no work and all play stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

8/29/2013

The location for seeing thing things on the historic district and on Penn's Landing make this a good spot to stay in. The valet's taking of the car is something I do not like to do, but it is a good option here. Convenient parking is hard to come by and expensive. We reserved a room with the parking package included. Still, you have to tip the valets. We did not use the car and after 3 nights in their garage, a phone call and about 15 minutes was enough to get the car out of storage.

Annoying are those that want to take your luggage to the room for you. I can do my own IF I have a cart, which seemed readily available. We hauled our own luggage. The luggage car pushers can be useful to some, but not us. At check out, we had to get the front desk to help find a car. Many were available, but again, we got the sales pitch to have some wheel a cart for us. No thanks.

The room was nice with an AC unit that doesn't blow directly on you and it is placed so the room is cooled. The problem: AC turning on is noisy and noticeable at night when you are trying to sleep.

What is odd about the room we had is that it has a patio, one floor below the pool. Yet the "patio" has no furniture. I guess we could have dragged the room furniture onto the patio. We also found it odd that there is one desk chair for the desk and one arm chair (with footrest) for the table. In a room at the price we paid, two armchairs would make sense. We asked for a second chair at the front desk and were told that they would try to accommodate us. No second chair ever showed up. This room provides a single bathrobe and pair of slippers for the guests of the room. That doesn't do much good when there are two guests in the room.

Annoying were the sounds of the pool area, kids screaming, splashing, playing, etc.. That wasn't really as much of a problem as was the Irritating screeching of someone dragging pool chairs at 5:30/6:00 in the morning when I am trying to sleep.

The Sheraton Club House room for breakfast ... not much of a continental breakfast, but what was there was average, maybe 3 stars. Lesser hotels seem to have superior breakfasts with at least waffles or pancakes.

The bed - very, very comfortable. It has been one of the best nights of sleep during our trip. This was the highlight if the room.

The hotel's restaurant, Taste, was mostly empty when we had dinner. The bar had several patrons. The food we ordered, a NY Strip and Jumbo Shrimp & Pasta were pretty good. Along with a bottle of wine, it was an expensive but good hotel meal and not out of range for this kind of place. For breakfast, the restaurant is EXTREMELY overpriced and is probably why no one is eating breakfast in the restaurant.

Internet access included in the room rate. The problem? Free Internet access turn off on the morning of check-out before checking out. This should not have happened, but it did. A couple of minor discrepancies on the bill were taken care of and once again, the front desk apologized about the chair.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear rft0000,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy that you were able to enjoy all of the sights located around the hotel. Also, we are thrilled that you had the best night’s rest during your trip thanks to our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper. They are very comfy beds. We apologize for the noises you experienced from the pool. At the request of our guests we always try to accommodate them so that they can enjoy their stay. If you return to Philadelphia in the future, we hope you choose to stay with us again and we will guarantee an enjoyable stay.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is near Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitors Center and Penns Landing. Our Philadelphia hotel has 17 meeting spaces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.