We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Stay, Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #34 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Stay, Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while at a conference in September. As most people have mentioned the hotel is odd shape with long hallways etc. The valet parking is expensive, but there is ample day street parking around and lots 2 to 3 blocks away. But if you don't have a car most historic things are an easy walk, as are most of the other sites. This is not the shopping district, but the old city has some nice new restaurants and bars. The wi fi is great, the beds wonderful the housekeeping staff where very friendly. Did not use the concierge so can't say how that was. If you like frozen yogurt head to Happily Ever After on Market Street in Old City. Great flavors! You will not leave disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Traveler CT,

Thank you for the positive review. It is always great to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. Thank you for sharing some useful tips of the area, and yes we enjoy Happily Ever After on Market, and there are so many great restaurants in the area. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    192
    66
    21
    9
See reviews for
118
98
22
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I've been staying here on business for five or six weeks now. This is my preferred SPG hotel in Philadelphia.

Pros:
-Very clean and updated. You can tell they did a renovation in the past couple years.
-Very comfortable bed with great pillows. Nice clean crisp sheets.
-Very good water pressure and shower amenities.
-Fantastic internet. Probably the best internet speed I've had in a hotel. No issues with disconnecting or slow load times.
-Great club room with free beer and wine on the weekdays.
-Very nice and professional staff.

Cons:
-Not a ton of restaurants very close to the hotel. Have to walk a couple blocks north.
-No upgrades for SPG Platinums. I've been here for several stays, not one upgrade to a suite when I can see they have availability.

Overall, a very strong hotel. I would recommend.

Room Tip: Stay away from the ice machine/vending area. It can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Ken A

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and we thank you for your loyalty. We apologize that we were not able to upgrade you on your most recent stays. We are limited on the number of suites within the hotel, but we always guarantee the best room available for our Platinum members. We also will be happy to provide a restaurant guide for you the next time you stay with us. There are plenty of delectable restaurants in the immediate area. We look forward to your future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I recently had my out of town guests and the bridal party stay at the Sheraton Society Hill during
a holiday weekend. This was a great choice of hotels! Everyone was extremely helpful
with my needs during my this time.
I especially want to mention, Carroll, for all her help and cooperation. She responds immediately during the planning process and went out of her way to make sure that every detail was addressed. She is totally competent in her job. If you book a block of rooms, ask for Carroll Lawson. You won't be disappointed with her or the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Delaine R,

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill for your wedding room block. We are happy we could accommodate all your guests and their needs. We thank you for the lovely review, and we will share it with Carroll. We hope the next time you travel to Philadelphia you choose to stay with us. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantana, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The location was perfect for our business trip. Check in was quick and easy. There is a Starbucks counter in the lobby for a quick cup of coffee, and there is always a bowl of green apples near the door. The bedding is comfortable with all white linens, duvets and lots of pillows.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear roslynpines,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy you enjoyed the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper, which is a number one favorite of all Sheraton guests. We hope you can return in the near future and experience a no work and all play stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

8/29/2013

The location for seeing thing things on the historic district and on Penn's Landing make this a good spot to stay in. The valet's taking of the car is something I do not like to do, but it is a good option here. Convenient parking is hard to come by and expensive. We reserved a room with the parking package included. Still, you have to tip the valets. We did not use the car and after 3 nights in their garage, a phone call and about 15 minutes was enough to get the car out of storage.

Annoying are those that want to take your luggage to the room for you. I can do my own IF I have a cart, which seemed readily available. We hauled our own luggage. The luggage car pushers can be useful to some, but not us. At check out, we had to get the front desk to help find a car. Many were available, but again, we got the sales pitch to have some wheel a cart for us. No thanks.

The room was nice with an AC unit that doesn't blow directly on you and it is placed so the room is cooled. The problem: AC turning on is noisy and noticeable at night when you are trying to sleep.

What is odd about the room we had is that it has a patio, one floor below the pool. Yet the "patio" has no furniture. I guess we could have dragged the room furniture onto the patio. We also found it odd that there is one desk chair for the desk and one arm chair (with footrest) for the table. In a room at the price we paid, two armchairs would make sense. We asked for a second chair at the front desk and were told that they would try to accommodate us. No second chair ever showed up. This room provides a single bathrobe and pair of slippers for the guests of the room. That doesn't do much good when there are two guests in the room.

Annoying were the sounds of the pool area, kids screaming, splashing, playing, etc.. That wasn't really as much of a problem as was the Irritating screeching of someone dragging pool chairs at 5:30/6:00 in the morning when I am trying to sleep.

The Sheraton Club House room for breakfast ... not much of a continental breakfast, but what was there was average, maybe 3 stars. Lesser hotels seem to have superior breakfasts with at least waffles or pancakes.

The bed - very, very comfortable. It has been one of the best nights of sleep during our trip. This was the highlight if the room.

The hotel's restaurant, Taste, was mostly empty when we had dinner. The bar had several patrons. The food we ordered, a NY Strip and Jumbo Shrimp & Pasta were pretty good. Along with a bottle of wine, it was an expensive but good hotel meal and not out of range for this kind of place. For breakfast, the restaurant is EXTREMELY overpriced and is probably why no one is eating breakfast in the restaurant.

Internet access included in the room rate. The problem? Free Internet access turn off on the morning of check-out before checking out. This should not have happened, but it did. A couple of minor discrepancies on the bill were taken care of and once again, the front desk apologized about the chair.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear rft0000,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy that you were able to enjoy all of the sights located around the hotel. Also, we are thrilled that you had the best night’s rest during your trip thanks to our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper. They are very comfy beds. We apologize for the noises you experienced from the pool. At the request of our guests we always try to accommodate them so that they can enjoy their stay. If you return to Philadelphia in the future, we hope you choose to stay with us again and we will guarantee an enjoyable stay.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY,NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My family and I stayed for two nights during the heat wave this June. First we got a great rate through an offer on their web site--the 2nd night stay for the price of your birth year, which means we paid $230 for the first night and only paid $70 for the 2nd night! This also included club access which meant breakfast was served each morning and free drinks and snacks from approx. 5-9 each night. We met other friends staying here so we saved a ton on wine and beer that night! The only bad side was we looked forward to relaxing at the pool, but it was an indoor oven. Top floor with a solarium and no air circulation. My kids had fun but not me. Next my husband let them stay in the pool way too long. Not only was the pool dirty and about to undergo repairs but the floor of the pool was rough and the kids got tiny blisters on their toes afterwards. The hotel sent the manager up who told us it was in fact from the pool floor and staying in a long time causes the skin to become more sensitive and in our case, blister. They gave us some free drink tickets which we did not even use, but I didn't blame the hotel except for the general poor ventilation of the room and need for pool repair. Their toes were fine the next day. If I made a stink they would have done more for us, but they were so attentive to the situation it was okay. I would still recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Noahb,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We greatly apologize for the condition our pool was in and want to ensure you that our pool has completed repairs and is excellent condition. We are happy you were able to enjoy the club lounge and all of the hearty breakfast and evening hors d’oeuvres. We hope you return in the future and guarantee you another wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had to go here for a conference so I ended up spending a lot of time in the hotel. The facilities are generally nice. It has one of the best gyms I have seen in a hotel. The location is great because it is close to the river and easy walking distance to many restaurants.

The building does not seem like much from the outside, but the courtyard/garden inside for the lobby is pleasant for sitting. The bar and restaurant are very good as well.

The rooms here were quite nice and large for a Sheraton. The bedroom was comfortable, and I was generally happy with the light in my room at the entrance, but the bathroom was another story. I am sure it was just my room, but the lamp was sort of broken and when I asked I was told that the style of bulb they use for energy efficiency just takes some time to get bright. The brightest it ever got was a very dull purple/pink glow that was barely enough for me to see my reflection. I believe this issue is contained to the one room since nobody else at my conference had the issue, but there were several instances, for which we have submitted formal complaints to the hotel, where the staff helping with our conference were rude to attendees.

Depending on what you are going for, it will probably be a fairly nice experience. Just don't expect anything grand or amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Matt M,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your most recent stay. We apologize for the misunderstanding of the issue with the light in your room and that you and some of the attendees felt less than appreciated by the staff. We will work to improve communication between departments to guarantee our guests satisfaction. Our guest’s satisfaction is one of the highest priorities we value and always work to improve their experience. We hope you can return again to notice the positive changes we make.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is near Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitors Center and Penns Landing. Our Philadelphia hotel has 17 meeting spaces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.