We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice lodging experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #36 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice lodging experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is located on a nice quiet cobblestone street. It is a reasonable walk to the Independence Hall area. The entire staff--from the front desk to the cleaning staff to the restaurant staff--were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were a little dated, but it didn't detract from the overall charm of the hotel. The beds were very comfortable. My daughter really enjoyed the swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Michael R,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are thrilled you and your family had a great time at the hotel. We recently completed a top to bottom renovation of all guest rooms and space. We did keep some of the furniture and décor to give the feel of the urban features in a historic hotel. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    184
    66
    19
    9
See reviews for
113
93
22
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, New Jersey
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great hotel where you can park your car (for $35/night....yikes!) and walk around to some great bars and restaurants. The waterfront area is across the bridge and an easy walk as well. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful with some suggestions of what to do (but I did verify with Trip Advisor on the restaurant choices offered up and they did agree) Cuba Libre was a nice locale Cuban restaurant/bar with some amazing apps and original drinks. Spasso's for dinner was good Italian food. Too many other places to try in the one night there, but would go back.

The hotel itself was clean and comfortable. Only drawback is the maze-like layout of the floor plan. Took a few trips back and forth to the room and lobby to feel like I knew exactly where my room was. Not enough of a problem that I would not return, just an observation, especially to a family with kids who go out in the hotel by themselves.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear MayorMike12

We are pleased you enjoyed stay and that you were able to try the abundant restaurants in the area. We thank you for your feedback regarding the layout of the hotel and will work to better assist guests with directions around the hotel. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We only stayed one night at this hotel but it was beautiful and clean. The queen size beds were a plus as many hotels offer two doubles. While a little pricey, it's typical of a city. We were able to book a family offer which included snacks for the kids, a few in-room movie, and late check-out at 4pm, which was especially helpful since we could keep our luggage in the room while we did our sightseeing. The hotel is within walking distance of Independence Hall, Reading Terminal Market, and the waterfront.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Lisa B,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel. We are happy to hear you and the family had an enjoyable stay at the hotel, and most of all felt comfortable. We always try to keep our prices comparable to our neighboring hotels. We hope you and the family return to the hotel in the future to enjoy another comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights. There was no free wifi in the room. No free breakfast. No fridge or microwave. One restaraunt that was overpriced. Room service also too high. Asked for late checkout. Told to call in the morning. Called in the morn and was told that they couldnot grant the late checkout and to call later. Business trip i did not enjoy at all.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Bmoresunshine,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize we could not honor a late checkout. We always try to best accommodate our guests to guarantee their satisfaction. We frequently compare our prices to hotels, equal to our status, to ensure our guests are receiving the best prices available. We always offer promotions on our website and reservations line so that every guest can have the pleasure of receiving the Sheraton experience. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future, and we wish that you view our packages and promotions on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We really liked the hotel, they did an excellent job with their recent renovation. The lobby has plenty of comfortable seating areas and trendy decor. The room itself was perfect, good size and nice bathroom as well. The restaurant prices I thought were on the high side. $25 for a breakfast buffet is outrageous. We were in there around 9am, and the buffet was not even set up yet. I decided on the omelet, which was mediocre at best. Plenty of restaurant within walking distance, which may save you some money. Nadia at the front desk was excellent, and all the staff I had interactions with were all very professional and friendly, housekeepers, doormen, bartenders etc. I found the location of the hotel to work quite nicely, being right off the highway, easy drive down the highway to Phillies games, and they have rental car at their concierge desk! So convenient! Will definitely stay here again if my travels bring me back to Philly! :)

Room Tip: High floor, exterior view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Julz2381,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We thank you for a wonderful review and are happy that you would choose to stay with us again, if you travel back to Philadelphia. We have compared our cost of breakfast to other hotels in the area and found our rates comparable, but we are always happy to suggests local resutrants that serve breakfast. We thank you once again and will look for you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The location is definitely the selling point for this hotel. It is within walking distance to so many great restaurants and must see spots. The staff was friendly and nice and the rooms were great. I happened to get a room across from the entrance to the pool which made it a bit noisy for me with kids who were overly enjoyed entering and exiting the pool area right outside my door. The room itself was furnished quite nicely and i was impressed. No free wi-fi though... The downstairs lobby area was also wide open and roomy and had lots of seating areas to congregate and relax. Very nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio de janeiro
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights. Hotel is at great location, walkable distance from historic city, South street and Delaware river shore...
Room big and comfortable, good linen and pillows and blanckets, with daily newspaper, bottles of water and coffee maker at room. Bad side is that there is not free wi-fi internet connection.
Room and bathroom very clean... liked the fitness center and the pool (no warm water), but the jacuzzi was in maintenance.
Staff friendly, I would come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#26 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#39 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is near Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitors Center and Penns Landing. Our Philadelphia hotel has 17 meeting spaces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.