We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #36 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location. Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great location in walking distance to main historical sites. Rooms are very comfortable, although you would not know as outside is rather dull and unassuming. Club is small but clean and serviced. Taxi ride is $30 from airport. Was told it was 6 miles by SPG but way further.

Stay on your feet and walk around hotel area. Great locations and so much to see from small village type streets to independence hall and liberty bell.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear John W,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are pleased that you were comfortable during your stay. We always encourage our guests to reach out to us directly so that we can provide them with the most accurate and up to date information. We are happy that you enjoyed our location and we hope you return to experience all Philadelphia has to offer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    165
    58
    18
    8
See reviews for
99
82
21
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great location and pricing for downtown Philadelphia. Very courteous staff and the room was spotless. My only peeve was the room numbering - very odd layout and not enough signs to direct you in the halls. We weren't the only ones; we encounter two other couples wandering around looking for their rooms as well. Also, the decor/style is a bit dated but not horribly so...

Room Tip: Not so much a good room, but ask at the front desk exactly where the room is. The numbering system...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Jim_A_NewJersey,

We greatly appreciate that you have taken time to review our hotel and the service that we provided to you. We are always looking for feedback so that we may improve our performance. We will communicate your comments with our staff so that we may better provide directions for guests rooms. We hope you return to stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Due to the awful experience I had at the Westin Georgetown on Sunday, March 24th (which I reviewed yesterday). I had decided never use my Starwood credit card nor stay at any of their properties again. I took that experience personally because I always believed Starwood took care of its members. By the time I had checked into another hotel in DC, SPG twitter reached out to me and asked what they could do rectify the situation. By that time I had cancelled all my future reservations through June, but was due to arrive in Philadelphia yesterday. I believed SPG was sincere their endeavor. I said I would try the Sheraton brand since I just stayed at the Sheraton University Center in Syracuse the week before, had a lovely and very clean room that accommodated my family comfortably and the service from the front desk to the shuttle driver were all courteous and professional. I am writing this review sitting under the covers of a very plush bed with wonderful bedding, have decided to buy their comforter and shopping online for their mattresses. The room itself is very clean and quiet which lent to a good night's sleep. The location is near the water, Chestnut Street and Market Street. Went to the gym for a long run the treadmill and realized halfway through there wasn't any water available, called guest services and Jordan arrived very shortly afterwards with bottles of water. At the same time maintenance arrived to fix the water cooler. This is what you hope to expect when staying at a hotel, no hotel is perfect but they strive to resolve whatever issues quickly. Nelson, front desk, who was very welcoming when we arrived to check in was helpful in recommending restaurants in the area and an outdoor jogging route. We ate at a restaurant called Revolution on 2nd and Market which had very good pizza, eclectic menu and a knowledgeable waitstaff. Am happy to be returning to the Sheraton Society Hill in May.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear NYCBarbara,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. We are pleased our staff delivered the service you deserve. We are glad that our SPG team reached out to you as well, to ensure that your unsatisfactory stay did not go unanswered . Also, we are happy you decided to give us a chance to sway your opinion. We expect to give nothing but the best to all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you in May. If you would like to reach out to christopher.petrucci@sheraton.com to assist with your reservation, he will be happy to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Ideal Society Hill location - $30 cab ride from PHL, 5 minute walk to subway, and easy walking distance to some restaurants and shops.

As for the hotel itself - the big plus was the courteous staff, especially at the front desk. They were accommodating and always helpful when problems arose (stayed during inclement weather and had to stay an extra day in PHL). Doormen were courteous and friendly.

Rooms - comfortable and appropriate. Walls are thin! - I could hear my neighbors talking on their cell phones..bring ear plugs. Bathrooms do not have ventilation.

Workout room - open 24 hrs, decent equipment for weights (I went at 5AM, not too many people are up that early), plenty of cardio equipment. I could see how this could fill up at prime time as space is not very big.

Restaurants - did not eat in hotel

Room Tip: Was on SPG floor but tucked away at a corner (map of each floor is a square with elevators in the ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear CaptainRayFraser,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologizes for all of the little inconveniences you had experienced during your most recent stay with us and understand that all of these problems can lead to an overall mediocre stay. We thank you for mentioning the service our staff provided was exceptional. We hope you return to the Sheraton Philadelphia in the near future so that we may have another chance to make your stay better than the last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow, Alaska
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Sheraton Society Hill is located within a few, convenient blocks of the Independence Mall Historical Park and Penn's Landing. The Society Hill neighborhood itself is a historic and beautiful area of Philadelphia. Good restaurants (and mediocre ones) are located within easy walking distance.

Room positives:
- Mostly quiet, though hallway noise from passersby was distinctly noticeable.
- The room was comfortable.
- The bed gave a comfortable, cozy night's sleep. The bed and the pillows were outstanding.
- The room and bathroom were roomy.
- The bath was a shower and an oversize bathtub.
- Plenty of hot water.
- Plenty of bathroom amenities provided.
- Good towels (not great, but certainly adequate).

A few minor negatives:
- The Internet connection (a $10 upcharge for a day's service) was very slow at times.
- The heating/air conditioning unit in the room was a bit noisy, but not so annoying that it did not eventually fade into the background.
- Only a single guest bathrobe was in the room. Two would have made more sense. This is evidence housekeeping does not pay attention to details.
- The fabric was torn on an bench with an upholstered top among the room's furnishings. That is the sort of thing housekeeping ought to notice and report.
- The guest room doors do not keep out hallway noise, and I assume therefore they do not provide privacy for conversations held within the rooms.

A big negative:
- The restaurant at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel is called Taste. Find another place to eat. It is ridiculously overpriced. Light breakfast for 4 was $100--coffee/tea and juice for 4, 1 bagel, 1 berry bowl, 1 berry with yogurt bowl, 1 side ham, 1 side home fries, 1 egg dish. The menu does not accurately describe the food that is served, to wit, what the menu says the dishes contain and what actually gets served are two different things. I ordered grandly described home fries, which turned out to be bulk prepared and frozen commodity potato chunks with wheat breading--inedible. For $100 breakfast, I expect at least fresh potatoes. How hard is that?

The valet parking service was good and well worth the cost.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear 48S-Tatet-Ruck ,

We would first like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent stay with us. We appreciate all the kind and positive remarks regarding our hotel. We do apologize for all of the inconvenient happenings including the untidy furniture. We take pride in our service we provide as well as the surroundings of the hotel. We do routine maintenance in order to prevent furniture and the esthetics from becoming damaged . We would like to speak with you further regarding your stay with us. At your convenience, please email christopher.petrucci@sheraton.com with your contact information so that he may reach out to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delray beach
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in late March 2013. Great property. Room was very comfortable and surprisingly well decorated given the nice price paid. Bedding was awesome. Staff at the bar at "Taste" were attentive and very friendly. Good location- very short walk to many, many bars, restaurants, and historic attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear delrayUSA,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We are pleased you had a fabulous stay and are happy you enjoyed your time with us. We will look for you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Saint Lawrence, Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here during the end of wedding season and the staff was exasperated but they did their best to make sure we were happy. The food at the restaurant was horrible, but luckily there were plenty of great places to eat nearby. The room was quite large, but not that quiet: we could hear the people next door. The pool was okay. No mini-fridge in the room, which was was sad. Luckily the ice was free, so I was able to fill the sink up and keep my extra cheese-steaks cool overnight. All and all an average hotel, but the staff went above and beyond to make sure we were happy. It is in a perfect location and is in walking distance to several museums and attractions: also, I'm told the hotel is on the only curving street Philadelphia, Dock Street, which is cool in itself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear CaptainRayFraser,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologizes for all of the little inconveniences you had experienced during your most recent stay with us and understand that all of these problems can lead to an overall mediocre stay. We thank you for mentioning the service our staff provided was exceptional. We hope you return to the Sheraton Philadelphia in the new future so that we may have another chance to make your stay better than the last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton
Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#23 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is near Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitors Center and Penns Landing. Our Philadelphia hotel has 17 meeting spaces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.