We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #39 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great location and pricing for downtown Philadelphia. Very courteous staff and the room was spotless. My only peeve was the room numbering - very odd layout and not enough signs to direct you in the halls. We weren't the only ones; we encounter two other couples wandering around looking for their rooms as well. Also, the decor/style is a bit dated but not horribly so...

Room Tip: Not so much a good room, but ask at the front desk exactly where the room is. The numbering system...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Jim_A_NewJersey,

We greatly appreciate that you have taken time to review our hotel and the service that we provided to you. We are always looking for feedback so that we may improve our performance. We will communicate your comments with our staff so that we may better provide directions for guests rooms. We hope you return to stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    214
    76
    29
    9
See reviews for
128
114
24
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Due to the awful experience I had at the Westin Georgetown on Sunday, March 24th (which I reviewed yesterday). I had decided never use my Starwood credit card nor stay at any of their properties again. I took that experience personally because I always believed Starwood took care of its members. By the time I had checked into another hotel in DC, SPG twitter reached out to me and asked what they could do rectify the situation. By that time I had cancelled all my future reservations through June, but was due to arrive in Philadelphia yesterday. I believed SPG was sincere their endeavor. I said I would try the Sheraton brand since I just stayed at the Sheraton University Center in Syracuse the week before, had a lovely and very clean room that accommodated my family comfortably and the service from the front desk to the shuttle driver were all courteous and professional. I am writing this review sitting under the covers of a very plush bed with wonderful bedding, have decided to buy their comforter and shopping online for their mattresses. The room itself is very clean and quiet which lent to a good night's sleep. The location is near the water, Chestnut Street and Market Street. Went to the gym for a long run the treadmill and realized halfway through there wasn't any water available, called guest services and Jordan arrived very shortly afterwards with bottles of water. At the same time maintenance arrived to fix the water cooler. This is what you hope to expect when staying at a hotel, no hotel is perfect but they strive to resolve whatever issues quickly. Nelson, front desk, who was very welcoming when we arrived to check in was helpful in recommending restaurants in the area and an outdoor jogging route. We ate at a restaurant called Revolution on 2nd and Market which had very good pizza, eclectic menu and a knowledgeable waitstaff. Am happy to be returning to the Sheraton Society Hill in May.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear NYCBarbara,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. We are pleased our staff delivered the service you deserve. We are glad that our SPG team reached out to you as well, to ensure that your unsatisfactory stay did not go unanswered . Also, we are happy you decided to give us a chance to sway your opinion. We expect to give nothing but the best to all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you in May. If you would like to reach out to christopher.petrucci@sheraton.com to assist with your reservation, he will be happy to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Ideal Society Hill location - $30 cab ride from PHL, 5 minute walk to subway, and easy walking distance to some restaurants and shops.

As for the hotel itself - the big plus was the courteous staff, especially at the front desk. They were accommodating and always helpful when problems arose (stayed during inclement weather and had to stay an extra day in PHL). Doormen were courteous and friendly.

Rooms - comfortable and appropriate. Walls are thin! - I could hear my neighbors talking on their cell phones..bring ear plugs. Bathrooms do not have ventilation.

Workout room - open 24 hrs, decent equipment for weights (I went at 5AM, not too many people are up that early), plenty of cardio equipment. I could see how this could fill up at prime time as space is not very big.

Restaurants - did not eat in hotel

Room Tip: Was on SPG floor but tucked away at a corner (map of each floor is a square with elevators in the ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear CaptainRayFraser,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologizes for all of the little inconveniences you had experienced during your most recent stay with us and understand that all of these problems can lead to an overall mediocre stay. We thank you for mentioning the service our staff provided was exceptional. We hope you return to the Sheraton Philadelphia in the near future so that we may have another chance to make your stay better than the last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delray beach
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in late March 2013. Great property. Room was very comfortable and surprisingly well decorated given the nice price paid. Bedding was awesome. Staff at the bar at "Taste" were attentive and very friendly. Good location- very short walk to many, many bars, restaurants, and historic attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear delrayUSA,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We are pleased you had a fabulous stay and are happy you enjoyed your time with us. We will look for you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Saint Lawrence, Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here during the end of wedding season and the staff was exasperated but they did their best to make sure we were happy. The food at the restaurant was horrible, but luckily there were plenty of great places to eat nearby. The room was quite large, but not that quiet: we could hear the people next door. The pool was okay. No mini-fridge in the room, which was was sad. Luckily the ice was free, so I was able to fill the sink up and keep my extra cheese-steaks cool overnight. All and all an average hotel, but the staff went above and beyond to make sure we were happy. It is in a perfect location and is in walking distance to several museums and attractions: also, I'm told the hotel is on the only curving street Philadelphia, Dock Street, which is cool in itself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear CaptainRayFraser,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologizes for all of the little inconveniences you had experienced during your most recent stay with us and understand that all of these problems can lead to an overall mediocre stay. We thank you for mentioning the service our staff provided was exceptional. We hope you return to the Sheraton Philadelphia in the new future so that we may have another chance to make your stay better than the last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Overall this is a nice hotel with an attractive lobby and a really nice four-season pool on the 4th floor. The hotel restaurant/bar, called Taste, was nice. However I did have trouble with my first room, 4048. The TV didn't work, even after several attempts by maintenance to fix it, and the heat made a very loud noise when it switched on and off. The room was small and oddly shaped. I ultimately switched to another room on the second day and had no problems. Staff were helpful; Morris the concierge made great restaurant recommendations and was even able to secure us a large table on a busy Saturday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear CB5598,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that our staff was able to assist you with the unforeseeable situations that occurred during your stay. We have taken note of these inconveniences and have communicated with our Rooms and Engineering Departments. We apologize once again and hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had a very pleasant stay during a conference hosted at the Sheraton Society Hill. Rooms and common areas appeared to be recently renovated. My room was very clean and well kept. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room quite. All the staff I encountered were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Bamabert,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We are pleased you had a relaxing and comfortable stay, and we thank you for mentioning our friendly and helpful staff. We hope the next time you are in Philadelphia, whether for business or leisure, you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is near Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitors Center and Penns Landing. Our Philadelphia hotel has 17 meeting spaces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.