We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall..enjoyable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #34 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Overall..enjoyable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Convenient location. We had a comfortable room & bed equipped with hi-quality sheeting. The room was clean and the bathroom was just the right size. We had brkfst. downstairs, and it was quite good. Nothing out of the ordinary, but it certainly fit the bill. Friendly, helpful front desk. Parking: efficient! I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear gitsmom1,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We are thrilled with your review of our hotel and are glad to learn you had an enjoyable time. We look forward to your future stays with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    192
    66
    21
    9
See reviews for
118
98
22
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill has a great lobby! There are several fantastic places to eat near the hotel. Also, if you are an SPG platinum member, the lounge has great food and drinks nightly, including breakfast. The building is clearly dated, yet remodeled making it a very cozy stay at a fair price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear psychgirl526,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We are glad you liked our special amenities. We take pride in our matured structure and our happy you enjoyed our modernized property. We do hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had not stayed at this hotel in a while but had a wonderful stay recently.
Beautifully renovated, very nice pool and jacuzzi, great mattress, and very dog friendly.
It was totally pleasant and comfortable. Will definitely stay there again in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear barbaradanin,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel, and we are excited to learn you had an enjoyable experience. We hope in the near future you choose to stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We attended the New Years Eve Party in December and I must say it was great! The Band is outstanding, my wife and i danced all night. The food was good, however the Hotel is fabulous. It has been completely renovated and has a nice "W" type feel to it. I cannot wait to return the New Years Eve party this year. Treat yourself to a room on the Club floor which includes beer and wine, hors d'oeuvres adn breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear William S,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton. We are thrilled you and your wife enjoyed our New Year’s Eve celebration and we are glad we were able to enjoy them with you. We look forward to sharing the experience with you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

On arrival, we requested a refrigerator for our room ( on the 4th floor). That never came. Then tried to follow the signs, which were posted, to the ice machine. It was on the third floor! The phone died midcall when the broken plug fell out. The wall heater cycled on and off all night, basically waking us every 30 minutes or so. We even tried to shut it off ( and it was snowing and 17 degrees), but it still kept cycling. Lots of other hotels in the area!! Look around before booking here!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Kathi127,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel and we apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory. We will address the appropriate departments to ensure the heater is fixed and our communication between departments is more effective. If you would like to reach out to christopher.petrucci@sheraton.com to speak further, he will be happy to help. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed here while in Philadelphia for business.

Rooms are spacious, bed is huge and very comfortable, bathroom is normal size. All nicely, however 'standardy', furbished.

Check-in was efficient, front desk person was nice, doormen were outstandingly friendly and helpful.

There's a coffee place that sells Starbucks and I think there's also a restaurant. They have a gym and a pool, I didn't use either, and can therefore not comment.

All was clean. However, one day I didn't get housekeeping/maid service. I'm not overly complicated when it comes to that, so just called the front desk to inform them accordingly. They offered to send housekeeping immediately, which I declined as it was late, I was tired and wanted to sleep. The next day, housekeeping did make up my room, but left a couple of cleaning cloths on one of the sideboards as well as forgot to fill up toilet paper and just left the holder next to the sink. I didn't report that as, again, I don't really care all that much about such things. I put both the toilet paper holder as well as the cloths on a sideboard where they were clearly visible, but both was still there when I returned the next day (room had been made up). Mhm, well...

Location is fine, even though not perfect for my specific needs on this trip. I had stayed at hotels in the middle of downtown before which was a bit more convenient for my purposes as I like to have restaurant and shopping options right nearby after along work day. This hotel is a couple of blocks away from the main dowtown action, but really just a 15mins-walk, so nothing to complain about and there are restaurants nearby too. I can't comment on the hotel location's convenience if you are here on vacation and actually want to explore the city. But the historic district seems to be right there.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Samaire1,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy we were able to host you during your stay in Philadelphia. We apologize that your housekeeping service was not at the standard you deserve. We will share your comments with our housekeeping department to ensure this does not happen in the future. We hope the next time you are in the Philadelphia area you have the chance to explore the historic district that provides an abundant amount of shopping and restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The beds were amazing! The kind that make you cry before you checkout. The lobby design is really interesting and cozy. The pool is roomy, but a bit cold. It's right next to downtown and the historic area. There's an awesome period restaurant/bar across the street with waiter's in costume and Ben Franklin's favorite bread. The staff was just as great. After a week of multiple hotels in Manhattan, to actually see a smile, be treated like a person rather than a robot was much appreciated. It's amazing how much people change within a two hour drive. They even gave me a map and got me oriented.

Room Tip: The hotel is pretty large with only a few floors, so there's lot's of hallway. Get a room cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear andthenjust,

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We value your feedback regarding our staff and we are always are thrilled to hear they enjoy helping our guests. We hope you return to us again to enjoy in the sweet comforts of our Sheraton Suite Sleeper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is near Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitors Center and Penns Landing. Our Philadelphia hotel has 17 meeting spaces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.