We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #34 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
World
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed here while in Philadelphia for business.

Rooms are spacious, bed is huge and very comfortable, bathroom is normal size. All nicely, however 'standardy', furbished.

Check-in was efficient, front desk person was nice, doormen were outstandingly friendly and helpful.

There's a coffee place that sells Starbucks and I think there's also a restaurant. They have a gym and a pool, I didn't use either, and can therefore not comment.

All was clean. However, one day I didn't get housekeeping/maid service. I'm not overly complicated when it comes to that, so just called the front desk to inform them accordingly. They offered to send housekeeping immediately, which I declined as it was late, I was tired and wanted to sleep. The next day, housekeeping did make up my room, but left a couple of cleaning cloths on one of the sideboards as well as forgot to fill up toilet paper and just left the holder next to the sink. I didn't report that as, again, I don't really care all that much about such things. I put both the toilet paper holder as well as the cloths on a sideboard where they were clearly visible, but both was still there when I returned the next day (room had been made up). Mhm, well...

Location is fine, even though not perfect for my specific needs on this trip. I had stayed at hotels in the middle of downtown before which was a bit more convenient for my purposes as I like to have restaurant and shopping options right nearby after along work day. This hotel is a couple of blocks away from the main dowtown action, but really just a 15mins-walk, so nothing to complain about and there are restaurants nearby too. I can't comment on the hotel location's convenience if you are here on vacation and actually want to explore the city. But the historic district seems to be right there.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Samaire1,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy we were able to host you during your stay in Philadelphia. We apologize that your housekeeping service was not at the standard you deserve. We will share your comments with our housekeeping department to ensure this does not happen in the future. We hope the next time you are in the Philadelphia area you have the chance to explore the historic district that provides an abundant amount of shopping and restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    195
    68
    22
    9
See reviews for
119
100
22
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The beds were amazing! The kind that make you cry before you checkout. The lobby design is really interesting and cozy. The pool is roomy, but a bit cold. It's right next to downtown and the historic area. There's an awesome period restaurant/bar across the street with waiter's in costume and Ben Franklin's favorite bread. The staff was just as great. After a week of multiple hotels in Manhattan, to actually see a smile, be treated like a person rather than a robot was much appreciated. It's amazing how much people change within a two hour drive. They even gave me a map and got me oriented.

Room Tip: The hotel is pretty large with only a few floors, so there's lot's of hallway. Get a room cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear andthenjust,

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We value your feedback regarding our staff and we are always are thrilled to hear they enjoy helping our guests. We hope you return to us again to enjoy in the sweet comforts of our Sheraton Suite Sleeper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here 1 night with my family in Jan 2013. 2 beds in a room. I paid $179 with tax and that includes parking. If u r a tripe A member u can get a deal for parking or breakfast. otherwise parking is $42. there is no street parking in this area- so u have no choice really..

room was GREAT, beds very comfortable as well as pillows. Bathroom looked brand new and everything was clean.

I stayed here mostly b/c of the pool they have. This is GREAT for kids!. pool is 4 ft high but heated very nicely. they also have a small baby pool 1 ft deep and a jacuzzi as well . the room is heated nicely and the ceiling is all glass so u can see outside.

Overall- a greta value and a superb hotel. clean and very beautiful.

The only thing i wish the hotel did ( which EVERY hotel now offers) is free internet in your room. they charge $9.95- if u want free internet you need to go to the lobby - Mr. Manager- change this policy- every hotel i have stayed at offers free wifi..

otherwise awesome hotel, tons to do in area - we went to sahara sams indoor water park - 1/2 hour away for the kids..

i would stay here again and highly recommend..

Room Tip: 4th floor has teh pool, 3rd floor has fitness center- but stairs to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear mustang225,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We are pleased that you and your family had an enjoyable time here. We apologize for not informing you prior to your arrival your options for intenet. We offer a variety of packages that include many amenities, including internet. We look forward to your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed at the Sheraton Society Hill for a conference. I was lucky to get a corner double room facing Penn's Landing. The room was very large and really clean. The hotel lobby was very beautiful and the food and service at Taste was wonderful. This hotel sits oddly in the corner but you will be pleasantly surprise how that makes it feel private. It is walking distance from restaurants and bars rich in historic architecture. Love the cobble stone streets!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Jolene C,
Thank you for your glowing review. We are happy you enjoyed yourself while attending the conference here at the hotel. We appreciate your kinds words about the service that was provided to you by our staff. We hope the next time you stay with us you have more leisure time so you can enjoy all Philadelphia has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had a Christmas party at a friends whom lives in society hill towers, so we decided to stay across the street at the Sheraton...considering we live in nj...our room was nice n clean...they allowed us a late check out n met all of our needs...we will def return soon!!! :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Seasonsoffun,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We are happy you enjoyed your overnight stay. If you are ever in the city and need overnight accommodations, we will be delighted if you decide to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a nice hotel. The rooms are well-kept, clean, and updated. The standard rooms are pretty small rooms, but big enough. The suites are very spacious, perfect for bridal suites, getting hair/make-up, etc. The lobby is beautiful with a great couple of bars. My only complaint is that the floors all look down into the lobby, so it can be quite noisy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear countryboundgirl,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you shared your experience with us and future guests of the Sheraton Society Hill. We are happy you had an enjoyable stay. We apologize for the volume of noise in the atrium. It is such a lively and welcoming area, at times people forget their surroundings. We will be sure to do a better job at monitoring the volume of the atrium.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our stay was just after Xmas for 6 nights. Large impersonal, city hotel but ideal if one is in Philly for a purpose as we were - a wedding! It is probably in the best part of the city as Society Hills is part of William Penn's historic city with Independence Hall, Liberty Bell etc. all a reasonable walk away. The main museums are further but to save on taxis use a number 38 bus from Chestnut / 5th Street. For only $2 this will take you to Benjamin Franklin Boulevard where all the great galleries are situated.

As in all American hotels the rooms were large and the beds even larger! No kettle in rooms just a Starbucks machine for real coffee which was excellent but spoilt by the provision of paper cups! No milk provided of course just a chemical whitener.
On the plus side, a decently sized swimming pool, oddly situated on the top floor so the glass roof let in lots of natural light. I used it regularly and each time, before breakfast, I had it to myself. Fitness suite is nearby.

On the negative side, breakfast is overpriced particularly by American standards; go to a diner instead. The bar is also too expensive again by local standards but it does stock a decent range of local "crafted" beers, all excellent.

The windows are sealed which is fine as the AC is very efficient but oh why so noisy? Probably the same in all rooms.

Staff were chatty and attentive but not always very knowledgeable.

When in Philly dont miss the Rodin Museum and the Barnes collection, the later requires advance booking so popular is it.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet unless you are above the ballroom when a function is taking place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear hotelchris,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and apologize for all the unexpected misfortunes you experienced during your stay. We take all guest reviews to heart to better provide the experience they deserve. We hope you consider staying with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is near Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitors Center and Penns Landing. Our Philadelphia hotel has 17 meeting spaces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.