We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Staff, Great Pool!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #39 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Staff, Great Pool!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here 1 night with my family in Jan 2013. 2 beds in a room. I paid $179 with tax and that includes parking. If u r a tripe A member u can get a deal for parking or breakfast. otherwise parking is $42. there is no street parking in this area- so u have no choice really..

room was GREAT, beds very comfortable as well as pillows. Bathroom looked brand new and everything was clean.

I stayed here mostly b/c of the pool they have. This is GREAT for kids!. pool is 4 ft high but heated very nicely. they also have a small baby pool 1 ft deep and a jacuzzi as well . the room is heated nicely and the ceiling is all glass so u can see outside.

Overall- a greta value and a superb hotel. clean and very beautiful.

The only thing i wish the hotel did ( which EVERY hotel now offers) is free internet in your room. they charge $9.95- if u want free internet you need to go to the lobby - Mr. Manager- change this policy- every hotel i have stayed at offers free wifi..

otherwise awesome hotel, tons to do in area - we went to sahara sams indoor water park - 1/2 hour away for the kids..

i would stay here again and highly recommend..

Room Tip: 4th floor has teh pool, 3rd floor has fitness center- but stairs to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear mustang225,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We are pleased that you and your family had an enjoyable time here. We apologize for not informing you prior to your arrival your options for intenet. We offer a variety of packages that include many amenities, including internet. We look forward to your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    214
    76
    29
    9
See reviews for
128
114
24
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed at the Sheraton Society Hill for a conference. I was lucky to get a corner double room facing Penn's Landing. The room was very large and really clean. The hotel lobby was very beautiful and the food and service at Taste was wonderful. This hotel sits oddly in the corner but you will be pleasantly surprise how that makes it feel private. It is walking distance from restaurants and bars rich in historic architecture. Love the cobble stone streets!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Jolene C,
Thank you for your glowing review. We are happy you enjoyed yourself while attending the conference here at the hotel. We appreciate your kinds words about the service that was provided to you by our staff. We hope the next time you stay with us you have more leisure time so you can enjoy all Philadelphia has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had a Christmas party at a friends whom lives in society hill towers, so we decided to stay across the street at the Sheraton...considering we live in nj...our room was nice n clean...they allowed us a late check out n met all of our needs...we will def return soon!!! :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Seasonsoffun,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We are happy you enjoyed your overnight stay. If you are ever in the city and need overnight accommodations, we will be delighted if you decide to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a nice hotel. The rooms are well-kept, clean, and updated. The standard rooms are pretty small rooms, but big enough. The suites are very spacious, perfect for bridal suites, getting hair/make-up, etc. The lobby is beautiful with a great couple of bars. My only complaint is that the floors all look down into the lobby, so it can be quite noisy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear countryboundgirl,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you shared your experience with us and future guests of the Sheraton Society Hill. We are happy you had an enjoyable stay. We apologize for the volume of noise in the atrium. It is such a lively and welcoming area, at times people forget their surroundings. We will be sure to do a better job at monitoring the volume of the atrium.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our stay was just after Xmas for 6 nights. Large impersonal, city hotel but ideal if one is in Philly for a purpose as we were - a wedding! It is probably in the best part of the city as Society Hills is part of William Penn's historic city with Independence Hall, Liberty Bell etc. all a reasonable walk away. The main museums are further but to save on taxis use a number 38 bus from Chestnut / 5th Street. For only $2 this will take you to Benjamin Franklin Boulevard where all the great galleries are situated.

As in all American hotels the rooms were large and the beds even larger! No kettle in rooms just a Starbucks machine for real coffee which was excellent but spoilt by the provision of paper cups! No milk provided of course just a chemical whitener.
On the plus side, a decently sized swimming pool, oddly situated on the top floor so the glass roof let in lots of natural light. I used it regularly and each time, before breakfast, I had it to myself. Fitness suite is nearby.

On the negative side, breakfast is overpriced particularly by American standards; go to a diner instead. The bar is also too expensive again by local standards but it does stock a decent range of local "crafted" beers, all excellent.

The windows are sealed which is fine as the AC is very efficient but oh why so noisy? Probably the same in all rooms.

Staff were chatty and attentive but not always very knowledgeable.

When in Philly dont miss the Rodin Museum and the Barnes collection, the later requires advance booking so popular is it.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet unless you are above the ballroom when a function is taking place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear hotelchris,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and apologize for all the unexpected misfortunes you experienced during your stay. We take all guest reviews to heart to better provide the experience they deserve. We hope you consider staying with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Enjoyed the Society Hill Sheraton for a weekend stay. Great location to historical sites, shopping and restaurants. Checkin was easy and the hotel is very clean. The staff was very helpful. The bar was very nice. Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Geroge B.

We enjoyed learning about your experience at the Sheraton Society Hill. We are thrilled you had an excellent time. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in the Sheraton Society Hill for only 2 nights, but they were wonderful nights. The hotel was beautiful. The rooms were very nice and were large. We had breakfast both mornings at the hotel and the food was wonderful. We were within easy walking distance of the downtown area and were able to walk to a number of the historic sites in the area, although my daughters favorite destination was the Dave and Buster's 3 minutes away.The hotel even had a kids splash pool which is perfect for my three year old daughter.

The only thing that I didn't like was the parking. The valet parking was almost 150 dollars for my two night stay! I had no idea that parking was going to be that expensive. Had I known in advance how expensive the parking was going to be I might have stayed outside the downtown area.

Room Tip: I don't have any tips on rooms, but the valet parking will set you back about 40 a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Travelgirl05667,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay and we apologize that our parking options were not communicated to you before your stay. If you decide to return to the Sheraton Society Hill check out our special packages online where we offer a variety of options, including parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is near Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitors Center and Penns Landing. Our Philadelphia hotel has 17 meeting spaces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.